SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8107 (Misses Dress)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in RTW/Designer Knockoff Contest Contest
Viewed 607 times 
Reviewed by:Kristine Kay
photo

 
 
About Kristine Kaystarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/3/07
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/13 11:11 PM
Last Updated:2/23/13 11:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pattycrafty said...
Stunning! -- fit and fabric!
7/31/13 9:44 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Great dress! Love it!!!
3/17/13 12:21 PM
BJ1400 said...
Wow! That is a fabulous dress!
3/5/13 11:06 AM
sooolution said...
I love it!
2/28/13 3:58 AM
ChristineX said...
Awesome!
2/27/13 4:59 PM
Kristine Kay said...
Thank you, everyone, for all you positive feedback! Im just glad that this forum exists, as it really pushes me to take a risk and try something challenging!
2/26/13 7:53 PM
Bonnie O said...
Whoa!!!! You NAILED it. And you look stunning wearing it! Congratulations!
2/25/13 11:01 AM
margy.64 said...
What an amazing dress. Congratulations on achieving your vision. All your hard work has certainly paid off...the fit is perfect and you look fantastic wearing it.
2/25/13 4:47 AM
Meredith P said...
Completely fabulous (and inspiring)!
2/24/13 9:30 PM
talesofawannabe said...
This is amazing! I think I like your version much better than the original designer one. I think you need to bump your skill up to advanced! :]
2/24/13 6:48 PM
mmcp said...
Gee, if that's what an intermediate sewist can do, what does advanced mean! Just spectacular.
2/24/13 6:31 PM
Terri A said...
This is INCREDIBLE! Amazing dress.
2/24/13 4:44 PM
Quickie said...
Wonderful dress
2/24/13 4:06 PM
butterflyfly said...
Amazing! And you created your fabric!!! Sooo creative! looks fabulous on you! Great great entry!
2/24/13 3:10 PM
KiwiGreen said...
You are totally rockin' this dress, girl! You did a fantastic job - absolutely beautiful!
2/24/13 1:16 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice work. I think it is wonderful how you took the concept and made it to suit you, rather than making an across the board knock-off.
2/24/13 1:11 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely stunning - you did such a close to knock off that I am sure most would think you had the mega bucks Lanvin dress. I am so impressed that you even "made" your fabric - terrific fit!
2/24/13 12:14 PM
AndreaSews said...
Stunning dress!
2/24/13 12:04 PM
NJcowgirl said...
You created the fabric!!!!! OMG, awesome. What a wonderful look.
2/24/13 11:25 AM
becca a said...
What a fabulous dress! I love everything about it! You did a fabulous job creating the fabric and aligning the stripes to create such a wonderful dress!
2/24/13 11:05 AM
westmoon said...
What a terrific dress and a really amazing knock-off of the original!
2/24/13 10:58 AM
redside said...
So impressive! You're an inspiration.
2/24/13 9:56 AM
LynneH said...
I love your dress. Outstanding job on your fabric. I like your version better than the Lavin. Congrats.
2/24/13 9:17 AM
VivianZ said...
Beautiful dress! All that stitching! I saw this dress, and thought where would you find this fabric??/ You solved that perfectly!
2/24/13 8:46 AM
jacqui rocks said...
Wow!! I luv it.
2/24/13 8:42 AM
DaisyEsq said...
You did an amazing job! The dress is beautiful.
2/24/13 8:17 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Now that's creative outside the box thinking at its best! Congratulations to you on this wonderful dress. I enjoyed your blog very much.
2/24/13 7:32 AM
caper81 said...
Wow! That is SO impressive! I went to your blog, and my goodness, it must've been labor-intensive making all those stripes! I assumed it was just striped fabric you used too. This is a fabulous dress, and you look fabulous in it! Great pose btw :)
2/24/13 6:41 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Wow I really love this. Isn't it satisfying to match up those stripes! Particularly like the back view, you definitely improved on the original
2/24/13 6:27 AM
mm said...
Stunning
2/24/13 6:26 AM
JaxOz said...
Wow! That looks great.... And you made the fabric... That's dedication! Well done!
2/24/13 5:47 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Loved reading all the details on your blog of your sewing journey. You look fantastic and your dress is just lovely.
2/24/13 3:05 AM
Eva Suzanne said...
Creative adaptation of rtw to pattern to dress! Nicely done
2/24/13 2:32 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Your hard work paid off! you look great!
2/24/13 2:12 AM
sewmytime said...
Awesome dress!
2/24/13 1:04 AM
Renren said...
This is very eye catching--love it. A great knockoff and I bet you get so many compliments every time you wear it!
2/24/13 0:30 AM
gabc said...
This is such a fabulous dress - I love it and think your changes to the original Lanvin design were very sensible (most of us don't want to look like our hips stick out that much, even if it's fashionable!). Your hard work really paid off!
2/24/13 0:18 AM
gabc said...
This is such a fabulous dress - I love it and think your changes to the original Lanvin design were very sensible (most of us don't want to look like our hips stick out that much, even if it's fashionable!). Your hard work really paid off!
2/24/13 0:18 AM
Miss Tanya said...
Very nice dress. Good fit and great fabric. You did a terrific job!
2/23/13 11:37 PM
ArtAttack said...
OMG! I can't believe you "made" this fabric! How cool...I thought you'd just found a wide stripe. What a great dress! I love the way you offset the stripes...great job! Your version is much better than the Lanvin!
2/23/13 11:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

More Info