SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5818 

8 more reviews
Viewed 758 times 
Reviewed by:prostheticsgirl
photo

 
 
About prostheticsgirlstar
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/12
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/13 8:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
This is fabulous!!! A shower curtain! I love it...great job and brilliant idea.
9/13/13 8:46 PM
sunnysewing said...
It looks great and I'd never guess it was a shower curtain!
9/13/13 8:50 PM
SewWil said...
Proud. You should definitely be proud. Your dress looks wonderful!
9/13/13 8:52 PM
caper81 said...
haha, I think it's funny, the idea of using a shower curtain, but wow, it sure works for this dress! You look so great!! Never know where inspiration will hit!;)
9/13/13 8:53 PM
NancyZL said...
This is great looking on you. Very "Anthropologie" style ! You did a fab job on matching the sides ( a pet peeve of mine). Very creative in a good way!!
9/13/13 9:04 PM
Sew Good said...
Wow! A shower curtain. That's awesome!
9/13/13 9:39 PM
Texahoma said...
OMG! I almost fell out of my chair when I read you made this from a shower curtain! You look like princess Kate Middleton, the fit it perfect and is gorgeous!
9/13/13 9:41 PM
PammyC said...
Beautiful dress, and no worries if you're caught in the rain!
9/13/13 9:48 PM
knitsewmuch said...
Wow! Gorgeous!
9/13/13 10:08 PM
Campbell said...
Amazing! It is absolutely wonderful.
9/13/13 10:31 PM
Puppy said...
I always check out shower curtains and other unorthodox sources of fabric. A lovely outcome with your shower curtain!
9/13/13 10:50 PM
Marie367 said...
A shower curtain? It is gorgeous. I looked at this review to see where you got the fabric. You did a great job and it is a gorgeous dress!
9/13/13 10:57 PM
sew2little said...
You rocked this shower curtain. I remember Marec once made a great blouse out of a curtain; this equals her achievement. GREAT dress!
9/13/13 11:35 PM
STARG said...
Absolutely fabulous! I love it when up cycling makes something great! Fantastic dress!
9/13/13 11:36 PM
margy.64 said...
Wow, I can't believe you made this gorgeous dress from a shower curtain. That is really thinking outside the square. You have achieved a perfect fit and the pattern placement is fantastic. I am in awe.
9/13/13 11:48 PM
SewLibra said...
Great work from a shower curtain! I will have to remember to check out shower curtains for fabric when I shop! You are lucky to have a figure that can carry off such a large print. Many of us cannot do that...at least not anymore. :-(
9/14/13 0:37 AM
sewpelican said...
Lovely "shower curtain" dress, fabulous print! Reminds me of the type of dress I used to wear in my 20s, sooo long ago.
9/14/13 5:06 AM
1SewSweet said...
I agree with everyone here, great dress and idea too! It looks stunning on you!
9/14/13 6:10 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
Wow, this is fantastic. The fit, fabric...all is spot on.
9/14/13 8:10 AM
Dianne22 said...
What a great dress and very clever to use a shower curtain. One never knows where inspiration will strike! Good job fitting and matching, too.
9/14/13 8:25 AM
grey ann said...
You look stunning! Fabulous dress, and perfect use of the large print. Bravo.
9/14/13 8:31 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Seriously...a shower curtain??!! I love the way you think! This turned out beautifully and I think it's safe to say no one would guess that in a million years. Just beautiful.... I thought I was through buying sheath patterns but the neckline on this one is too cute to resist. Thanks for the great inspiration.
9/14/13 8:41 AM
chenille said...
You did a fantastic job with the print placement. Outstanding!
9/14/13 8:51 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is a gorgeous dress! You were very creative in using a shower curtain and to make the placements on the fabric perfect! Great job! I have this pattern and made a dress sometime ago but you have inspired me to pull this one out and give it a go again.
9/14/13 8:58 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Thank you so much for all your kind comments! I do love this dress and wear it often. Luckily no weird reactions so far HAHA. It fits me well and I've been considering a second version in black dupioni for officiating weddings. I think on future versions, I'll change the back slit to a vent, but given my fabric restrictions, it wasn't really an option for this one.
9/14/13 9:13 AM
mnitts said...
Wow. Gorgeous and imaginative! Lovely.
9/14/13 10:06 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Oh, I love your dress and made from a shower curtain? Brilliant!!!! Well done!
9/14/13 10:19 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Your dress is stunning & the print placement could not be more perfect!
9/14/13 11:51 AM
carnelian said...
Wonderful placement of your floral print! Your face and neck look like the tallest flower in the bouquet.
9/14/13 1:09 PM
carolynw said...
I love your dress - hours you spent agonizing about placement were well spent as I do not think the motif could be better placed. I smiled at the fct that this is from a shower curtain and you should be so proud of seeing the possibilities in that.
9/14/13 2:45 PM
cindyann said...
Outstanding!
9/14/13 2:47 PM
slmstyle said...
Great shower curtain dress! Congrats on a job well done & for thinking outside of the box!
9/14/13 4:41 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very beautiful! I love the placement of the print!
9/14/13 9:53 PM
becca a said...
I love that you used a shower curtain for this! Your dress is beautiful, and I love the placement of the large motif.
9/15/13 11:49 AM
Judy Kski said...
What a great find at Marshall's and ultimately a beautifully fitting dress for you.
9/16/13 9:49 AM
Kohl said...
fabric pattern placement came out great! Very clever and it looks good.
9/16/13 12:04 PM
HRigg said...
Just fantastic!
9/16/13 1:06 PM
o3b said...
Fabulous job, and what a great print placement.
9/19/13 4:06 PM
sewnotwork said...
Shower curtain? Awesome dress. I would call that a win!!
9/27/13 2:41 AM
HolleyM said...
I think you're ready for Project Runway, with the unusual materials challenge! Be proud you were creative enough to see a dress in a shower curtain and use sheets to line it! Thanks for the info on how to line it, also.
9/29/13 0:06 AM
ak21 said...
dear me, how on earth did i miss this post - sensational dress!! :)
5/18/14 1:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2010-114

photo
by: Lena Merri...

Review
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-22

photo
by: aaltje

Review