Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6130 (Misses Top with Peplum) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 349 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/13 2:28 AM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    Pants    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GoodbyeValntino said...
The top looks nice Heather! I'd give it another try. Thanks for the review
3/15/13 8:43 AM
SewWil said...
Cute top! Sorry you are disappointed with it.
3/15/13 9:57 AM
Dynamo said...
I think the top looks cute too, but I can see the gaping neckline issue that is bothering you. That has happened to me before and I figure I need to spend sometime learning how to correct that fit issue. Perhaps someone will pipe in with suggestions! I do think your top is super cute and the peplum styles suits you. Sometimes we are our own worst critics! Wear it proudly!
3/15/13 11:19 AM
Barbara V said...
The peplum is a lovely and complimentary style on you. I think is looks great on you. Do plan to incorporate some more of these while the fad is in!
3/15/13 11:29 AM
Mufffet said...
I kind of like this!
3/15/13 3:02 PM
grays08 said...
I'm so sorry you are disappointed with this top because you did such a great job and what a great fabric! Hang in there, definitely a lot of peplum patterns right now to choose from or tweak this one again but you will get a good fit, you are too good of a sewer not to. = )
3/15/13 4:24 PM
FreyaStark said...
I am sorry you had a disappointing experience. Getting a precise fit with a fitted top is challenging. If I were you, I would be tempted to find a pattern with a similar look but easier to make. Thanks for sharing anyway.
3/15/13 5:52 PM
dressy 123 said...
I am half way through making this top. My last New Look project was a dress with a similar neckline, I have never been happy wearing it because the back neck suffers severe gaposis. I could see from the back pattern piece that this top is similarly too wide in the back neckline. I have taken a total of 2 cm out of the back neckline. Did this by folding 2 small darts in the back pattern piece, equivelent to 4 small darts across the whole of the back neck. Although not yet finished, my test fit seems to have address the gaposis issue.
3/15/13 5:56 PM
kim*brown said...
Don't you just hate when this happens?! I agree with everyone else, it looks adorable!
3/15/13 6:37 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thank you everyone for your feedback. To Dynamo and Dressy123: I wonder if the neckline was drafted to be wide.
3/16/13 11:38 AM
carolynw said...
You might not be happy with this but for what's worth I think it looks so cute and nice on you - don't let it go to the back of your closet
3/16/13 2:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Paco Peralta Draped Top Draped Top
photo
Review by SewRuth on 11/15/11
Read Review

Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8983 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9446 Pattern
Burda 9446 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Art-on-the-Go Kit
photo
Review by khurtdvm on 1/19/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Judy's Fancy Pants Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Judy's Fancy Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us