Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Angela Wolf: 4200 ( The Angel Bootcut Jean) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 1484 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:knitstitcher
photo
Friend of PR
About knitstitcherstar
NC
Member since: 8/17/10
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/6/13 5:15 PM
Last Updated:11/29/13 7:29 PM
Project Photo:Angela Wolf: 4200 by knitstitcher

Pattern Photo:Angela Wolf 4200
Angela Wolf Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $24.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Stretch Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Jeans

Pattern Sizing:0-16. I used size 8.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Were they ever! Angela makes this a no brainier. The instructions are written in a really nice spiral bound booklet. She even offers a free PDF with the pattern. I didn't use the PDF, I had purchased her "Make your own Jeans" video which offers a ton of tips. I also took her on line fitting class and used this pattern to work on.
She includes several very useful tips throughout the instructions. I even bought myself a pink hammer just for this project!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
There are so many useful tips in this pattern. She shows you how to insert the zipper and fly front in very easy to follow steps so if you have never worked with a fly front it is easy as pie. I've worked with other patterns that have you doing twice as many steps. All unnecessary. Angela combines steps to save time, and really, it's twice as simple.
She also has you put stay tape in the waistband to keep it from stretching out as you wear the jeans. No more stretched out waistband after wearing these for an hour. I have worn these several times and put them through the test and I must say....I really love this idea. I don't have to wear a belt to keep my pants on!! The pocket facing is also done more like RTW and I really like this application too.
Dislike??? well.....if I had to dislike something it would be the rise, but that's more of a personal preference. I'll lower it next time.
Fabric Used:
Stretch dark (almost black) denim bought at a local fabric store.
I used a jean top stitching thread in white and used my triple stitch for topstitching. This looks very RTW.
For the front pocket lining I used a yellow crepe back satin left over in my stash and I also had some heavy cotton print that I used for the waistband facing and fly front.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Well....like I said I took the on line class on PR that Angela offered. So I did make some alterations, not necessarily changes. The alterations I made were to fit the pattern to my specific body type, you know...get rid of drag lines and gaps. As for actual changes.... the rise of the jean sits a little higher than I like. And I didn't realize this until I had gotten to the final fitting stage. So I ended up cutting the waistband in half (which cut off about an inch) to lower it a bit. They fit perfect now so the next time I make these (and there will be more!) I will lower the rise about 1 1/2 to 2 inches. this pattern has a wide waistband (a 2 button band) and I really love the wide band so I will keep it wide for future pants.
Also...I think my back pockets are a little too far apart. Next time I'll move them closer to the center back seam.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
OH YES and yes.
I have plans for a linen pair for the summer months.

Conclusion:
This is my first time writing a review so I hope all my pictures come through.
These jeans are so simple to make. If you have never made jeans and want to or if you are intimidated by the process I highly recommend this pattern. She really walks you through the process and makes it all so easy. And having the PDF and video really helps.
Edited:
I can't seem to figure out how to link my photos to this review.
Sorry for the inconvenience.


