Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 519 (Swing Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1759 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:petra
photo
Friend of PR
About petrastarstar
NH USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/20/05 9:20 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Hmmm, interesting review. Given your obvious sewing skills this must the a problem with the pattern. I wouldn't have thought that this type of style would have such problems.
2/20/05 10:49 PM
AnneM said...
Well, "awful" might be an overstatement on the back view, although it certainly isn't as good as the front view!
2/21/05 4:34 AM
CarolynGM said...
The front view looks quite nice, so it's too bad the pattern didn't work for you. As for the back, in addition to the sleeves being too big, it looks like the armholes could be lower. I have sloping shoulders and often have this same problem in back. Have you tried shoulder pads?
2/21/05 6:03 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Thanks for a very informative review. I thought I was the only one who is unimpressed by CJ's patterns. I ended up giving my copy of this coat away after making a muslin that had many of the same issues that you found. -Ann
2/21/05 6:39 AM
Kathryn said...
I have made this jacket twice, once in a sweater knit, which fits beautifully, and which I love, and the second time in a felted wool. I made them both in the same week, with exactly the same pattern, no changes. The sweater knit, as I said, fits beautifully. I wear it quite often, and get tons of compliments on it. The felted wool was a nightmare! The fit was awful through the shoulders and upper sleeves. Turns out that the sleeve cap area was waaay too low for the firmer fabric. As soon as I altered the shape of the top of the sleeve (making it higher and narrower), the fit was much improved, and the altered jacket looked and felt great. So I wouldn't give up on the jacket, especially with the $$$ that you put into the fabric. I agree with Irina, try shoulder pads first, and if that doesn't work, fiddle with recutting the head of the sleeves in a different shape--more of the shape of a set-in sleeve in a jacket. Good luck!
2/21/05 6:55 AM
kellyt said...
Don't give up. I think your jacket has potential! The fabric is very pretty and that color looks great on you! I would definately try shoulder pads and fiddle a little.
2/21/05 8:37 AM
Mojotee said...
2 years later, your review is still helping others. I've carefully noted the problems you described. I just ordered this pattern and your review convinced me to sew a muslin first. Thanks.
2/21/07 4:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Truly Victorian TV-420
photo
Review by Nikki S. on 11/2/10
Read Review

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2921
photo
Review by brissie71 on 7/19/12
Read Review

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5841 Pattern ( Size ONESIZE )
Butterick 5841 Pattern ( Size ONESIZE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us