Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2556 (Misses Vests with Separate Patterns for B,C,D Cups: Project ) thumbsup - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 318 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:WinterQueen
photo
About WinterQueenstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/27/12
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/1/13 9:14 AM
Last Updated:12/4/13 12:22 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2556 by WinterQueen

Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2556
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Vests    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
For those of you that have already seen this review, I apologise. When I first published this I didn't have any photos of me wearing it, so I decided to give it an update with the photos on my blog!
Click here

Pattern Description:
Vest/waistcoat with various design options.

Pattern Sizing:
4-12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Absolutely yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, the instructions were detailed, clear and easy to follow. I had no issues at all.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I liked that it was easy to construct and the mix and match pattern pieces but I disliked the bodice back yoke was not lined like the rest of the vest.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
As mentioned before, the back bodice yoke was not lined. It just said to hem the edges. To me, vests are meant to be completely lined so I cut 2 yokes out instead of just one, then with right sides together I stitched both side edges of both yoke pieces, turned it through (as the top and bottom are still open) and then continued to sew the yoke as one piece as per the pattern instructions. It looks so much neater and feels more substantial lined.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes would sew again and definitely recommend to others.

Conclusion:
This is such a versatile vest and the mix and match pattern pieces give so many options. Its not just your average style vest pattern. I used the exact same trim as the pattern picture because I loved it so much and the trim definitely finishes the vest off. However I did find that despite cutting out and making up to my size, it came up too big so I had to take in the princess seams on the front. I still had to lap it over a little more which made my button off centre, so I have since added another button so it looks symmetrical.

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
karen n said...
Thanks for the cup size note. Looks great. I'm looking forward to making this best too
3/11/13 9:06 PM
CamilleMalaena said...
What fabric did you use for the yoke back? On the envelope it looks like it's (p)leather?
3/15/13 5:13 PM
WinterQueen said...
I am so sorry camille I have only just seen your comment!! I used a liquid satin for the yoke back x
11/20/13 6:19 PM
cabinbaby said...
I love this pattern. I may need to make this.
12/4/13 3:41 PM
caper81 said...
Looks great!:)
12/4/13 5:15 PM
LizJaneB said...
Gorgeous! Love this.
12/6/13 7:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Vogue Patterns 2429 A-line Dress
photo
Review by ladybegood on 1/21/08
Read Review

Mini Miranda Bag
Mini Miranda Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4076
photo
Review by SueV on 5/27/09
Read Review

Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8970 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3976 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3976 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us