Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Threads Magazine: 05-2013-Bias Pants (Bias Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 541 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 23 people   
Reviewed by:RMJ
photo
Friend of PR
About RMJstar
CA USA
Member since: 12/14/06
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/11/13 5:20 PM
Last Updated:3/25/13 4:12 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
julie w said...
Amazing job, both the draft and the fit. They look great.
3/11/13 5:39 PM
SavageCoco said...
They look great but, ooh, the math anxiety would have sent me searching for some Xanax!
3/11/13 5:46 PM
moushka said...
Your pants look terrific. Kudos for toughing out three muslins! These intrigued me, too, so I might take a chance. Thanks for sharing your challenges and final triumph with the pattern.
3/11/13 10:07 PM
marthamyers said...
I am anxious to try these pants. Thanks for the very detailed review and description of your muslins.
3/11/13 10:10 PM
CynthiaSue said...
I agree. They look fabulous!
3/11/13 11:16 PM
Annie P said...
Thanks for the review. They look good. When I read the Threads mag I thought they might be fun to try--now it seems like too much work!
3/12/13 0:40 AM
Karla Kizer said...
They look lovely, and your determination is admirable. I think I'd have given up, slipped into a pair of old sweat pants and sulked.
3/12/13 6:57 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great job! I admire your tenacity!
3/12/13 9:57 AM
becca a said...
Your patience really paid off--these fit great! What an interesting idea to use bias rectangles to make pants--thanks for the review.
3/12/13 11:05 AM
miausiau said...
This bias strip idea also works well when you need a turtleneck or sleeve cuff and fabric is getting scarce. I think the Threads directions make it more complicated than necessary but it is a good concept to employ in your creative projects.
3/12/13 12:23 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Wow, you did it. They look wonderful. Thank you for letting us know about your process. Your review is very thorough and much appreciated.
3/12/13 1:26 PM
Wianno Girl said...
I too read the article and it didn't make sense to me so now I have hope if I just start the fabric in hand will make all clear. your "try and try again" attitude is very admirable; the results look great. thanks for a thorough review!
3/19/13 10:59 PM
Fabric Hog said...
I looked at the article and decide that the math was too much for my busy schedule right now and put it on the shelf with other projects that are waiting. Your review is excellent and has inspired me to take another look. I love the piping on the denim.
3/25/13 4:46 PM
velosewer said...
Thank you for making this and especially for working it out. They do look interesting and I've been pondering this since reading about it.
3/25/13 6:12 PM
gsp1066 said...
Could the length difference come from the difference between left bias and right bias? They are not the same, especially in a twill weave like denim.
3/26/13 2:53 AM
mlsews said...
very cool, I was just looking at this article. I think I need to try them, they look so comfy.
3/28/13 4:21 AM
RMJ said...
gsp1066, I think you may have found the explanation for the length difference. Because of the way the tubes are made, one is a mirror image of the other, as you can tell from the light blue trim, and I can see that the denim grain vs an imaginary floor to waist line is very different.
3/30/13 9:02 PM
AnneM said...
Wow, so cool. Great job! I didn't even notice the difference on the denim version until you pointed it out.
7/20/13 4:57 PM
seweibhlin said...
These bias pants have always intrigued me since the Threads article came out. I was hoping for a review. This is a great help thanks.
7/21/13 7:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's M5989
photo
Review by Chococat on 3/12/14
Read Review

Butterick 5874 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED-LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5874 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED-LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2914 Pattern
Jalie 2914 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 8550
photo
Review by regine on 4/3/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us