SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Past Patterns> 4990 (Ladies'/Misses' Slip-On Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 189 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 295
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 274
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/13 9:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Andi said...
Thanks for all the details on your review. I was looking at this pattern company for a dress for DD.
3/16/13 9:57 AM
jannw said...
Very nice!! This does have a modern look to it also...great info on the review as usual!!
3/16/13 12:10 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Sooo cool!! LOVE this look on you, Margaret... Contemporary and looks like a view of another time ;D
3/16/13 1:27 PM
FreyaStark said...
An impressive effort, and the result is a chic and distinctive dress. It works well in that fabric and looks good on you, especially with that dramatic draped hem. I hope you find an occasion to wear it.
3/16/13 5:53 PM
beth5646 said...
Wow! Very cool dress. I think it looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
3/16/13 6:31 PM
mmcp said...
I agree with Rhonda and jannw, the hem treatment makes it look modern. Did you try it with a belt?
3/16/13 7:49 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks everyone! I do think the 20s shape is coming into fashion, judging from the recent shows and the recent Burda magazines. mmcp, I did try it with a couple of RTW belts, but they were too stiff and contrasting (all the ones I have, anyway) and just made me look shorter and wider. This may not be a problem for most people, because I do see a lot of straight but belted dresses being worn and looking fine on other people. It's possible I have enough self fabric left for a wide, soft sash that may look better. If that works out, I'll add it to the album.
3/17/13 3:42 AM
nanaki said...
Just last week, I bought this pattern and am about to embark on sewing it. It looks great on you, so I am quite relieved. I, too, will have to alter it to make it a tad smaller, so your sizing comments are very welcome. I think I have more of a "tube-like" figure than you (my "bust" is mostly shoulders), so I hope it looks as nice!
3/21/13 9:39 PM
Renren said...
You look so demure, sweetly chic and professorial--all at once. Love, love, love this dress on you. Nice shoes, too!
3/24/13 1:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Burda 7828

photo
by: Lisa30

Review
Burda 7203

photo
by: norie crea...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now