SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Duvet Cover (Marbled Gecko)

3 more reviews
Viewed 154 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 229
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/8/13 3:05 AM
Last Updated:3/8/13 3:08 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JETrinity said...
You did great. Love geckos. Escher did a famous tessellation on geckos in 1943 called “Reptiles”. Check it out.
3/9/13 3:23 PM
Margaret said...
This is lovely! All of the details are just wonderful... brilliant idea using the batik pattern for the main gecko's eyes, and I love how the colors stand out in all the mini-geckos!
3/9/13 3:21 PM
Izzie said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
3/9/13 9:53 AM
newmama said...
Wow! This is truly awesome. Love the color gradation, the batik on the flipside, the way that you used the pattern in the batik fabric to make the eyes, the way you outlined the sections to set them off, the different size geckos you used... it's all just an amazing collaboration of elements. I have an embroidery machine and can appreciate the time and skill it took to make all. those. geckos.! You did such an amazing job, really. Amazing.
3/9/13 8:36 AM
Lisa30 said...
What a beautiful piece! And so creative! Just amazing.
3/9/13 3:03 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I love it. I've always been a fan of geckoes and frogs too, so right up my alley. How clever to come up with that idea of making all the little geckoes into one big one - and glow in the dark eyes - what fun, and sheer genius. Why should the kiddies have all the fun? Thank your for such an inspirational review. Don't know if I'll ever take up quilting but I certainly appreciate looking at it.
3/9/13 2:13 AM
GatorDenise said...
This is *amazing*!!!! So in awe....
3/8/13 10:40 PM
harpsew said...
I am in awe - this is gorgeous!
3/8/13 12:33 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Amazing!
3/8/13 10:45 AM
CinLou said...
Wow! What a piece of art you have created.
3/8/13 9:00 AM
Renren said...
This is pure artistry. Genius at work. Surely there's some kind of competition you can enter this in so many people can enjoy this tremendous effort (I predict a grand prize blue ribbon!!! Good going, treefrog!
3/8/13 8:51 AM
froggiegirl said...
What a beautiful duvet cover! I just love all those little gecko appliques. That should brighten up your bed for years to come.
3/8/13 8:50 AM
jannw said...
wonderful!! very helpful review also..
3/8/13 5:24 AM
leoniep said...
This is one of the most amazing things I've seen. I can understand why the project took so long to crystallize. Great fun idea to make the eyes glow in the dark!
3/8/13 5:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now
Simplicity 2178

photo
by: awesomepot...

Review