Buy this pattern for $24.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
caper81 said...
Great-looking jeans! :) You said picture(s) but I only see the back view. I would love to see the front as well :) I put Angela's Jeans-making DVD on my B-Day wish-list, so hopefully will be sewing some of my own in the near future. Congrats on your first review :) **Your jeans look terrific from the front :) Thanks for including the link!
3/6/13 5:57 PM
grays08 said...
Great pair of jeans and great review. You are making me want to sew up a pair!
3/6/13 5:59 PM
knitstitcher said...
Sorry Friends....I can't seem to get my photos linked. I'm working on it... :/ I just added a link. So if you open it, it will bring you to flicker and my photos are there.
3/6/13 6:16 PM
Bestyears said...
Wow! Those are crazy good!!! Look like you scooped 'em up from a local boutique for $100+!
3/6/13 7:04 PM
canei said...
They look very nice and very expensive. Great job!!!
3/6/13 7:53 PM
SewWil said...
Your jeans look great! Thanks for the review.
3/6/13 8:44 PM
meggipeg said...
These are very impressive. I love the topstitching. I'm going to use that triple stitch idea on my next pair of jeans!
3/6/13 8:51 PM
Lori V said...
Your jeans look amazing. Very RTW and a great fit.
3/6/13 8:54 PM
margy.64 said...
Fantastic looking jeans. Great fit and really neat topstitching
3/6/13 8:58 PM
marymary86 said...
You look great! I'd like to get the class just to learn how to do the fly zipper. Thanks for all the details in your review.
3/6/13 9:12 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Love your jeans! I am so glad to see this review.
3/6/13 9:14 PM
BlueSkysAhead said...
amazing fit and style. great job.
3/6/13 9:17 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful jeans - your topstitching is perfection! Great first review...thank you!
3/6/13 10:05 PM
Erin D said...
Your jeans look really professional. Great work!
3/6/13 10:18 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Fantastic job!! Great fit, and I especially love your top stitching. Good tip about the triple stitch, it really makes them look RW. Thanks.....
3/6/13 10:45 PM
PattyGee said...
Your jeans are fantastic and the topstitching, wow! Thanks for the great review!
3/7/13 0:26 AM
Scheri said...
They look great on you. I have this pattern but not enough courage to try making a pair. Very detailed and helpful review.
3/7/13 0:50 AM
Karine said...
Your jeans are amazing - so RTW! Great fit too. Can't wait to see them in linen!
3/7/13 10:06 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Great fitting jeans!!!!
3/7/13 11:04 AM
redrosie said...
great work! the jeans look great. i've been quite intimidated by the thought of making jeans. your review is inspiring.
3/7/13 11:28 AM
1SewSweet said...
I've made a few pair of jeans but they were the Jalie Jean. Based on this REALLY NIC pair you've made, I need to take a look at trying this pattern too! I love both the front and back of your designs! Great job!
3/7/13 5:57 PM
1SewSweet said...
...BTW, congratulations on your first review!
3/7/13 5:58 PM
redrockcity said...
Those look great! Congratulations!
3/8/13 8:03 AM
tesapie said...
They look amazing!
3/9/13 0:21 AM
KG2 said...
Wow! Great job! your top stitching looks really RTW. I will have to try triple stitch!
3/9/13 9:01 PM
Sewnla said...
What beautiful jeans and a nicely written review. Thanks for taking the time to let us know how great Angela's pattern is.
3/11/13 9:49 AM
Susan C said...
Your jeans look fantastic! Thanks for the review. I've been hoping someone would do a review with pictures.
3/24/13 2:24 PM
ceejayem said...
An excellent review and a really professional result - makes this pattern/class very tempting. Congratulations
6/5/13 3:11 AM
ceejayem said...
An excellent review and a really professional result - makes this pattern/class very tempting. Congratulations
6/5/13 3:11 AM
Mimi O said...
Very nice looking jeans and wonderful review! Would love to see your other pics but cut and pasting your link didn't work. Hopefully a new link will be added soon. Great Job!
10/19/13 8:02 AM
TJSEWS said...
Love your jeans. They look ready to wear - job well done! And thank you for the thorough review.
11/16/13 9:41 PM
Jrhee said...
Gorgeous jeans! I must try this pattern one of these days.
11/29/13 7:32 PM
LlanoGirl said...
These jeans are great!! I am intimidated by the idea of making jeans - the class is obviously very good because I have seen some great results. Thanks for the review!
11/29/13 7:38 PM
eleda said...
Great looking jeans. And, you did a great job reviewing this pattern. To help with posting photos, the Slapdash Sewist has an article with pictures on her blog. The article is, "Pattern Review Photo Posting". Here is the URL, http://theslapdashsewist.blogspot.com/2011/07/pattern-review-photo-posting.html In the PR Newsletter there is an article that is helpful, "Adding photos to your reviews". Here is the link to that article. http://sewing.patternreview.com/letter/092002 HTH
11/29/13 8:17 PM
knitstitcher said...
Eleda, thanks for the tip. I was trying to fix and add more photos last night ....as you can see it didn't quite work.
11/30/13 11:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Self Drafted Pattern 295008-1002
photo
Review by sunnysewin... on 11/20/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5251
photo
Review by Knitters D... on 8/14/11
Read Review

McCalls 5494 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 5494 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6847 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
McCalls 6847 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us