SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4070 

39 more reviews
Review submitted in RTW/Designer Knockoff Contest Contest
Viewed 380 times 
Reviewed by:colormefun
photo

 
 
About colormefunstar
FL USA
Member since: 11/30/06
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/13 11:47 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
geraldine said...
I can't believe you painted the fabric yourself- awesome!
3/1/13 2:52 AM
aleah42 said...
Wow, amazing job making your own perfect textile! You nailed this look!
3/1/13 3:16 AM
jlg said...
What a fantastic dress. Even more fantastic when I read how you made it.
3/1/13 5:27 AM
Amiejean said...
Wow, I am impressed. I would never thought to paint fabric like you did. You managed to copy and yet be creative at the same time. I like your fabric better. And you look very cute in it. I don't think it looks like you've made mistakes. Great job!
3/1/13 5:32 AM
KathleenS said...
Wow, you painted the fabric yourself! It makes sense - I hadn't got as far as wondering how you managed to get a fabric that was so similar. The dress fits you really well and it certainly doesn't look like it gave you trouble.
3/1/13 5:34 AM
annakeeton said...
This is a gorgeous dress and the hand painting looks amazing.
3/1/13 6:48 AM
caper81 said...
That is really awesome! I too was wondering (before reading your review) how you managed to find fabric so similar to the inspiration dress. I love the style, and you sure did a fantastic job at painting your fabric. :)
3/1/13 7:49 AM
Quickie said...
Absolutely fantastic idea to paint your own fabric
3/1/13 9:36 AM
slmstyle said...
Great knockoff of Valentino! The painted fabric is really wonderfully done. I love it!
3/1/13 11:11 AM
materialgirl1950 said...
You did a fabulous job on this project!
3/1/13 11:25 AM
colormefun said...
Thanks! I added a little section detailing more about the painting in case anyone was curious and wanted to try it themselves.
3/1/13 12:29 PM
Terri A said...
It's simply amazing that you painted the fabric. Perfect summery dress!!!
3/1/13 2:35 PM
magpie57 said...
What a great little dress! Every once in a while we should all do something totally out of our comfort zone and this seems to have done that for you. Great job with the painting, I never would have guessed that the fabric did not come just that way. And it looks adorable on you!
3/1/13 3:35 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
I love that you hand painted it! Nice to know that you won't meet anyone on the street wearing your same dress :D
3/1/13 5:49 PM
butterflyfly said...
Wow! I never thought anybody would recreate this dress (the fabric!) That's so clever of you to paint the fabric! Great knock off!
3/1/13 5:57 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
What a clever idea! Bonus points for creativity. A beautiful dress.
3/1/13 9:55 PM
karen n said...
I was wondering how you found fabric like that! Great idea to paint!
3/2/13 0:14 AM
carrie18584 said...
The fabric is simply stunning - amazing job! Your knock-off is spot-on! I love it and want one!
3/6/13 10:00 AM
sooolution said...
Cool!
3/8/13 9:50 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Very Cute! How clever of you!!
5/9/13 3:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Lutterloh 2005-14

photo
by: Mufffet

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now