Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1247 (Misses' Top and Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 454 times 96 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:MariannaSew2Pro
photo
About MariannaSew2Pro
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 2/12/12
Reviews written: 56
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:2/16/13 6:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elke said...
Looks very pretty on you and nice color choice!
2/16/13 8:30 PM
ArtAttack said...
I understand how you feel but it certainly doesn't look homemade to me. I've had this pattern a long while and have never felt called to make it. Yours is really cute.
2/17/13 0:13 AM
kias2 said...
It looks great on you, and I am sure you will wear it a lot. As for the bra straps showing, on mine ( yes, along with many others, I also have this top!) I have added those little ribbons with safety pins on the shoulder seam to hold in place. Works a treat.
2/17/13 3:27 AM
MNBarb said...
I think this pattern should be voted the most difficult to wear. You've done a nice job with it and chose the proper fabric. It's very loose fitting and a challenge but you do look very good in your version.
2/17/13 8:04 AM
Fran G said...
I like the look on you! When I made mine, I had to put tucks in the back...5/8" on each side. (total 1 1/4"). shoulder to hem.. to remove fullness and so it would stay up on my shoulders! French seaming was a challenge in the front areas so I used a regular seam on part and simply hand overcast. IMHO, think it's an easy style to wear but a hard style to make. Love the casualness of it..good job..you look chic!
2/17/13 9:03 AM
VivianZ said...
I like your top in black. I always have the shoulder strap problem, so I just started making shoulder strap guards. Snaps and bias tape, it's easy. You can also buy them and just sew them in.
2/17/13 1:48 PM
MariannaSew2Pro said...
Thank you all so much! You've given me the confidence to go out and wear this with pride! Will definitely put in some strap guards.... seems very little extra time and a lot of time saved fiddling.
2/17/13 3:55 PM
FreyaStark said...
It looks pretty good to me in a slouchy, bohemian sort of way. Re bra straps, may I suggest getting a strapless bra. I've just got one for the first time (to wear with a muumuu with shoulder straps) and it works remarkably well.
2/17/13 5:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-118 Blouses
photo
Review by dingyadi on 12/28/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2174 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2174 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 3750 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used A Twinset Tweaks
photo
Review by Georgene on 8/20/05
Read Review

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us