Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 09-2003-407 (407) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1634 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/21/05 7:07 PM
Last Updated:3/3/05 8:16 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sherril Miller said...
I've been wanting to sew these pants up since I got that WOF issue. Thank you for reviewing them. Just the push I needed. I think both pants turned out great. Many times the fabric alone will change the sizing. Do you think that the fabric has enough stretch to work without the zipper? Could a fly, a la LH euros be added? How wide is the hem at the size you made?
2/21/05 8:47 PM
MaryBeth said...
Sherril: I can do without the zipper altogether...and I serged my side seams almost straight. There are darts in the waist for fitting. And you're certainly right about the fabric...I'm sitting here in the green ones and they are bagging out something terrible :( I've not done the euros but a fly could certainly be added. The hem width is 20.5" but, ya know, it could be tapered. These are comfortable, not couture! :)
2/21/05 8:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
MaryBeth, both pants look good. The brown are a little more fitting but still look good. Really very helpful review. Is this pattern from the Burda Petite? I use to get the WOF but most of those styles are for, IMHO, for much younger figures.
2/22/05 5:46 AM
Tini said...
MaryBeth, both pairs look great but I'm with you on the invisible zipper in the front. What I have done in these cases is transferring the zipper to the back of the pattern and making a flat front instead. I really love how you dealt with the missing seam allowances
2/22/05 6:16 AM
cindyann said...
Marybeth, you are very, very close to getting a perfect fit on that green pair. Nice! I was wondering about the inv. zip in the front and if it would be comfy when sitting. Thanks for mentioning it. BTW, I "forgot" the same thing on my last Burda pattern too. You saved yours much better than I did.
2/22/05 7:28 AM
SandraB said...
Great job on both pants Mary Beth. The brown one is closer fitting but still looks good. Your hubby sounds like mine. If I followed him, I would dress like a trollop all the time :)
2/22/05 8:10 AM
Debbie Cook said...
MB, Thanks for the review and, as the ad goes ... nice pants! LOL! I had to dig through my Burda mags -- why oh why don't they date the Plus issues on the cover?? But I found it, finally. I'm wondering about the invisible zip ... how does it work out for ... er ... potty breaks? I would think an invis zip doesn't have as much to "hold onto" when you're zipping/unzipping more than once a day. OK, TMI, I know! ;-)
2/22/05 12:25 PM
MaryBeth said...
Debbie: I'm a major potty rusher LOL esp if I drink tea. Invisible zip is fine w/this caveat: position the zip so that the stops are at the fold line, do NOT cut off top like I did in the brown ones. I also prefer running the elastic from the dart (or in brown pant's case) from the stitched crease line, not all the way to the zip edge. There is also a tiny error in the pattern layout: the "strich" should be running across selvedge edge, not along the fold line.
2/22/05 1:10 PM
Georgene said...
Nice documentation on your review, thanks! I hope you get that 3rd pair where you want....I was wondering why you started fussing with a new pattern when your PMB draft fits?
2/23/05 7:10 AM
MaryBeth said...
It's not a pretty story, Georgene. I perfected my pants draft by using PMB's "saved style" feature and then WG issued an new update. A bug in the defaults inside that update overrode the saved styles' settings upon opening the style. Very sad, esp since I hadn't printed out the pattern. But I "know" the shape in my head somewhat and have various versions in the closet.... It's interesting to me to try commercial patterns now to compare the shapes and needed alterations. So, maybe, it's a good thing.
2/23/05 8:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2150 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by seeshellse... on 10/27/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Yoga Girl Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Music Box Jumper Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs 0041 The Tee
photo
Review by Fox51 on 3/22/14
Read Review

New Look 6480 Pattern
New Look 6480 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5733 Pattern ( Size One Size )
Butterick 5733 Pattern ( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us