Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2067 (Misses Costume) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 70 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Lydster
photo
About Lydster
Member since: 1/22/11
Reviews written: 1
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/9/13 11:14 AM
Last Updated:11/9/13 11:22 AM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2067 by Lydster

Simplicity: 2067 by Lydster  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2067
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Satin  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
The pattern contains a corset, a tutu, a shrug and a pair of leggings, of which I made view A. The corset is very lightly boned and laced in the back. The tutu is made of two heavily gathered layers of tulle and has an additional ring of boning in the lining to keep the tutu up, but in the photo it's not inserted yet, so the tutu sags a bit. I also haven't added any embellishments so far.

I made some changes to the corset: As opposed to interfacing the corset lining and sewing the boning channels onto it, i used a heavier fabric as an interlining and sewed the the channels onto that. I also used traditional steel boning instead of that "covered featherweight" plastic boning stuff - I don't rely on plastic boning too much, and on top of that I simply didn't know where to get it. As you can see in the picture of the back, I also laced the corset in the traditional way so I can put it on and tighten it more easily.

The tutu is really a thing: you cut the pattern piece from the tulle 16 (!) times and then stitch eight at a time together, creating two tulle rings of around 8 metres circumference each in total. Gather it up, and it's basically just a huge tully mess of fabric. Patience is definitely required. Thanks to all this, the tutu is extremely fluffy even without the boning.

All in all, despite the alterations that should be made to the corset, I really like the things that can be made with this pattern, it makes it very versatile for a variety of costumes, like the flamingo costume I'm making. I really recommend it as a basic pattern for all your costume ideas.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
2 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pj3g said...
Really looks impressive! You did a great job!
11/10/13 8:19 AM
Jeffer said...
Very cute! I bet gathering that much tulle was quite a chore :). Is the costume finished as is, or will you be adding something to it?
11/10/13 11:37 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 4118 Hand Bags
photo
Review by annakeeton on 11/13/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 307707-1000
photo
Review by dalachin on 3/29/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1873 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1873 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6716 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6716 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us