Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3793 (Sleep Pants & Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Sleepwear    printable version
Viewed 95 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Renren
photo
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 227
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/13 9:18 AM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...
They look great!
2/20/13 9:39 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Like the elastic waist band and fabric is great!
2/20/13 11:14 AM
cleverkitty said...
Very professional looking, great fabric choice :)
2/20/13 12:57 PM
Claire in Montreal said...
Lucky DH - very nice - like the topstitching on the waistband. :-)
2/20/13 7:22 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Love the print. Great job on the waistband -- looks like you are becoming a sports elastic expert. I will have to try that one of these days.
2/23/13 1:00 PM
treefrog said...
Love the fabric. That is interesting about the fly. Do you think it is done to reduce the number of layers in the waistband?
2/24/13 9:06 PM
Renren said...
Yes, treefrog, that's definitely what it's for. Usually, you cut it out after the fly is sewn but before you turn down the waist casing. It eliminates, hmm, maybe 4 layers of fabric (and maybe 2 interfacing layers if that is called for) that would create a lump at the tummy. That, along with the waistband tie, would create stiffness, I guess. I like removing it at the cutting out stage rather than once I'm sewing because I always worry about scissors slipping or cutting through a stitch. It was an unexpected change to the pattern but it worked well. Since this is a Kwik Start, I think they were helping beginners avoid having to cut into a partly sewn pair of pj bottoms. It works and I might modify other pattern pieces at the outset.
2/24/13 9:18 PM
missusprim said...
Very helpful review! I have always loved the Kwik Sew patterns and think their sizing and fit is more accurate than the Big Four. That said, thank you for close ups. I miss the 'old' Kwik Sew patterns when they were printed on the thicker paper. Made it so much easier to trace off of as they had the different colored lined for the different sizing. Oh my, times have changed and I fear that since Kwik Sew is now affiliated with the McCall pattern company it will no longer be the Kwik Sew we remember them to be.
10/29/13 9:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Kwik Sew 3298 Briefs
photo
Review by Judy Kski on 10/21/13
Read Review

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern
Simple Things Lula Loop Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8462
photo
Review by my horse on 2/6/11
Read Review

New Look 6135 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6135 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6074 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6074 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us