SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8107 (Misses Dress)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in RTW/Designer Knockoff Contest Contest
Viewed 607 times 
Reviewed by:Kristine Kay
photo

 
 
About Kristine Kaystarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/3/07
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/13 11:11 PM
Last Updated:2/23/13 11:16 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
OMG! I can't believe you "made" this fabric! How cool...I thought you'd just found a wide stripe. What a great dress! I love the way you offset the stripes...great job! Your version is much better than the Lanvin!
2/23/13 11:18 PM
Miss Tanya said...
Very nice dress. Good fit and great fabric. You did a terrific job!
2/23/13 11:37 PM
gabc said...
This is such a fabulous dress - I love it and think your changes to the original Lanvin design were very sensible (most of us don't want to look like our hips stick out that much, even if it's fashionable!). Your hard work really paid off!
2/24/13 0:18 AM
gabc said...
This is such a fabulous dress - I love it and think your changes to the original Lanvin design were very sensible (most of us don't want to look like our hips stick out that much, even if it's fashionable!). Your hard work really paid off!
2/24/13 0:18 AM
Renren said...
This is very eye catching--love it. A great knockoff and I bet you get so many compliments every time you wear it!
2/24/13 0:30 AM
sewmytime said...
Awesome dress!
2/24/13 1:04 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Your hard work paid off! you look great!
2/24/13 2:12 AM
Eva Suzanne said...
Creative adaptation of rtw to pattern to dress! Nicely done
2/24/13 2:32 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Loved reading all the details on your blog of your sewing journey. You look fantastic and your dress is just lovely.
2/24/13 3:05 AM
JaxOz said...
Wow! That looks great.... And you made the fabric... That's dedication! Well done!
2/24/13 5:47 AM
mm said...
Stunning
2/24/13 6:26 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Wow I really love this. Isn't it satisfying to match up those stripes! Particularly like the back view, you definitely improved on the original
2/24/13 6:27 AM
caper81 said...
Wow! That is SO impressive! I went to your blog, and my goodness, it must've been labor-intensive making all those stripes! I assumed it was just striped fabric you used too. This is a fabulous dress, and you look fabulous in it! Great pose btw :)
2/24/13 6:41 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Now that's creative outside the box thinking at its best! Congratulations to you on this wonderful dress. I enjoyed your blog very much.
2/24/13 7:32 AM
DaisyEsq said...
You did an amazing job! The dress is beautiful.
2/24/13 8:17 AM
jacqui rocks said...
Wow!! I luv it.
2/24/13 8:42 AM
VivianZ said...
Beautiful dress! All that stitching! I saw this dress, and thought where would you find this fabric??/ You solved that perfectly!
2/24/13 8:46 AM
LynneH said...
I love your dress. Outstanding job on your fabric. I like your version better than the Lavin. Congrats.
2/24/13 9:17 AM
redside said...
So impressive! You're an inspiration.
2/24/13 9:56 AM
westmoon said...
What a terrific dress and a really amazing knock-off of the original!
2/24/13 10:58 AM
becca a said...
What a fabulous dress! I love everything about it! You did a fabulous job creating the fabric and aligning the stripes to create such a wonderful dress!
2/24/13 11:05 AM
NJcowgirl said...
You created the fabric!!!!! OMG, awesome. What a wonderful look.
2/24/13 11:25 AM
AndreaSews said...
Stunning dress!
2/24/13 12:04 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely stunning - you did such a close to knock off that I am sure most would think you had the mega bucks Lanvin dress. I am so impressed that you even "made" your fabric - terrific fit!
2/24/13 12:14 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Very nice work. I think it is wonderful how you took the concept and made it to suit you, rather than making an across the board knock-off.
2/24/13 1:11 PM
KiwiGreen said...
You are totally rockin' this dress, girl! You did a fantastic job - absolutely beautiful!
2/24/13 1:16 PM
butterflyfly said...
Amazing! And you created your fabric!!! Sooo creative! looks fabulous on you! Great great entry!
2/24/13 3:10 PM
Quickie said...
Wonderful dress
2/24/13 4:06 PM
Terri A said...
This is INCREDIBLE! Amazing dress.
2/24/13 4:44 PM
mmcp said...
Gee, if that's what an intermediate sewist can do, what does advanced mean! Just spectacular.
2/24/13 6:31 PM
talesofawannabe said...
This is amazing! I think I like your version much better than the original designer one. I think you need to bump your skill up to advanced! :]
2/24/13 6:48 PM
Meredith P said...
Completely fabulous (and inspiring)!
2/24/13 9:30 PM
margy.64 said...
What an amazing dress. Congratulations on achieving your vision. All your hard work has certainly paid off...the fit is perfect and you look fantastic wearing it.
2/25/13 4:47 AM
Bonnie O said...
Whoa!!!! You NAILED it. And you look stunning wearing it! Congratulations!
2/25/13 11:01 AM
Kristine Kay said...
Thank you, everyone, for all you positive feedback! Im just glad that this forum exists, as it really pushes me to take a risk and try something challenging!
2/26/13 7:53 PM
ChristineX said...
Awesome!
2/27/13 4:59 PM
sooolution said...
I love it!
2/28/13 3:58 AM
BJ1400 said...
Wow! That is a fabulous dress!
3/5/13 11:06 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Great dress! Love it!!!
3/17/13 12:21 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Stunning! -- fit and fabric!
7/31/13 9:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Abacadabra 103

photo
by: aaltje

Review
McCall's 5525

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Christine Jonson BaseWear One - Leggings, Top and Yoga Bodysuit

Buy Now
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now