SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> e738 (COWL NECK TUNIC)

2 more reviews
Viewed 521 times 
Reviewed by:rosehatten
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About rosehattenstar
MD
Member since: 9/15/05
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/12/13 4:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Actually, the cowl looks very nice: Not too deep, not too shallow.
3/12/13 5:21 PM
amkws said...
I have made several of these and find that it really helps to hand baste the back and collar extension before machine stitching. Very nice looking top on you.
3/13/13 10:48 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for your review. I have downloaded this pattern but not made it yet. I'll be sure to hand baste based on your experience and the comments. I love the drape of the neckline. So many cowls are bunchy with too much fabric, or too deep. Very flattering on you.
3/13/13 3:12 PM
LoriIKC said...
I just finished making this pattern. The shoulder seam sits very far back on my shoulders. I'd like to see it moved forward about an inch. Did anyone else have a similar reaction or is it just me?
1/30/14 12:08 PM
Helen May said...
I've just finished my second top and found the shoulder seam slopes back towards the sleeve head. I thought it was me needing to do a forward shoulder point adjustment which I may try on the next one that is waiting to be cut out. It's not noticeable on a patterned fabric but I noticed it on a plain one. That said I love the style and fit of the pattern.
1/30/14 4:19 PM
leahboyan said...
I just made this top and found the same issue as Lori - the shoulder seam slid back, so far back that it ends up looking rather like a draped turtle neck rather than the "v" of a cowl neck. Necklines riding back are a standard (and frustrating) fit issue for me. I can usually resolve the issue by raising the center back seam, but that didn't work for this pattern. I also found the shoulder seams much too skinny for me. I wish I had read these comments first before diving in and cutting up my lovely French knit! Guess I just have to head back to the fabric store for more!
2/1/14 3:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

StyleArc Wendy Pant

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
My Image Magazine IW1001

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now