Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8889 (Men's Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 436 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/17/13 1:46 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A nice crisp-looking shirt and a perfect fit. Well done.
2/17/13 2:30 PM
PattyE said...
Great looking shirt!
2/17/13 2:50 PM
MNBarb said...
Love the shaping with the side pieces. What a perfect, slim fit. Your shirt looks like it needs a trip to the Bahamas with its airy-ness.
2/17/13 4:08 PM
Immelu said...
Wow, looks great!!!! You've got a keeper with this pattern!
2/17/13 4:47 PM
Sarsez said...
Well worth the effort in the end. Excellent shirt! I agree, it's a keeper!
2/17/13 4:58 PM
magoe6217 said...
Great looking shirt and love your high tech (to me) slide presentation. Thanks.
2/17/13 5:39 PM
carolynw said...
Another perfect fit for you - great work as always and now you have created a TNT pattern for yourself
2/17/13 6:05 PM
lmg said...
Beautiful collar, fit and fabric. Wow.
2/17/13 7:16 PM
Acient3 said...
great shirt,great fit, your blog always makes me laugh
2/17/13 7:20 PM
Maree P said...
Thanks Peter for this excellent review. The time and effort you undertook on the adjustments was well worth it ....you have a great looking shirt.
2/17/13 9:57 PM
Elke said...
Great looking shirt and a perfect fit! Looks terrific on you.
2/17/13 11:20 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, everyone!
2/18/13 1:06 AM
Sewiing Sue said...
Inside collar band fabric very nice detail. I like the whimsey.
2/18/13 8:04 PM
Margaret said...
Great looking shirt and great fit. I love how the hidden placket and visible seams look with this fabric.
2/19/13 4:31 PM
Fictionfan said...
Great looking shirt! Sounds like the perfect pattern for making shirts for my husband, for whom I have spent 30 years slimming every shirt he buys to fit his skinny but broad-shouldered body. All patterns until perhaps this one were just as bad. I'm impressed that you found so many drafting errors, though! Thanks for this review.
2/20/13 5:27 PM
Hansrob said...
I am just finished my first construction with this pattern and it is indeed quite fitted, rather than loose, and the shoulders are very wide indeed. I might have to redraft and redo, or simply take sone of the nice feature (button placket and sleeves opening are quite nice) with V8759 which fits me a lot better.
3/16/13 11:41 PM
SewRusty said...
Thanks for the review! It sounds like my hubby may be the perfect candidate for this shirt, being the tall, broad shoulder, slim waist/hip type. :-)
4/15/13 7:49 PM
Princess Aurora said...
Great job! Can't find shirts that well made OTR!
4/18/13 0:11 AM
slmstyle said...
What a wonderful shirt you have created! I greatly admire your skill and expertise. I'll have to try this one as it may be a good fit right out of the envelope for my broad shouldered, small waisted husband. Thank you for all of the very useful sewing and fitting information on your review and your blog.
5/29/13 1:58 PM
slmstyle said...
:)
5/29/13 2:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Butterick B4474 Purse
photo
Review by MarilynB on 7/10/07
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Beret Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7086 Shirt
photo
Review by Lucinda on 7/14/08
Read Review

Burda 9478 Pattern
Burda 9478 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3871 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3871 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us