SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Alexi Top (Alexi Top)

Viewed 333 times 
Reviewed by:PattyE
Friend of PR

About PattyEstarstarstarstar
MI United States
Member since: 9/7/10
Reviews: 135 (patterns: 126)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 74 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/24/13 8:41 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics

Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Irina Grace said... (10/23/15 4:43 PM) Reply
Patty, need your opinion. I am on a lookout for a snaggy turtleneck pattern. Can I make this top from beaded tulle that has little stretch (15%) crosswise. Will I be able to pull it thru my head? Or I need to do some kind of back closure. Thank you a lot. Your turtleneck is beautiful!
PattyE replied...(10/24/15 10:48 AM)
Hi Irina - My opinion is that you would really need to size up and use a back closure too. My size 8 fits perfectly but this fabric has a lot of stretch; I compared it to a silk jersey. If you are familiar with silk jersey you can get an idea of how much stretch that is. You could probably use the pattern as a starting point but would really need to size up to accommodate your fabric. HTH
PattyE said... (2/25/13 11:30 PM) Reply
Thanks all! I think this one's a winner. Jstarr4250 & ArtAttack - isn't that the truth?! Patterns like this are so great to find.
ArtAttack said... (2/25/13 11:59 AM) Reply
Great top and review...super basic addition to your wardrobe...can one ever have too many pieces like this? I think not!
Jstarr4250 said... (2/25/13 11:49 AM) Reply
This is exactly what I need to be sewing...more useful basics. Thanks for ferreting out the good ones!
becca a said... (2/25/13 11:09 AM) Reply
What a great turtleneck! This is such a basic piece, I hadn't thought to order it from StyleArc; now I am very tempted to.
marec said... (2/25/13 9:45 AM) Reply
Thank you for this super review. I have this pattern and need to make up some tops for next year. Your tneck looks very, very nice.
CissieW said... (2/25/13 8:57 AM) Reply
I, too, have been looking for a good t-neck pattern. Thanks for pointing this one out.
SewWil said... (2/25/13 1:26 AM) Reply
Great turtleneck! Thanks for the review.
Lynmarie said... (2/25/13 1:03 AM) Reply
Great top, your looks lovely, thanks for the fabric lay out on 46" width.
SavageCoco said... (2/24/13 11:23 PM) Reply
FAB top! I iron mine on the inside to avoid/reduce any shine.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Pattern Work
Pattern Work

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Pattern Details