SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5818 

8 more reviews
Viewed 765 times 
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo

 
 
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/13 8:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
This is fabulous!!! A shower curtain! I love it...great job and brilliant idea.
9/13/13 8:46 PM
sunnysewing said...
It looks great and I'd never guess it was a shower curtain!
9/13/13 8:50 PM
SewWil said...
Proud. You should definitely be proud. Your dress looks wonderful!
9/13/13 8:52 PM
caper81 said...
haha, I think it's funny, the idea of using a shower curtain, but wow, it sure works for this dress! You look so great!! Never know where inspiration will hit!;)
9/13/13 8:53 PM
NancyZL said...
This is great looking on you. Very "Anthropologie" style ! You did a fab job on matching the sides ( a pet peeve of mine). Very creative in a good way!!
9/13/13 9:04 PM
Sew Good said...
Wow! A shower curtain. That's awesome!
9/13/13 9:39 PM
Texahoma said...
OMG! I almost fell out of my chair when I read you made this from a shower curtain! You look like princess Kate Middleton, the fit it perfect and is gorgeous!
9/13/13 9:41 PM
PammyC said...
Beautiful dress, and no worries if you're caught in the rain!
9/13/13 9:48 PM
knitsewmuch said...
Wow! Gorgeous!
9/13/13 10:08 PM
Campbell said...
Amazing! It is absolutely wonderful.
9/13/13 10:31 PM
Puppy said...
I always check out shower curtains and other unorthodox sources of fabric. A lovely outcome with your shower curtain!
9/13/13 10:50 PM
Marie367 said...
A shower curtain? It is gorgeous. I looked at this review to see where you got the fabric. You did a great job and it is a gorgeous dress!
9/13/13 10:57 PM
sew2little said...
You rocked this shower curtain. I remember Marec once made a great blouse out of a curtain; this equals her achievement. GREAT dress!
9/13/13 11:35 PM
STARG said...
Absolutely fabulous! I love it when up cycling makes something great! Fantastic dress!
9/13/13 11:36 PM
margy.64 said...
Wow, I can't believe you made this gorgeous dress from a shower curtain. That is really thinking outside the square. You have achieved a perfect fit and the pattern placement is fantastic. I am in awe.
9/13/13 11:48 PM
SewLibra said...
Great work from a shower curtain! I will have to remember to check out shower curtains for fabric when I shop! You are lucky to have a figure that can carry off such a large print. Many of us cannot do that...at least not anymore. :-(
9/14/13 0:37 AM
sewpelican said...
Lovely "shower curtain" dress, fabulous print! Reminds me of the type of dress I used to wear in my 20s, sooo long ago.
9/14/13 5:06 AM
1SewSweet said...
I agree with everyone here, great dress and idea too! It looks stunning on you!
9/14/13 6:10 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
Wow, this is fantastic. The fit, fabric...all is spot on.
9/14/13 8:10 AM
Dianne22 said...
What a great dress and very clever to use a shower curtain. One never knows where inspiration will strike! Good job fitting and matching, too.
9/14/13 8:25 AM
grey ann said...
You look stunning! Fabulous dress, and perfect use of the large print. Bravo.
9/14/13 8:31 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Seriously...a shower curtain??!! I love the way you think! This turned out beautifully and I think it's safe to say no one would guess that in a million years. Just beautiful.... I thought I was through buying sheath patterns but the neckline on this one is too cute to resist. Thanks for the great inspiration.
9/14/13 8:41 AM
chenille said...
You did a fantastic job with the print placement. Outstanding!
9/14/13 8:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is a gorgeous dress! You were very creative in using a shower curtain and to make the placements on the fabric perfect! Great job! I have this pattern and made a dress sometime ago but you have inspired me to pull this one out and give it a go again.
9/14/13 8:58 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thank you so much for all your kind comments! I do love this dress and wear it often. Luckily no weird reactions so far HAHA. It fits me well and I've been considering a second version in black dupioni for officiating weddings. I think on future versions, I'll change the back slit to a vent, but given my fabric restrictions, it wasn't really an option for this one.
9/14/13 9:13 AM
mnitts said...
Wow. Gorgeous and imaginative! Lovely.
9/14/13 10:06 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Oh, I love your dress and made from a shower curtain? Brilliant!!!! Well done!
9/14/13 10:19 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Your dress is stunning & the print placement could not be more perfect!
9/14/13 11:51 AM
carnelian said...
Wonderful placement of your floral print! Your face and neck look like the tallest flower in the bouquet.
9/14/13 1:09 PM
carolynw said...
I love your dress - hours you spent agonizing about placement were well spent as I do not think the motif could be better placed. I smiled at the fct that this is from a shower curtain and you should be so proud of seeing the possibilities in that.
9/14/13 2:45 PM
cindyann said...
Outstanding!
9/14/13 2:47 PM
slmstyle said...
Great shower curtain dress! Congrats on a job well done & for thinking outside of the box!
9/14/13 4:41 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very beautiful! I love the placement of the print!
9/14/13 9:53 PM
becca a said...
I love that you used a shower curtain for this! Your dress is beautiful, and I love the placement of the large motif.
9/15/13 11:49 AM
Judy Kski said...
What a great find at Marshall's and ultimately a beautifully fitting dress for you.
9/16/13 9:49 AM
Kohl said...
fabric pattern placement came out great! Very clever and it looks good.
9/16/13 12:04 PM
HRigg said...
Just fantastic!
9/16/13 1:06 PM
o3b said...
Fabulous job, and what a great print placement.
9/19/13 4:06 PM
sewnotwork said...
Shower curtain? Awesome dress. I would call that a win!!
9/27/13 2:41 AM
HolleyM said...
I think you're ready for Project Runway, with the unusual materials challenge! Be proud you were creative enough to see a dress in a shower curtain and use sheets to line it! Thanks for the info on how to line it, also.
9/29/13 0:06 AM
ak21 said...
dear me, how on earth did i miss this post - sensational dress!! :)
5/18/14 1:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 5094

photo
by: kealoha

Review
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now