Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Elan: 530 - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 297 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:knitmachinequeen
photo
About knitmachinequeenstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/13 9:53 AM
Last Updated:1/5/14 1:38 PM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by knitmachinequeen

Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Charmeuse  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Full coverage underwire bra has stretch satin cups, back hook closure and optional tapered straps
Pattern Sizing:
Multi size pattern 32A-40DD
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
More or less except that I added elastic along the upper cups and bridge.
Click Here
Side view
Blurry Back Photo
Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, the instructions were easy to follow
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I liked that it is a full coverage partial band bra. I disliked that the back of the bra is narrow and not long enough. I wound up not using it. The great part about bra making is that there are only usually only four main pattern pieces!
Fabric Used:
Polyester Charmeuse
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Where do I begin? It took six tries before I was able to get a well fitting bra. Not to try reinventing the wheel, I morphed Elan 530 with the Anne St Claire Queen Bra Elite. I mainly used the band from the Queen Bra Elite to get a band that fit and from there I redrew the 530 cups to the correct size. I didn't like the horizontal seam in the QBE pattern. Like the QBE I eliminated the findings on the straps as a custom made bra shouldn't need them.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I have every intention of using it again because my goal is to buy very few bras in the future. I've taken a hands-on bra making class with Anne St Clair so I didn't have any issues with assembly. I don't think I would be as confident with bra making without that experience. It takes me about two hours to make the bra. By the time I got dressed, drove to the store and tried on lots of bras, it would probably take the same amount of time.
Conclusion:
I've learned a lot about bra making. Beverly Johnson's Bra Maker's Manual is a fantastic reference book to add to your sewing arsenal if you plan on tackling bra making.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
canei said...
Love it!! Very nice.
2/19/13 10:04 AM
sewmytime said...
Beautiful!
2/19/13 10:49 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Gorgeous! 6 tries before correct fitting seems about right to me. I also found the back piece of this patterns to be way too small, even when compared to the same size backs from other patterns. It's great you've got your own bra sloped now, the variations are endless!!
2/19/13 3:14 PM
Dee2 said...
Gorgeous bra & excellent review!
2/19/13 4:03 PM
RLL said...
This is very valuable info. Thanks.
2/19/13 4:12 PM
velosewer said...
Glad to see you've got your fit now. Thank you for the details in your review too.
2/19/13 6:56 PM
ggf2005 said...
you amaze me!
2/20/13 0:43 AM
koo104 said...
I tried to go to your blog and it looks like it is hijacked by Kenny K rubber stamping craft. Nothing out sewing or knitting.
6/16/13 12:08 PM
Quickie said...
Congrats with this bra
1/6/14 6:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Self Drafted Pattern 277-1001
photo
Review by Darla in P... on 9/17/04
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Angie Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Angie Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-123A Light Cowl Top
photo
Review by vchan38 on 1/1/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1882 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4636 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4636 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us