Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8876 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1121 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:valerie sews
photo
About valerie sewsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/1/03
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/13 5:05 AM
Last Updated:1/7/14 3:12 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8876 by valerie sews

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8876
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton - Quilting  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: From the envelope: Loose fitting dress has collar with casing (for drawstring), yokes, (back yoke is self lined) princess seams, side pockets, back pleat and hem band. Variations include self lined cap sleeves, long sleeves, front zipper. I did view A with the buttons but without the cap sleeves.

Pattern Sizing:8 to 16 or 16 to 24.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes,pretty much.

Were the instructions easy to follow?:Yes they are good.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?I really liked the look of this pattern from the first moment I saw it. Quite frankly it is unique. I do have an issue with it being rated 'easy'. This pattern is quite a fiddle, has a lot of pieces and is time consuming. I am not saying that a beginner could not do it, I am just saying it is no walk in the park.

Fabric Used:A unique fabric for a unique design. Genuine traditional Japanese quilting cotton usually used as backing but too pretty for that in a medium weight, bought at a craft fair some years ago.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I had some minor fitting issues. Although this pattern is loose fitting as described I found it quite snug through the shoulders and bust. I do have wide shoulders but I have never had to do an FBA. Luckily I had left side seams one size bigger and could let it out a little. The dress flares out just under bust level, both front and back.
At the neckline I did my usual back neck alteration of cutting the centre back neckline 1/2 a cm lower, basically scooping it out and tapering to nothing at the sides of the neck. I also took a bit of ease out of the front princess seam at the neckline to correct some gaping, so the collar was the right length after all. The drafting of the collar is genius. I left off the casing and drawstring because I love playing with all the various ways the collar can lie. I did not interface it. My material was firm and I have just the right amount of floppiness.
Due to fabric constraints I did not do the hem band self lining. My dress has enough body without it and I suspect it would have been too stiff if I had lined it.
I made a mistake when cutting out the front hem band pieces. For some reason I cut them out along the CF line. My front pieces were too short. I had just enough scrap material to make two panels that mimicked the grain of the centre front panels on the body of the dress and it added a visual continuity that my dress needed. Happy save!
This pattern is short, ending above knee on the model in the pictures. I left it as is and ended up with a slightly below knee dress but I am short so if you don't like the idea of it ending above the knee or are tall add some length.
My cutting layout was a real squeeze and I had not cut on any notches. (Note to self: make life easier and include them next time). I was surprised that the long curve of the hem band was the edge that is sewn onto the main pieces of the dress. I had to double check to make sure this is so. It is. It gives it a cupping effect that is quite intriguing. The dress also hangs longer on the back than the front, almost like a frock coat. I don't know if it is meant to or if it is just the way it is on me but I like it. I like the eccentricity of it.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?Yes and yes. An interesting summer dress or an interesting piece to make with sleeves for cooler weather. More on my Blog here

Conclusion: My material may be a bit busy for this design, but this pattern has definite possibilities.

As there is renewed interest in this pattern I have edited it to repair the broken photo link.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
I can't see your pictures and I really want to. Lovely dress.
3/3/13 6:32 AM
valerie sews said...
Thanks billie Jean. I've fixed it I think.
3/3/13 7:26 AM
annie1129 said...
Love it!
3/3/13 9:12 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Very interesteding dress! I really like your fabric!
3/3/13 9:34 AM
DOMESTICATEDMENNONITE said...
Really like this, was waiting to see it made up.
3/3/13 9:46 AM
Amiejean said...
I also have this on my lineup for spring/summer. Thanks for the great review. It looks great on you.
3/3/13 2:49 PM
Rebecca D said...
I am thrilled to see the first review of this dress. What a pretty frock you have there. Thanks for the tips on sizing, it's always the curious part of any Marcy Tilton pattern. Can't wait to see other versions.
3/4/13 7:00 AM
Margaret said...
Very pretty dress -- I think it looks great in this fabric!
3/4/13 1:29 PM
Marge99 said...
This pattern is definitely going to end up in my stash at some point. Nice to see it made up.
3/5/13 7:15 PM
valerie sews said...
Thanks ladies. I hope to see some of your versions soon!
3/6/13 1:41 AM
astrope said...
Great pattern. Great fabric. Thanks for such a good review.
3/8/13 5:11 PM
meadowclark said...
Hoping to give this a go. Still contemplating fabric. Thank you for the review.
3/10/13 10:12 PM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for the review. This is next in my queue. I cannot connect to your pictures, but perhaps I can see the pix on your blog.
3/11/13 11:34 PM
marec said...
It is so lovely-I just ordered the pattern.
3/12/13 12:36 PM
marjenann said...
One word "wow"! You really did this pattern justice! I love your dres!!
3/14/13 11:01 AM
Athene said...
Love both dresses and really enjoyed your blog. Thank you for reviewing this pattern. You look lovely in both versions.
3/30/13 3:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 3788 easy tank tops
photo
Review by onebyone on 8/26/10
Read Review

Butterick 5901 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
Butterick 5901 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6008 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 6008 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

LJ Designs 791 Sassy Jacket
photo
Review by Patti B on 3/1/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us