Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2232 Geoffrey Beene - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 2080 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/05 8:22 PM
Last Updated:2/22/05 5:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarrieA said...
Kay, I love your reviews with all your detailed comments on fit, style and construction. I think your jacket looks beautiful (even though your pics are itty-bitty) and I agree that it's a style that has that artistic flair rather that needs the right attitude to pull off. You pulled yours off with panache! Great review.
2/21/05 9:23 PM
Lilibet said...
Thank you for a very helpful and informative review. I have been looking for a pattern for an interesting, unstructured jacket and did consider this one but I'll keep looking. BTW the pictures are very tiny but what I could see of the colour was lovely, crushed strawberry?
2/21/05 9:38 PM
Tailypo said...
Your review makes for fascinating reading. Do enlarge the images when you get a chance -- I would love to take a closer look. The color is knockout.
2/22/05 1:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great review. Your jacket looks good in the photo. A lot of wearable art sewist have used this pattern for wearable art and the results look good. However one is focusing on the art not the jacket. I love the color of your fabric also.
2/22/05 5:39 AM
CarolynGM said...
Great review Kay. I have this pattern and really wanted to make it. I now know not to mess with it unless I'm prepared to make serious modifications. Yours turned out well, but what a hassle to get there!
2/22/05 5:43 AM
Lisa Laree said...
What great observations about the difference between real couture sewing and the pattern guide! I'll bet you're right...so why does it take a special pattern editor (i.e. Claire Shaeffer) to get the *real* directions to the home sewist, I wonder....
2/22/05 7:33 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Kay, thanks so much for sharing your experiences with this pattern. Your finished product really does look good.
2/22/05 6:22 PM
minieme said...
I bought this pattern not long ago as I fell in love with the hem from side view. Yours look very good. I had doubts about the recommended fabrics, now I know better. I seriously have to think carefully about what to use before I begin. Thanks for the informative review.
2/22/05 6:23 PM
MaryBeth said...
Oooh, I can finally see...wow, nice job. Sorry the outcome of all your work doesn't just make you wild with joy but I appreciate you sharing your impressions...I had looked at the pattern intensely, too, probably because of the designer's name. Glad now that I passed it up.
2/22/05 6:24 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Kay, the jacket looks really really good! IMHO, I think a really big self covered button would look better? Your work is beautiful!
2/22/05 8:02 PM
touran said...
Thanks for the review. I've loved this design for a long time now and your info will be so useful in choosing the right fabric.
2/22/05 9:18 PM
Celeste said...
I think it's absolutely knockout!
2/22/05 10:58 PM
kellyt said...
Kay, I made the long version of this jacket and I agree with everything you said about the pattern and instructions. Thanks for the detail review!
2/22/05 11:29 PM
amadoofus said...
Kay, your review is a work of art! It shows people who are just starting to sew that the Pattern and it's directions are not God! It shows how thoughtful changes translate to improvements, and how we must sometimes modify to fit our own common sense. It also proves that the more we learn, the more thoughtful changes we can make with our projects. I both enjoyed and learned from your sophisticated review.
2/23/05 6:42 AM
Jill Giard said...
Thanks for a great review. The jacket looks great - despite the problematic pattern.
2/23/05 7:11 AM
annsew65 said...
Kay, a very good review of this pattern. We can all learn something about this pattern from your comments! I've had recent misgivings about Vogue's construction details, so I really know where you are coming from on this one. I watched a Sew Much More show with Susan Khalje a couple of years ago using this pattern. She used a matellase bedspread to cut hers from and I must say, I wasn't too impressed with it then. It seemed much too bulky as the fabric had little drape to it. On the pattern envelope, it looks so attractive - such a shame we have to work so hard to come up with something workable after all the time and effort spent on the original design! Your workmanship really shines on this, though! Many would have turned it into a wadder before finally coming up with the winner you have made.
2/23/05 8:11 AM
Mai S said...
I will keep your review in mind if I make this jacket again. Luckily my first attempt at this pattern worked. I avoided the pockets and use a fairly substantial, but drapy, microfiber. Rather than consider it a jacket I see it more as 'top' for a dress. A couple of things I found important. A solid fabric will work better particularly when the jacket starts to swing around as you walk. I also cut on each 'big' piece separately.
2/23/05 11:16 AM
mjrsew said...
Kay, thank you for such a detailed review. I made the long version of this jacket for my daughter---6'1"---130 lbs. I lengthened the sleeves. She looks great in it and likes it. I used an ivory Matelassť---originally intended for a slipcover---I bought it at Britex a few years ago. It has texture but was not heavy. Matelassť can be an actual double cloth or just look like one. I did use the self binding--the fabric was quite stable---however, I cut much wider bias strips than the pattern called for. I agree that the guide sheet leaves something to be desired when explaining the mitering process---I used the technique that I learned from Roberta Carr's book and from Cynthia Guffey. I think one of rhe reasons that people have been frustrated with this pattern is because the photo and line drawings make it look deceptively easy. If I expect to make a garment in 3 hours and it takes seven---I usually blame the pattern, when I should have paid more attention. I did use a single large self covered button becuase I thought it looked funky with no closure. All in all---it turned out beautifully. I'm not sure it would work with a really drapey fabric--it would look limp and the design lines would be lost. Isn't sewing great? Thanks again for the review. Marijo
2/23/05 6:17 PM
carnelian said...
Your choice of color was wonderful! Once when I called the technical help line at Vogue about an obvious difference between the pattern and the photo, they confided to me that the model garment sent over to copy was not the same as the photograph provided. I was sorry to hear it, but it is a call to exercize some of our own judgement on designer patterns. It was a Calvin Klein.
5/29/05 5:09 PM
JaneH said...
Aha, and I thought it was just me when trying to make those pockets!! Those instructions are weird. For a thin fabric, the stitching would show through. (I used a quilted light-weight knit - the fabric has body and drapes nicely.) So, I just attached the flaps and left the inside pockets off. Your jacket looks great!!
7/10/07 12:39 PM
digs57 said...
I like your result very much, even though it admittedly doesn't resemble the pattern photo as much as one would like. However, it's a beautiful jacket nevertheless. I also like the pattern photo - your review gives me an idea on how to re-draft the hems to make the result a better match to the photograph. I just got a lovely light cranberry wool and I think this jacket would make a great starting point for it. Thank you!
12/1/07 2:20 PM
inkstain said...
I too love the colour, and I've eyeballed this pattern for years, loving the elegance of the fabric and dramatic hemline. Funny, other posts are talking about too-low arm scythe on Vogue today, too. But this is an old pattern, relatively, speaking, a "classic" which should be pretty tried and tested by now! Thanks for a careful and useful review.
1/23/08 3:21 AM
inkstain said...
I too love the colour, and I've eyeballed this pattern for years, loving the elegance of the fabric and dramatic hemline. Funny, other posts are talking about too-low arm scythe on Vogue today, too. But this is an old pattern, relatively, speaking, a "classic" which should be pretty tried and tested by now! Thanks for a careful and useful review.
1/23/08 3:21 AM
SJ Kurtz said...
I have this endless flirtation with this pattern, and I never make it up. Your comment on fabric choice (pattern vs designer original) is right on. Also disturbing is photo on pattern is a side view. This remains one of my "just bought it to read it" patterns. Thanks!
10/27/13 7:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4084
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 10/13/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2005
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 5/9/07
Read Review

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us