SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8379 (MISSES' DRESS)

123 more reviews
Viewed 677 times 
Reviewed by:dalachin
photo

 
 
About dalachin
Member since: 9/17/12
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:2/18/13 11:05 AM
Last Updated:6/16/14 11:32 AM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8379
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Rayon Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Vogue 8379
Pattern Sizing:
16-20 something
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes! Mostly! See details on my blog: Mod Zag Wrap Dress
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Love it! Very easy to follow. Love that it looks as close to the classic DVF wrap as I can find, without spending an exorbitant amount on ebay!
Fabric Used:
Gorgeous rayon jersey from Emma One Sock.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

You can view more details and my other projects on my blog:
Mod Zag Wrap Dress

The biggest deviation from the pattern is that I made the dress sleeveless. This is in part because I pulled this fabric from my stash, and I only had 2 yards. But that is okay, I frequently choose to make sleeveless or short sleeve items to be worn with other layers-- allows me to stretch my wardrobe out to all 4 seasons, and adjust to the wide variation of temperature variations in my environment (freezing office, overly warm classrooms, etc.) In order to make it sleeveless with a clean line, I drafted an armhole facing (this was the first time doing that and it was easy!). I also took 20 inches out of the sweep of the skirt and shortened it considerably. I took the ease out of the back shoulders (I fail to see why one needs ease in a stretch knit... would be happy for someone to explain this to me). To fit the pattern to my body, I cut an 18 waist and skirt and a 16 bust and shoulders, and still took out another inch around the bust (curved it in under the armhole). Right now I'm a size 12 in both tops and bottoms. I also reshaped the front armhole... it had a very extreme curve, which I tamed down a bit. To fit the pattern onto my 2 yards I cut the belt in two parts-- not ideal but it doesn't look too bad.


I interfaced the facings with lightweight tricot from Emma One Sock-- this is the nicest interfacing I have ever worked with. I also put some strips of interfacing in the shoulder seams to control stretch. I hemmed with interfacing... first time I've done that, and it is really a beautiful method. I tacked the facings down with fusible hem tape (I feel like this was cheating, but I tried hand sewing and everything shows on this fabric, and I can't stand spending all day tugging at facings).


Before making this dress I made a wearable muslin (will post pics later) where I skipped the facings and bound the neckline and armholes. This was okay-- a more casual look, I love it too! For this dress I tried the facings and love the clean, crisp look. This is also sort of a trial run before I make it in silk jersey, and my previous attempt at making another dress in silk jersey was sort of sad-- by the third wearing it has completely stretched out. It was also a b---- to sew, it kept wiggling out from under my needle. I think some very lightweight interfacing would help both problems.


The jury is still out on the facings though... the bound version has the benefit that it pulls the bust in a little and gives it a little more shape. So far the facings version has a tendency to gape a little if my posture isn't perfect.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, I intend to. Still want my DVF knock off in silk jersey. In fact I think I might like it better than a real DVF (at least that is what I tell myself!) since the current versions are rather low cut for wearing at work. I also think it would be luxurious in soft wool jersey, and I love the wrap top version, I can envision it in a light sweater knit.
Conclusion:
Great pattern. There is a reason the DVF wrap dress has sold millions, just so flattering and feminine. An added benefit-- nursing compatible and adjustable for a changing body, for all those moms out there! I've been wanting this dress for soooo long, don't know why I waited so long!

Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
Beautiful on you, great fit and look!
2/18/13 11:24 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Great fit and congrats on your first review!
2/18/13 12:24 PM
AndreaSews said...
Dress looks great on you! Can't have to many classic dresses, especially if they are part if your daily wardrobe.
2/18/13 11:17 PM
MNBarb said...
A very nice dress on you. The wrap is conservative enough to wear anywhere but still flattering.
2/19/13 12:39 PM
thegreenviolet said...
Really beautiful, i love the combo of the pattern and fabric.
2/20/13 3:06 PM
charid dawn said...
This is adorable. Youthful and flattering on you.
2/21/13 11:32 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Really pretty dress in a striking fabric.
7/8/14 1:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Keyka Lou Skirt Bag

photo
by: wenznz

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now