SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6130 (Misses Top with Peplum)

25 more reviews
Viewed 359 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/15/13 2:28 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    Pants    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GoodbyeValntino said...
The top looks nice Heather! I'd give it another try. Thanks for the review
3/15/13 8:43 AM
SewWil said...
Cute top! Sorry you are disappointed with it.
3/15/13 9:57 AM
Dynamo said...
I think the top looks cute too, but I can see the gaping neckline issue that is bothering you. That has happened to me before and I figure I need to spend sometime learning how to correct that fit issue. Perhaps someone will pipe in with suggestions! I do think your top is super cute and the peplum styles suits you. Sometimes we are our own worst critics! Wear it proudly!
3/15/13 11:19 AM
Barbara V said...
The peplum is a lovely and complimentary style on you. I think is looks great on you. Do plan to incorporate some more of these while the fad is in!
3/15/13 11:29 AM
Mufffet said...
I kind of like this!
3/15/13 3:02 PM
grays08 said...
I'm so sorry you are disappointed with this top because you did such a great job and what a great fabric! Hang in there, definitely a lot of peplum patterns right now to choose from or tweak this one again but you will get a good fit, you are too good of a sewer not to. = )
3/15/13 4:24 PM
FreyaStark said...
I am sorry you had a disappointing experience. Getting a precise fit with a fitted top is challenging. If I were you, I would be tempted to find a pattern with a similar look but easier to make. Thanks for sharing anyway.
3/15/13 5:52 PM
dressy 123 said...
I am half way through making this top. My last New Look project was a dress with a similar neckline, I have never been happy wearing it because the back neck suffers severe gaposis. I could see from the back pattern piece that this top is similarly too wide in the back neckline. I have taken a total of 2 cm out of the back neckline. Did this by folding 2 small darts in the back pattern piece, equivelent to 4 small darts across the whole of the back neck. Although not yet finished, my test fit seems to have address the gaposis issue.
3/15/13 5:56 PM
kim*brown said...
Don't you just hate when this happens?! I agree with everyone else, it looks adorable!
3/15/13 6:37 PM
Heatherrique said...
Thank you everyone for your feedback. To Dynamo and Dressy123: I wonder if the neckline was drafted to be wide.
3/16/13 11:38 AM
carolynw said...
You might not be happy with this but for what's worth I think it looks so cute and nice on you - don't let it go to the back of your closet
3/16/13 2:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

New Look 6575

photo
by: Thomasina4...

Review
Lolita Patterns 1300

photo
by: Spaiyq

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now