Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Serendipity Studio: 94 (The Juliet Tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 174 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:amandajewls
photo
About amandajewlsstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/18/10
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/13 5:58 PM
Last Updated:2/8/14 1:45 AM
Project Photo:Serendipity Studio: 94 by amandajewls

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by amandajewls

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Voile  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: The Juliet Tunic is an easy to sew little frock that can be romantic or modern, maybe even a little of both! This design features a bust enhancing gathered bodice with a scoop neckline, Empire waist, and close fitting A-line skirt with optional ties, ruffles, and hem bands. Featured in three lengths, this design can be worn with pants or as a flirty dress. This tunic is a perfect layering piece for all seasons that looks great all by itself or with a fun cropped jacket. The pattern includes instructions for all variations shown along with alteration and fitting tips to produce a flattering fit for all sizes and body types. [From manufacture envelope]

Pattern Sizing:XXS - XXL

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Everything was clearly notched and matched up. I preferred to trace the pattern rather than cut out. There were many different suggestions for variation in the instructions. For the A-line skirt/tunic bottom, there is only about 1 inch ease so if you are right on the measurements, go up to the next size or add required room at the bottom of the pattern piece and redraw the side lines.

Fabric Used:Top is a cotton voile. The bottom section is just cheap polyester drill. I wanted to make this first one cheap as possible as a workable muslin.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Top: The Neckline and bust line part of pattern
Modification 1: Added 1.5 inches to front top piece for the length.
Modification 2: Added Bust dart on side of FRONT TOP.

I used the XL. My bust is ample so usually find that empire waistlines end mid bust - not a good look. So I took careful measurements of how long that top piece should be from shoulder to bottom of MY bust line and had to add another 1.5 inch TO THE FRONT TOP PIECE.
I then redrew the bottom line of the pattern following the original lines, but everything moved down 1.5 inches. This would make the side seam much longer than the back - so I inserted a bust dart under the arm pits on the front piece to take in the additional fabric so that the Front top piece would match the Back top piece on the side seams perfectly.

Bottom: Lower tunic skirt piece
I did not modify the bottom piece at all. The skirt comes in just a little below my pot belly som to compensate, I will need to make the tunic hemline a little shorter, or turn side seams into split/open sides to allow for stretch. Next time I will make the bottom hem line of the tunic skirt piece wider by 2 inches to make a more exaggerated A line.

Adding Trims
This shirt screams for you to go totally wild with matching different prints and colours. I added a pretty trim that doesn't totally match the top print perfectly, to cover the seam where the top and skirt pieces are seamed After I had it pieced together, it didn't matter that the trim didn't match perfectly - just made the top funkier! I bought enough trim to add a second round just above the hemline for balance.

Important to put all trim sewn on FIRST before you put the invisible zipper on.

Future Modifications
1. I will widen the bottom part of the tunic skirt so that it hides my belly!
2. Make top have less fabric to gather in front. After you gather it all up, and the ironing wears off, that gathering gets a bit rumpled on a big bust!
3. Mix and match more prints.
4. Try putting a softer zipper on the side seam (easier to access!)

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes I totally recommend this pattern to anyone who is totally shapeless to voluptuous! I am a curvy, voluptuous figure and, because I took the time to make sure that the empire waistline fits where it should (and there is enough room up front for the bust), this looks great on me! I have made this pattern twice more! The gathering on the top would also hide a more modest bust line too, and an empire waistline always adds illusion of curves nicely. (A-line skirts HIDE curves nicely too!)

Conclusion:
Do not be afraid to modify the existing pattern. The basic pattern is very simple, using gathering for shaping rather than darts.

I would suggest to NOT do the facings (which have to be tacked down by hand when you're finished!) and just make your own bias tape out of one of the fabrics you're using instead. Much neater and easier!
How to make Bias Tape Tutorial

The bottom part of the tunic runs neat to the body, so if you want it wider, compensate by making the bottom hemline wider. Keep side seams straight though. Also - you can just lengthen the existing skirt keeping the slope of the A-line going to adjust this pattern into a dress easily!

Add trim, use contrasting prints and colours. Have a LOT of fun with this pattern. Even though it's a very unique shirt, you can change the overall look drastically by changing pattern and colour pallete. A wardrobe will support multiples of this shirt easily!

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Stephanie C. said...
I like this a lot! It's flattering on you & your modification at the bust was perfect!
2/15/13 10:28 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a great top!!
2/16/13 8:00 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Very nice top. It's helpful to see how you made it work for your figure, as I would have to deal with some of the same issues. Thanks.
2/16/13 1:02 PM
fourkid said...
Beautiful - love the fabric and your fit.
2/16/13 6:40 PM
staging lady said...
This is a lovely top and helpful advice, too.
2/8/14 8:06 AM
USMCMom said...
It's always helpful to read reviews from our Aussie PR members! While we're still mired in snow and ice, they let us preview what we'll want to wear when the sun warms us again. And it gives me the boost I need to start digging into my stash & planning my Spring projects. Thanks!
2/8/14 12:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 4095
photo
Review by merrypatte... on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8953 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3964 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6035 MISSES' SHIRTS
photo
Review by relliotts on 11/8/11
Read Review

Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas
Grainline Studio Lakeside Pajamas

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us