SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1242 (bridesmaid dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 226 times 
Reviewed by:lamstu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lamstustarstarstar
CHINA
Member since: 8/17/04
Reviews: 91 (patterns: 89)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/31/15 1:25 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1242 by lamstu

Vogue Patterns: 1242 by lamstu  Vogue Patterns: 1242 by lamstu  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1242
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Mediocre Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Fabric:Silk Organza  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: "MISSES' DRESS: Close-fitting, lined dress has left side seam invisible zipper and unlined overskirt." DD is a bridesmaid for s-i-l and this dress is similar to the general design that was chosen for the attendants. I further adapted this pattern to be both age and winter-season appropriate, as well as comfortable for my young teen. (This review was written in April 2013; delayed posting due to tech issues with photos.)

Pattern Sizing: 6-8-10-12 or 12-14-16-18. I sewed size 12 according to measurements, with a few tweaks to the fit.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Basically. I altered a few things.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes they were.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that the style lines were similar to the specification and it was designed for shantung, the specified fabric.
Dislikes: for this much money, there should be separate pieces for the lining. The whole mirror image thing troubles me - I sewed the attached slip wrong way round and had to pick it all to pieces and sew it again. Stylewise, this is for a lady, not for a fresh young girl. I modified to make it more appropriate. This is obviously not the fault of the pattern or the designer. Lastly, there's something not quite right about the bias overlays on the midriff but I haven't figured out what.

Fabric Used: It was supposed to be silk shantung, but no one had lemon yellow silk shantung in the middle of winter. I substituted silk organza and then underlined, lined, and with attached half slip, the under layers all made from silk/cotton batiste in a close color match.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Alterations based on the full length toile.
* Added 1 inch at the center front, then reduced the girth at the lower edge of pieces 1, 2, and 3 to their original size at the midriff seam, to enlarge the bust and maintain the ribcage size.
* Took in a little bit at side back upper edge.
Design changes
* Raised the neckline and made it less wide, front and back.
* Lengthened skirt to floor length.
* Redrafted skirt to A-line, about 84 inches circumference at the hem.
* Left off the skirt overlay. In the longer skirt, it seems weird, like an apron.
* Left off the side decoration and the bow end, at DD's request.
* Added long sleeves, self-drafted.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? No, I wouldn't sew it again. I hesitate to recommend it except to the very tallest or least buxom ladies because the upper midriff seam is very high on the left side bosom.

Conclusion: Dress fit perfectly, DD looks great, and was absolutely comfortable. Bride and m-i-l were satisfied. Treating this as a costume - limited wearings and needing mostly to look nice in the photos - led to many time-saving choices that made the process less tedious. I'll be purchasing a job lot of yellow feathers, just in case she ever needs to dress up as a canary. (Sorry, that was rather snarky. I have issues.)
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
USMCMom said... (2/1/15 2:45 PM) Reply
You did a very nice job under trying circumstances and your daughter looks lovely! Yellow is a color that doesn't flatter everyone, but she can obviously wear it. It's so hard to find an appropriate style for a formal occasion for someone so young. Too young for most wedding party dresses, but too young for a flower girl type dress. But I think your style changes worked nicely.
annemie said... (1/31/15 4:26 PM) Reply
Your daughter and the dress look lovely, you did a great job.
Puppy said... (1/31/15 3:43 PM) Reply
But I think it's very pretty!
judypin said... (1/31/15 1:37 PM) Reply
Your daughter looks lovely in it, and all your alterations seemed to work perfectly. I've been there too, having to sew a bridesmaid dress with a pattern/fabric I detest. Your feather suggestion made me lol!! : )
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Butterick B5032

photo
by: guineveres...

Review
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Pattern Details