Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1240 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 268 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:littlepinkkiwi
photo
About littlepinkkiwi
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 10/18/09
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/17/14 3:23 PM
Last Updated:1/17/14 3:28 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1240 by littlepinkkiwi

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1240
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Silk  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Semi-fitted, fully lined dress with pleated overlay and high pleated collar

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, it turned out just the same

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I liked that there were not many pattern pieces

Fabric Used:
A printed silk cotton blend, it's fine but has body and worked really well in this design

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I made the collar 2 cm shorter because I thought it was a bit too high. I didn't think it would sit well if the overlay was sewn into the side seam with the zipper so I left 20cm open on the overlay, made a little extension and used snaps to close it. The zip is 40cm long but the opening doesn't need to be as long because the overlay is so loose.

Pattern alterations I would have made if I had read the reviews of this pattern before cutting the dress out:
I would recommend making a toile before cutting this from your fabric. The armhole is as low as everyone says and you do get some side boob showing. If you work it out beforehand you could do a shortening adjustment through the upper bodice.

All is not lost if you've just gone ahead and cut it out and then found that your bra and too much of your chest is showing when you try it on. When I put mine on it showed my whole bra strap at the underarm!

I really like the cutaway look of the armholes on the pattern envelope picture so I wanted to preserve those but I didn't want my bra to show, and I liked the way the pleating lined up at the collar seam so I didn't want to just cut the excess amount off the top of the dress. I eased the armhole edge of each of the layers separately - dress, overlay and lining. Then I sewed the armhole seam with 1.5cm at the top but only 1cm when I was sewing the underarm area. After I pressed and understitched the armhole seam I hand stitched some tape to the seam which eased the armhole in a little more (I used selvages cut off silk organza because it's so fine but you could use cotton tape or anything else that won't stretch). When I measured the finished armhole against the pattern piece it was 2cm shorter which was perfect for me, but it is still quite low and only just sits above my bra strap so other people will probably want to take it up more.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I'd love to have another dress like this, it turned out incredibly well and looks fantastic and I get a lot of compliments whenever I wear it. I'm not sure if I will though as there are so many other dresses I'd like to make.

It's a very flattering shape for my body type which is quite slim and athletic with a small bust, I'm a B cup.

Conclusion:
This is a very nice dress and it turned out spectacularly well but it did require some alteration. I can't really imagine most normal women feeling comfortable making it up as is with those very low armholes

It is a great pattern for showing off a large scale print

Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mangosteen25 said...
What a gorgeous combination of dress and fabric. Looks lovely.
1/17/14 3:50 PM
CozyCotton said...
I have this pattern too. Inspiring!
1/17/14 6:34 PM
caper81 said...
Your fabric looks perfect for this style! :)
1/18/14 8:09 AM
STARG said...
Love this. I've read other reviews as well that say how low the armhole is. Good job on saving it after it was cut out. Would like to see a pic of you in it.
1/18/14 12:03 PM
lamstu said...
I have always loved this dress, but was put off by the other write-ups. I think I will see if I can find the pattern somewhere and keep your happy result at the top of my mind. This is one seriously gorgeous dress!
1/18/14 7:47 PM
marthamyers said...
Great save - what a cute dress.
1/20/14 10:29 AM
AuntieShel said...
This is absolutely stunning!!!! You mentioned a bra showing because of low armholes--it would have to be a strapless bra you are talking about? Just gorgeous!!!
1/25/14 0:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2004-136 Tops, Trousers
photo
Review by Debbie Coo... on 11/22/04
Read Review

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6557 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by Nancywin on 3/22/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5556 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1108 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )
Vogue 1108 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us