SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3793 (Sleep Pants & Shorts)

5 more reviews
Viewed 100 times 
Reviewed by:Renren
photo

 
 
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 228
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 219
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/13 9:18 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...
They look great!
2/20/13 9:39 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Like the elastic waist band and fabric is great!
2/20/13 11:14 AM
cleverkitty said...
Very professional looking, great fabric choice :)
2/20/13 12:57 PM
Claire in Montreal said...
Lucky DH - very nice - like the topstitching on the waistband. :-)
2/20/13 7:22 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Love the print. Great job on the waistband -- looks like you are becoming a sports elastic expert. I will have to try that one of these days.
2/23/13 1:00 PM
treefrog said...
Love the fabric. That is interesting about the fly. Do you think it is done to reduce the number of layers in the waistband?
2/24/13 9:06 PM
Renren said...
Yes, treefrog, that's definitely what it's for. Usually, you cut it out after the fly is sewn but before you turn down the waist casing. It eliminates, hmm, maybe 4 layers of fabric (and maybe 2 interfacing layers if that is called for) that would create a lump at the tummy. That, along with the waistband tie, would create stiffness, I guess. I like removing it at the cutting out stage rather than once I'm sewing because I always worry about scissors slipping or cutting through a stitch. It was an unexpected change to the pattern but it worked well. Since this is a Kwik Start, I think they were helping beginners avoid having to cut into a partly sewn pair of pj bottoms. It works and I might modify other pattern pieces at the outset.
2/24/13 9:18 PM
missusprim said...
Very helpful review! I have always loved the Kwik Sew patterns and think their sizing and fit is more accurate than the Big Four. That said, thank you for close ups. I miss the 'old' Kwik Sew patterns when they were printed on the thicker paper. Made it so much easier to trace off of as they had the different colored lined for the different sizing. Oh my, times have changed and I fear that since Kwik Sew is now affiliated with the McCall pattern company it will no longer be the Kwik Sew we remember them to be.
10/29/13 9:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 1717

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Buy Now