Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8107 (Misses Dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in RTW/Designer Knockoff Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 603 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Kristine Kay
photo
About Kristine Kaystarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/3/07
Reviews written: 112
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 29 people
patterns reviewed: 108
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/13 11:11 PM
Last Updated:2/23/13 11:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
OMG! I can't believe you "made" this fabric! How cool...I thought you'd just found a wide stripe. What a great dress! I love the way you offset the stripes...great job! Your version is much better than the Lanvin!
2/23/13 11:18 PM
Miss Tanya said...
Very nice dress. Good fit and great fabric. You did a terrific job!
2/23/13 11:37 PM
gabc said...
This is such a fabulous dress - I love it and think your changes to the original Lanvin design were very sensible (most of us don't want to look like our hips stick out that much, even if it's fashionable!). Your hard work really paid off!
2/24/13 0:18 AM
gabc said...
This is such a fabulous dress - I love it and think your changes to the original Lanvin design were very sensible (most of us don't want to look like our hips stick out that much, even if it's fashionable!). Your hard work really paid off!
2/24/13 0:18 AM
Renren said...
This is very eye catching--love it. A great knockoff and I bet you get so many compliments every time you wear it!
2/24/13 0:30 AM
sewmytime said...
Awesome dress!
2/24/13 1:04 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Your hard work paid off! you look great!
2/24/13 2:12 AM
Eva Suzanne said...
Creative adaptation of rtw to pattern to dress! Nicely done
2/24/13 2:32 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Loved reading all the details on your blog of your sewing journey. You look fantastic and your dress is just lovely.
2/24/13 3:05 AM
JaxOz said...
Wow! That looks great.... And you made the fabric... That's dedication! Well done!
2/24/13 5:47 AM
mm said...
Stunning
2/24/13 6:26 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Wow I really love this. Isn't it satisfying to match up those stripes! Particularly like the back view, you definitely improved on the original
2/24/13 6:27 AM
caper81 said...
Wow! That is SO impressive! I went to your blog, and my goodness, it must've been labor-intensive making all those stripes! I assumed it was just striped fabric you used too. This is a fabulous dress, and you look fabulous in it! Great pose btw :)
2/24/13 6:41 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Now that's creative outside the box thinking at its best! Congratulations to you on this wonderful dress. I enjoyed your blog very much.
2/24/13 7:32 AM
DaisyEsq said...
You did an amazing job! The dress is beautiful.
2/24/13 8:17 AM
jacqui rocks said...
Wow!! I luv it.
2/24/13 8:42 AM
VivianZ said...
Beautiful dress! All that stitching! I saw this dress, and thought where would you find this fabric??/ You solved that perfectly!
2/24/13 8:46 AM
LynneH said...
I love your dress. Outstanding job on your fabric. I like your version better than the Lavin. Congrats.
2/24/13 9:17 AM
redside said...
So impressive! You're an inspiration.
2/24/13 9:56 AM
westmoon said...
What a terrific dress and a really amazing knock-off of the original!
2/24/13 10:58 AM
becca a said...
What a fabulous dress! I love everything about it! You did a fabulous job creating the fabric and aligning the stripes to create such a wonderful dress!
2/24/13 11:05 AM
NJcowgirl said...
You created the fabric!!!!! OMG, awesome. What a wonderful look.
2/24/13 11:25 AM
AndreaSews said...
Stunning dress!
2/24/13 12:04 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely stunning - you did such a close to knock off that I am sure most would think you had the mega bucks Lanvin dress. I am so impressed that you even "made" your fabric - terrific fit!
2/24/13 12:14 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice work. I think it is wonderful how you took the concept and made it to suit you, rather than making an across the board knock-off.
2/24/13 1:11 PM
KiwiGreen said...
You are totally rockin' this dress, girl! You did a fantastic job - absolutely beautiful!
2/24/13 1:16 PM
butterflyfly said...
Amazing! And you created your fabric!!! Sooo creative! looks fabulous on you! Great great entry!
2/24/13 3:10 PM
Quickie said...
Wonderful dress
2/24/13 4:06 PM
Terri A said...
This is INCREDIBLE! Amazing dress.
2/24/13 4:44 PM
mmcp said...
Gee, if that's what an intermediate sewist can do, what does advanced mean! Just spectacular.
2/24/13 6:31 PM
talesofawannabe said...
This is amazing! I think I like your version much better than the original designer one. I think you need to bump your skill up to advanced! :]
2/24/13 6:48 PM
Meredith P said...
Completely fabulous (and inspiring)!
2/24/13 9:30 PM
margy.64 said...
What an amazing dress. Congratulations on achieving your vision. All your hard work has certainly paid off...the fit is perfect and you look fantastic wearing it.
2/25/13 4:47 AM
Bonnie O said...
Whoa!!!! You NAILED it. And you look stunning wearing it! Congratulations!
2/25/13 11:01 AM
Kristine Kay said...
Thank you, everyone, for all you positive feedback! Im just glad that this forum exists, as it really pushes me to take a risk and try something challenging!
2/26/13 7:53 PM
ChristineX said...
Awesome!
2/27/13 4:59 PM
sooolution said...
I love it!
2/28/13 3:58 AM
BJ1400 said...
Wow! That is a fabulous dress!
3/5/13 11:06 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Great dress! Love it!!!
3/17/13 12:21 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Stunning! -- fit and fabric!
7/31/13 9:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 5465
photo
Review by Sewlovelie... on 12/27/08
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5006
photo
Review by misscreati... on 10/18/10
Read Review

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3942 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3942 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us