Online Sewing Class: Put it on the Bias
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8790 (top)

18 more reviews
Viewed 552 times 
Reviewed by:LauraHarkawik
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LauraHarkawikstar
CT
Member since: 5/25/11
Reviews: 17 (patterns: 15)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/19/13 6:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ColeenS said... (10/20/13 12:41 PM) Reply
Beautiful top and I love the fabric. I want to try it but I'm a little concerned about the ruching. I find that it can either hide my tummy or accentuate it. Any advice?
Norsecross said... (3/19/13 4:52 PM) Reply
I made this to twice too, and you are spot on about the stretchiness of the fabric used being an important sizing issue for this design. Low stretch knits and you get a very slim fitting sleeve, loose knit and you get a saggy front...well unless you have the bosoms to fill it! This is a great pattern!
norie creates said... (2/20/13 9:54 PM) Reply
Love both versions but especially the green one!
fauxgetaboutit said... (2/20/13 10:03 AM) Reply
Great fabric choice! So flattering on you! I'm 5'10" so good to hear about a pattern that does not have to be lengthened.
SavageCoco said... (2/20/13 0:52 AM) Reply
This pattern runs big and long. Yours is very pretty!
LauraHarkawik said... (2/19/13 8:59 PM) Reply
Thanks, Elona. I found there was an awful "lot of room" - hopefully it will all work out for you. I look forward to your review!
Elona said... (2/19/13 7:03 PM) Reply
This top looks terrific on your lengthy self! Thanks for the note about possibly sizing down a bit. I just finished tracing off a size 14 for my 38" bosom, but being a little concerned by the fact that the finished bust measurement was only 36", I thought I might have to do a FBA and more.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Pattern Details
Kwik Sew 2123

photo
by: LiZ

Review