Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2048 (bags) - Type:Crafts
Review submitted in Handbag Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 223 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:fourkid
photo
Friend of PR
About fourkidstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 8/30/08
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/13 7:02 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew2006 said...
Thank you for a great detailed review! Love the bag, was amazed to read it came from thrifted items.
2/11/13 8:38 PM
treefrog said...
The leather accents look great and I love the pleats on the front. Looking forward to seeing the messenger bag.
2/11/13 8:48 PM
jannw said...
Great!! The corderoy looks so good in a bag..wht a good idea ..and I love the leather accents!!
2/11/13 9:07 PM
Renren said...
Very nice. The leather accents and the lining really make this a great bag.
2/11/13 9:16 PM
BJ1400 said...
Great bag and love that it was made from recycled items.
2/12/13 9:13 AM
HDWen said...
Amazingly thorough review and so many extra's you put into this. Love all the thought to cut apart a Coat and make this stunning purse from -- the extra closure is such a great detail. Thanks
2/12/13 10:38 AM
charid dawn said...
I'm going to have to do this.
2/12/13 8:32 PM
biochemistress said...
Nice! I love that you recycled leather; so many people are afraid of it. You also did a great job adding the extra details. Thanks for the thorough review!
2/13/13 7:16 PM
katlew03 said...
Love the combination of corduroy and leather, as well as the colors.
2/13/13 9:25 PM
Aroura said...
Thank you for the wonderful review, your bag turned out marvelously! Very RTW and stylish. That you used so many thrift items makes it that much more awesome. Great job!
2/15/13 10:42 PM
Sewncooknmom said...
Absolutely awesome! I love your bag. The pleats. The corduroy. Everything is wonderful about your bag. Now I want to make this pattern. Thank you for the very good review.
2/16/13 2:59 AM
Margaret said...
Great-looking bag! Love the leather accents. I'm glad piecing the handle worked out.
2/16/13 10:19 AM
butterflyfly said...
What a lovely bag! That's a great idea to recycled thrifted items..There are a lot of leather jackets in local charity shops - now I know what I could do with them :)
2/16/13 8:03 PM
GwenH said...
This is a standout! The leather and corduroy mix is inspired. Looks much more stylish than any of the pattern pictures.
2/18/13 11:02 AM
slmstyle said...
Great handbag! I love the upcycled leather details mixed with corduroy. Makes it a casual luxury bag. Nice work!
2/24/13 0:04 AM
radollrose said...
I love this!! Great job with all the details. I'm even more impressed now that I read that you "thrifted" all the pieces for this. Besides your valuable time, a basically free purse!
2/27/13 9:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other Bear with Fish Bear with Fish
photo
Review by ValerieJ on 12/12/06
Read Review

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )
Oliver + S Puppet Show Tunic + Shorts Digital Pattern( Size Birth-24 months) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2008-115
photo
Review by nicegirl on 3/5/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3856 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3856 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6032 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 6032 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us