SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8742 (Misses' Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 537 times 
Reviewed by:CissieW
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CissieWstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 1/21/07
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 163
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/13 11:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mimi g. said...
I love this! thanks for the inspiration I may just need to pull this out ;-)
2/23/13 12:15 PM
SewWil said...
Classic black and white with a modern twist. I love it! You may be inspiring a few of us with this dress.
2/23/13 12:31 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Brilliant! Removing the sleeves opens a world of options and using contrasting colors appears to be very slimming.
2/23/13 1:14 PM
Gecko said...
I love your color combo- great idea and great dress!
2/23/13 1:21 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
How incredibly clever! Mind if I copy you again? :)
2/23/13 2:09 PM
mmcp said...
This looks beautiful, I can't tell if it's navy or black and white, but it is so elegant. About to start this dress, thank you so much for the neck adjustment suggestion.
2/23/13 4:40 PM
Pink Hollybush Designs said...
I am going to have to put this one on the "to make" list as well! I never would have tried this if I hadn't seen it made up on you. I tried the Donna Karen cowl neck dress based on your recommendation and it is one of my favorites so I will give this one a try as well! Thanks so much for the inspiration! Lisa
2/23/13 8:00 PM
AndreaSews said...
Very beautiful, classic color combo. I think you will see others just like it now that you have inspired us all!
2/23/13 10:43 PM
ArtAttack said...
Oh, yeah! Love this with the contrast...very classy and I agree with everyone else, you are setting a trend here! I agree, the neckline needs to be lowered a bit and I will do likewise if I make this one again...super job!
2/23/13 11:00 PM
Eva Suzanne said...
Very chic!
2/24/13 2:23 AM
Fran G said...
Love your dress,,so chic! Any sizing suggestions?
2/24/13 7:08 AM
CissieW said...
This is a close fitting dress, so you might want to go down a size depending on the stretch factor of your fabric.
2/24/13 8:08 AM
becca a said...
Both dresses are gorgeous!
2/24/13 10:49 AM
1SewSweet said...
OMG I too am jumping on your bandwagon here! Love this and please don't be surprised when you see more of these! GREAT JOB!
2/24/13 12:36 PM
grays08 said...
I simply love this - so classic! I've got to sew mine up, just haven't made it yet. Thanks for inspiring as always! : )
2/24/13 8:24 PM
LauraHarkawik said...
This has been on my list - I absolutely LOVE how you did this - never thought about color blocking it, beautiful job!
2/24/13 11:51 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I keep seeing this pattern made up and it is next on my list. Love both of your versions.
2/27/13 6:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now