Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8742 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 524 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:CissieW
photo
Friend of PR
About CissieWstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 1/21/07
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/13 11:07 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mimi g. said...
I love this! thanks for the inspiration I may just need to pull this out ;-)
2/23/13 12:15 PM
SewWil said...
Classic black and white with a modern twist. I love it! You may be inspiring a few of us with this dress.
2/23/13 12:31 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Brilliant! Removing the sleeves opens a world of options and using contrasting colors appears to be very slimming.
2/23/13 1:14 PM
Gecko said...
I love your color combo- great idea and great dress!
2/23/13 1:21 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
How incredibly clever! Mind if I copy you again? :)
2/23/13 2:09 PM
mmcp said...
This looks beautiful, I can't tell if it's navy or black and white, but it is so elegant. About to start this dress, thank you so much for the neck adjustment suggestion.
2/23/13 4:40 PM
Pink Hollybush Designs said...
I am going to have to put this one on the "to make" list as well! I never would have tried this if I hadn't seen it made up on you. I tried the Donna Karen cowl neck dress based on your recommendation and it is one of my favorites so I will give this one a try as well! Thanks so much for the inspiration! Lisa
2/23/13 8:00 PM
AndreaSews said...
Very beautiful, classic color combo. I think you will see others just like it now that you have inspired us all!
2/23/13 10:43 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, yeah! Love this with the contrast...very classy and I agree with everyone else, you are setting a trend here! I agree, the neckline needs to be lowered a bit and I will do likewise if I make this one again...super job!
2/23/13 11:00 PM
Eva Suzanne said...
Very chic!
2/24/13 2:23 AM
Fran G said...
Love your dress,,so chic! Any sizing suggestions?
2/24/13 7:08 AM
CissieW said...
This is a close fitting dress, so you might want to go down a size depending on the stretch factor of your fabric.
2/24/13 8:08 AM
becca a said...
Both dresses are gorgeous!
2/24/13 10:49 AM
1SewSweet said...
OMG I too am jumping on your bandwagon here! Love this and please don't be surprised when you see more of these! GREAT JOB!
2/24/13 12:36 PM
grays08 said...
I simply love this - so classic! I've got to sew mine up, just haven't made it yet. Thanks for inspiring as always! : )
2/24/13 8:24 PM
LauraHarkawik said...
This has been on my list - I absolutely LOVE how you did this - never thought about color blocking it, beautiful job!
2/24/13 11:51 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I keep seeing this pattern made up and it is next on my list. Love both of your versions.
2/27/13 6:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Liberty Shirt
photo
Review by Peggy L on 3/24/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Seashore Sundress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Au Bonheur des Petites Mains PL000001
photo
Review by sfshaza on 1/26/11
Read Review

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3842 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3842 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8962 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8962 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us