Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6603 (Misses' Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 217 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Mirakel
photo
About Mirakelstar
CA
Member since: 10/11/09
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/13 5:22 PM
Last Updated:10/30/13 6:11 PM
Project Photo:McCall's: 6603 by Mirakel

McCall's: 6603 by Mirakel  
Pattern Photo:McCall's 6603
McCall's Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $14.36 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Linen Blend  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Oversized, pullover tops. I did View A.

Pattern Sizing:
I made the Medium (12-14)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Exactly like it!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, but I found that the directions for the collar and sleeves were not as clear as they could have been.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Like the cowl and the loose/comfy feel.

Fabric Used:
I actually used a poly linen-like fabric, but it was a nice color (it said "charcoal", but it was more of an eggplant/grey). I liked the feel and the drape, but it frayed like crazy, which I did not like!

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
There was something wonky with the sleeve band - it was about 3 inches too long! I had to removed quite a bit of the band to make it fit into the sleeve opening - and I did measure/cut correctly!
I also made it 2 inches longer than the pattern, as I am tall.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I might sew one of the other views - I did the A and it is a very distinctive look, I don't need more than one.

Conclusion:
I like this pattern! The pictures don't do it justice. It is loose and comfy
Buy this pattern for $14.36  List Price: $17.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
atymonw said...
I really like this top on you -- it looks great for everyday wear:)
10/30/13 11:37 PM
caper81 said...
I really like this as well! I was actually looking at this pattern at my local fabric store the other day and passed it over. Your top is much more appealing than the pattern envelope. I'm going to have to pick it up next sale!:)
10/31/13 9:04 AM
nicegirl said...
Very casual chic. The gray was an excellent choice for this style.
10/31/13 9:24 AM
VivianZ said...
I have this pattern, and really like yours. Nice comfy top. I think I will have to put this at the top of the list.
10/31/13 9:33 AM
lindaII said...
I've made this twice in fleece...skipped the sleeve bands entirely. It's a great, simple, warm topper...and no fraying! Yours is so cute!
10/31/13 11:17 AM
marec said...
Totally cute and cozy!
11/5/13 10:28 AM
ladyteri said...
I am reading through this patter and steps 10& 11 for style A confuse me. Can anyone explain these steps to me? The pictures are quite confusing.
1/5/14 1:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-113
photo
Review by ManiMayor on 2/16/13
Read Review

Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6121 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6121 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2008-30 Long shorts
photo
Review by Sandi S on 1/25/09
Read Review

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us