SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2011-108 (knit shirt dress)

Viewed 183 times 
Reviewed by:Elizabeth made this
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elizabeth made thisstarstar
Member since: 8/8/07
Reviews: 113 (patterns: 110)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/5/13 11:39 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said... (3/6/13 1:06 PM) Reply
That is one very stylish dress!
Elizabeth made this said... (3/6/13 1:02 PM) Reply
I went with my usual 32 in the neck and shoulders and 34 everywhere else. If you look at the line drawing, it's completely boxy--to fix it you'd either have to eliminate the back pleat or reshape the side seams.
Danvillegirl said... (3/6/13 5:33 AM) Reply
That fabric is truly perfect for this dress!
mmcp said... (3/5/13 8:07 PM) Reply
It's a really pretty dress--so frustrating when you're not happy and it's so beautifully made! Maybe next time go with a slim slip if it's too sheer? Anyway, I love the pattern on the fabic, and don't think it looks like you're all washed out from the photo, but maybe a scarf at the neck would help if you don't feel it's flattering...
style inspired said... (3/5/13 7:58 PM) Reply
Lovely version. did you make the size according to your measurements or go smaller? I'm asking because my mother made this dress for me as I loved it so much, but was surprised at how shapeless it is when finished. I wear it with a narrow belt. I think the looseness of the dress is a reason why they show it with a wide belt.
Speech girl said... (3/5/13 5:13 PM) Reply
Your dress looks lovely. Thanks for the review.
michellep74 said... (3/5/13 2:18 PM) Reply
Very cute dress! I love the idea of a knit shirtdress!
julibchickadee said... (3/5/13 12:43 PM) Reply
This is really cute! I remember seeing this fabric over on Hart's Fabric awhile ago. I really love how you placed the print on the dress - its very flattering! :-)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

New Look 6802

photo
by: Mazzygirl

Review
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details