SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3793 (Sleep Pants & Shorts)

5 more reviews
Viewed 120 times 
Reviewed by:renren
photo

 
 
About renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/13 9:18 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
missusprim said... (10/29/13 9:51 PM) Reply
Very helpful review! I have always loved the Kwik Sew patterns and think their sizing and fit is more accurate than the Big Four. That said, thank you for close ups. I miss the 'old' Kwik Sew patterns when they were printed on the thicker paper. Made it so much easier to trace off of as they had the different colored lined for the different sizing. Oh my, times have changed and I fear that since Kwik Sew is now affiliated with the McCall pattern company it will no longer be the Kwik Sew we remember them to be.
renren said... (2/24/13 9:18 PM) Reply
Yes, treefrog, that's definitely what it's for. Usually, you cut it out after the fly is sewn but before you turn down the waist casing. It eliminates, hmm, maybe 4 layers of fabric (and maybe 2 interfacing layers if that is called for) that would create a lump at the tummy. That, along with the waistband tie, would create stiffness, I guess. I like removing it at the cutting out stage rather than once I'm sewing because I always worry about scissors slipping or cutting through a stitch. It was an unexpected change to the pattern but it worked well. Since this is a Kwik Start, I think they were helping beginners avoid having to cut into a partly sewn pair of pj bottoms. It works and I might modify other pattern pieces at the outset.
treefrog said... (2/24/13 9:06 PM) Reply
Love the fabric. That is interesting about the fly. Do you think it is done to reduce the number of layers in the waistband?
Margaret said... (2/23/13 1:00 PM) Reply
Very nice! Love the print. Great job on the waistband -- looks like you are becoming a sports elastic expert. I will have to try that one of these days.
Claire in Montreal said... (2/20/13 7:22 PM) Reply
Lucky DH - very nice - like the topstitching on the waistband. :-)
cleverkitty said... (2/20/13 12:57 PM) Reply
Very professional looking, great fabric choice :)
KensingtonCrab said... (2/20/13 11:14 AM) Reply
Like the elastic waist band and fabric is great!
Trephas2003 said... (2/20/13 9:39 AM) Reply
They look great!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Pin-up Girls 1230

photo
by: InnerMuse

Review
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details