SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> PMB3 (KS 2694 Knock-off)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1732 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 193
Favored by: 389 people
patterns reviewed: 180
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/05 1:38 AM
Last Updated:2/19/05 1:38 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lilibet said...
Love it. The style is perfect for that gorgeous fabric and the fit is very flattering.
2/19/05 2:13 AM
ChrisK said...
Nice one Debbie! It's a great fit - you are looking very trim.
2/19/05 2:23 AM
MaryBeth said...
Lovely fit, Debbie. I'm wild about the binding. Doing this last runthrough last summer showed me the benefit of that curved underbust seam that PMB adds and lead me to hunt for old 60's empire style patterns on ebay. I, too, think you could raise that armscye a tiny bit. Amazing what a few choice details can add. This is a keeper, eh?
2/19/05 3:23 AM
MariaDenmark said...
I love it too - very nice job. And you just look great!
2/19/05 5:10 AM
jlg said...
Debbie, your top looks fabulous on you. It looks beautiful.
2/19/05 5:11 AM
Nickle said...
Love your top - the fabric, fit and looks great with your pants.
2/19/05 5:58 AM
PegL said...
Wow! Really cute top that obviously fits beautifully! I also love the red binding!
2/19/05 7:01 AM
amadoofus said...
Loved your detailed analysis Debbie, and was especially interested that the empire seam was curved, and the difference that this made. You make clear, concise points when explaining.
2/19/05 7:24 AM
Deepika said...
Wow Debbie, that top is so fabulous! You are a wild ginger queen!!
2/19/05 8:07 AM
Linda E. said...
wow you top is great looking and a great fit as usual for you. If you ever get tired of making tops for yourself I could use some. You are looking very fit and trim.
2/19/05 8:24 AM
cindyann said...
Great top and the contrast trim is so cute. "that machine which shall remain nameless" did a wonderful job! Teehee.
2/19/05 8:28 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Absolutely perfect! The fit is extremely flattering.
2/19/05 9:26 AM
Mary Ann said...
Debbie, you look beautiful in this top. Love the detail of the binding. It really show off the flattering fit.
2/19/05 12:20 PM
sewsue said...
Thanks for another entertaining and informative review! I have always balked at cross over tops for the well endowed among us, but yours looks fantastic and fits beautifully. Lovely top.
2/19/05 3:59 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely top Debbie and you look lovely in it!
2/19/05 5:57 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your reviews only make me drool for a CSM and PMB. Both out of my reach at the moment. Nice job of this top.
2/19/05 6:46 PM
kathi s said...
Great review, love your top! It fits so perfectly, that you may have convinced me (the computer phobe) to invest in PMB!
2/19/05 7:41 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
This looks great! Details please. Which binder attachment did you use, double or single fold? Was fabric for binding cut on the cross grain? Did you bind the sleeves before sewing the sleeve seam?
2/20/05 0:07 AM
Nancy Anne said...
What a great review, and great looking shirt. I have yet to find a cross over top that looks right on me (my chest gets in the way), so it is great to see one that fits properly! And as someone who has a tendency to overfit, my humble advice would be to leave the armsyc alone. It looks like it fits great and is comfy- just let 'er ride! :)
2/20/05 7:25 AM
AnneM said...
That looks great! This is the best "advertisement" for PMB yet. I would probably love this program; I might have to cave in & get it.
2/20/05 8:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Ditto to all the comments above.
2/20/05 8:33 AM
JoleneF said...
Deb, I really like this too. I see why you want to continue to make them. This looks good on you and fits well.
2/20/05 8:43 AM
PVA said...
Lately I've been noticing that 3rd star -- you certainly have earned it! One more time we're reading a detailed review with more photos of some really fine sewing & fitting! Of course you cheat with that darn CSM, but with results like these, why not! Great job, beautiful top, thanks for the review!
2/20/05 5:54 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Thank you for the nice comments everyone!! Rennie, the binder is a double-fold on top, with a single fold on the wrong side. I cut the strips on the cross grain, with the stretch. Yes, the sleeves were bound flat, before sewing the seams.
3/2/05 4:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 2909

photo
by: cosmoblue

Review
Simplicity 2072

photo
by: Elemenopeo

Review
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now