SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Fashion Sewing Group> 1960 (Cardigan)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2159 times 
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo

 
 
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/16/05 9:51 PM
Last Updated:2/18/05 12:47 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Mary Beth - I love it! What a wonderful adventure you had making this beautiful piece. I especially like the ruffle ... it just makes it.
2/16/05 10:28 PM
Georgene said...
It's hard to believe that this is your first machine knit project. It is very elegant, and your background in sewing and fitting gave you the ability to make several clever saves. Tea at the Ritz anyone? This is beyond a vest, a whole new direction.
2/17/05 0:24 AM
Elona said...
Wowza, Mary Beth! What a gorgeous piece of work!
2/17/05 2:25 AM
AnneM said...
Neat fabric. And it went quite fast for you. You might launch some new hobbies for others with this review.
2/17/05 4:22 AM
Liane M said...
I got to see this as a work in progress at our ASG meeting last Saturday! IT IS GORGEOUS!!
2/17/05 5:05 AM
els said...
Mary Beth your cardigan is truly beautiful, it is hard to believe that this “Faire Isle” is your first adventure on your new knitting machine. You have created a wonderful piece of art with the silk ruffle as a band. Thanks for this great review with all the detail pics.
2/17/05 5:50 AM
MickeyFan said...
Mary Beth - I so enjoyed reading your review! Your knitted yardage is simply beautiful. I love the fair isle pattern. I had one of these machines. Sold it (on ebay) about a year ago to invest in more sewing stuff. They are the neatest gizmos to watch in action. I never had the patience to learn mine; too many other sewing projects spinning around in my head already. Great thinking "outside of the box". Your vest is fabulous.
2/17/05 6:22 AM
SewingSusan said...
That is amazing. You can't put this in a closet, it should be displayed.
2/17/05 6:23 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Wow! I almost wish I hadn't read your review because now I want a knitting machine!
2/17/05 6:44 AM
marjenann said...
I love, love, love your cardigan and the informative write up too!!!!!!
2/17/05 7:25 AM
cindyann said...
That is wonderful, Mary Beth! You are right, it does mold beautifully to your figure. I'm very impressed.
2/17/05 7:46 AM
Mollykat said...
Thank you for the great review! How exciting to have made your garment completely from scratch. Hard to believe it started life as two dusty spools! I'm really impressed with how well the garment fits. Great job!
2/17/05 7:58 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Waaayyy cool!
2/17/05 8:06 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Wow! You certainly up the impressive factor even higher because you knitted the fabric, too!
2/17/05 9:19 AM
PVA said...
Outstanding! Ye gads, to be outstanding in this environment you are *Really* outstanding! A great job with this pattern & an even greater review! Thanks for sharing it with us!
2/17/05 10:15 AM
Melody said...
That's so awesome!
2/17/05 10:24 AM
Liana said...
What a great garment! I too feel that I need a knitting machine after your review. Can't wait to see what you do next.
2/17/05 8:00 PM
Debbie Cook said...
How cool MB!! I think I'm glad I live in Florida and have ABSOLUTELY no reason to even THINK about a knitting machine. Whew! That just saved me some stash space. Pretty cardi and the ruffle looks trés elegante!
2/18/05 1:30 PM
MaryBeth said...
I'm delighted that ya'll think this turned out well. You don't need to buy a knitting machine, you just need to know someone who has one and will knit up the fabric for you :) I can't believe how much easier it was for me to work with this fabric than manufactured knit. Debbie: I'm glad you're feeling better!!! I had that crud over Christmas whilst trying to move all the sewing/knitting/embroidery...don't even remember doing the move. It's amazing that I have found anything much less produced a garment (I'm off to search for the colored pencils to trace off a pattern)
2/18/05 2:45 PM
drsue said...
Wow, very nice. I kind of wish I hadn't read the review though, now I need a knitting machine too!
2/18/05 2:58 PM
MaryBeth said...
I've been feeling badly about ya'll now wanting a knitting machine (enabler's guilt, I guess) but it turns out that the question of getting one seems to "be in the air". Both the SergeIt list and SewingWorld.com have had recent discussions started by folks thinking about getting a KM. If you'd like to read the discussion at SW it's under the needlework topic.
2/18/05 7:55 PM
Linda E. said...
wow that is beautiful cardigan You do great work. love it it does make me want a knitting machine but I realized I have not place for one or time.
2/19/05 8:28 AM
Sew it seams said...
MaryBeth I am truly *amazed*! The Faire Isle pattern is beautiful! Wow!
2/19/05 9:19 AM
said...
Awesome, MB! Great timing too, as I finally found someone to teach me the ins and outs of knitting on my machine (Singer 700 I got three years ago) and have my first lace shawl ready to come off the blocking board. Your vest will serve as an inspiration for an upcoming project. Thank you :-)
2/21/05 7:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Butterick 4877

photo
by: twotoast

Review
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now