Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Wild Ginger: PMB3 (KS 2694 Knock-off) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1732 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/05 1:38 AM
Last Updated:2/19/05 1:38 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lilibet said...
Love it. The style is perfect for that gorgeous fabric and the fit is very flattering.
2/19/05 2:13 AM
ChrisK said...
Nice one Debbie! It's a great fit - you are looking very trim.
2/19/05 2:23 AM
MaryBeth said...
Lovely fit, Debbie. I'm wild about the binding. Doing this last runthrough last summer showed me the benefit of that curved underbust seam that PMB adds and lead me to hunt for old 60's empire style patterns on ebay. I, too, think you could raise that armscye a tiny bit. Amazing what a few choice details can add. This is a keeper, eh?
2/19/05 3:23 AM
MariaDenmark said...
I love it too - very nice job. And you just look great!
2/19/05 5:10 AM
jlg said...
Debbie, your top looks fabulous on you. It looks beautiful.
2/19/05 5:11 AM
Nickle said...
Love your top - the fabric, fit and looks great with your pants.
2/19/05 5:58 AM
PegL said...
Wow! Really cute top that obviously fits beautifully! I also love the red binding!
2/19/05 7:01 AM
amadoofus said...
Loved your detailed analysis Debbie, and was especially interested that the empire seam was curved, and the difference that this made. You make clear, concise points when explaining.
2/19/05 7:24 AM
Deepika said...
Wow Debbie, that top is so fabulous! You are a wild ginger queen!!
2/19/05 8:07 AM
Linda E. said...
wow you top is great looking and a great fit as usual for you. If you ever get tired of making tops for yourself I could use some. You are looking very fit and trim.
2/19/05 8:24 AM
cindyann said...
Great top and the contrast trim is so cute. "that machine which shall remain nameless" did a wonderful job! Teehee.
2/19/05 8:28 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Absolutely perfect! The fit is extremely flattering.
2/19/05 9:26 AM
Mary Ann said...
Debbie, you look beautiful in this top. Love the detail of the binding. It really show off the flattering fit.
2/19/05 12:20 PM
sewsue said...
Thanks for another entertaining and informative review! I have always balked at cross over tops for the well endowed among us, but yours looks fantastic and fits beautifully. Lovely top.
2/19/05 3:59 PM
Schnauzer said...
Lovely top Debbie and you look lovely in it!
2/19/05 5:57 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your reviews only make me drool for a CSM and PMB. Both out of my reach at the moment. Nice job of this top.
2/19/05 6:46 PM
kathi s said...
Great review, love your top! It fits so perfectly, that you may have convinced me (the computer phobe) to invest in PMB!
2/19/05 7:41 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
This looks great! Details please. Which binder attachment did you use, double or single fold? Was fabric for binding cut on the cross grain? Did you bind the sleeves before sewing the sleeve seam?
2/20/05 0:07 AM
Nancy Anne said...
What a great review, and great looking shirt. I have yet to find a cross over top that looks right on me (my chest gets in the way), so it is great to see one that fits properly! And as someone who has a tendency to overfit, my humble advice would be to leave the armsyc alone. It looks like it fits great and is comfy- just let 'er ride! :)
2/20/05 7:25 AM
AnneM said...
That looks great! This is the best "advertisement" for PMB yet. I would probably love this program; I might have to cave in & get it.
2/20/05 8:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Ditto to all the comments above.
2/20/05 8:33 AM
JoleneF said...
Deb, I really like this too. I see why you want to continue to make them. This looks good on you and fits well.
2/20/05 8:43 AM
PVA said...
Lately I've been noticing that 3rd star -- you certainly have earned it! One more time we're reading a detailed review with more photos of some really fine sewing & fitting! Of course you cheat with that darn CSM, but with results like these, why not! Great job, beautiful top, thanks for the review!
2/20/05 5:54 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Thank you for the nice comments everyone!! Rennie, the binder is a double-fold on top, with a single fold on the wrong side. I cut the strips on the cross grain, with the stretch. Yes, the sleeves were bound flat, before sewing the seams.
3/2/05 4:12 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8776 Misses Cape
photo
Review by valkyrie01 on 11/23/13
Read Review

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Professional Shears
10 inch Professional Shears

Details
Price: $69.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Cutie Pie Ruffle Pants, Shorts and Capris Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7834 Blouse
photo
Review by yoshimi on 4/15/09
Read Review

Vogue 8950 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8950 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1614 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1614 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us