Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2880 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 473 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Mary Themom
photo
About Mary Themom
TX USA
Member since: 2/22/13
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/13 0:31 AM
Last Updated:11/2/13 2:04 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 2880 by Mary Themom

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 2880
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Nylon Chiffon  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: This is a romantic, draped, asymmetrical evening gown.

Pattern Sizing: I purchased a 16/18/20, but significantly altered the bodice to fit my 36GG chest. This was VERY difficult since the bodice was asymmetrical so each side had to be redesigned, plus there were a lot of layers (foundation, lining, and fabric).

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? I was trying to copy another dress and this was the only asymmetrical, wrapped dress pattern I could find so I changed it quite a bit.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, but there were a LOT of them! This is definitely not a beginner's project, but if you follow the directions exactly and don't need to make alterations/tweaks then it's not so difficult.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The foundation layer turned out to be unnecessary, altering all the different pieces was very time consuming, the shoulder straps were too long and too narrow, and the asymmetrical line across my hip was VERY unflattering.

Fabric Used: I made this three times, the first two times were in cheap, polyester lining fabric because I didn't want to waste time making a pattern in muslin, and was thinking I could use the mock ups for date night or something.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I removed the ruffles and the lacing. I doubled the width of the shoulder strap, and angled it higher so it was more on the shoulder - at the same time raising the neckline for more coverage. The asymmetrical seam at the hip was removed and blended into one long column drape instead of the original mermaid style. Also adding a slit in the skirt from the bottom of the hip gather. Made the dress full length instead of an asymmetrical hem.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I won't sew it again because I felt the asymmetrical line at the hip was really unflattering. I might recommend it to someone who wanted to give an illusion of curves at the hip (where I need NO help at all).

Conclusion: If you want to see more pictures and details about this project, you can check it out on my blog.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RobbieK said...
The final product looks very glamorous. I never would have gotten there from your original muslin. I'm totally impressed.
2/23/13 10:57 AM
Shona said...
You did a fantastic job; it looks stunning.
9/18/13 11:09 PM
sacjeanie said...
The changes you made are just wonderful. Talk about thinking outside the box. Adding the length was a brilliant stroke. Congratulations. Love the Carol Burnett image.
11/2/13 9:44 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Beautiful gown! You wear it fabulously well. Enjoyed your blog post as well. Do you think you might share the family portrait versions? I would love to see that as well. Many thanks... for sharing such a personal route to a gorgeous result.
11/2/13 9:52 AM
sewbehind said...
I loved your review on your blog. It's very interesting the changes you made. Very lovely dress. Very flattering on you.
11/2/13 10:03 AM
caper81 said...
Wow, this is so very elegant on you & very flattering! I enjoyed your blog and it was neat to see the changes you made:)
11/2/13 1:03 PM
Kohl said...
Worth all that extra effort looks great!
11/2/13 4:18 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Gorgeous!!
11/2/13 8:01 PM
material excess said...
Absolutely fabulous. I looked at your blog, and I disagree - the first try wasn't horrible - it just was kind of "meh" on you, which for that level of effort isn't ok. You improved it about 2000% and the final product looks great on you.
11/4/13 0:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Vogue Patterns 1179 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by sewmytime on 7/30/11
Read Review

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Briar Sweater & T-shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5997
photo
Review by Gemaki on 1/16/11
Read Review

Jalie 3026 Pattern
Jalie 3026 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us