SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Past Patterns> 4990 (Ladies'/Misses' Slip-On Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 193 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/13 9:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
You look so demure, sweetly chic and professorial--all at once. Love, love, love this dress on you. Nice shoes, too!
3/24/13 1:35 PM
nanaki said...
Just last week, I bought this pattern and am about to embark on sewing it. It looks great on you, so I am quite relieved. I, too, will have to alter it to make it a tad smaller, so your sizing comments are very welcome. I think I have more of a "tube-like" figure than you (my "bust" is mostly shoulders), so I hope it looks as nice!
3/21/13 9:39 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks everyone! I do think the 20s shape is coming into fashion, judging from the recent shows and the recent Burda magazines. mmcp, I did try it with a couple of RTW belts, but they were too stiff and contrasting (all the ones I have, anyway) and just made me look shorter and wider. This may not be a problem for most people, because I do see a lot of straight but belted dresses being worn and looking fine on other people. It's possible I have enough self fabric left for a wide, soft sash that may look better. If that works out, I'll add it to the album.
3/17/13 3:42 AM
mmcp said...
I agree with Rhonda and jannw, the hem treatment makes it look modern. Did you try it with a belt?
3/16/13 7:49 PM
beth5646 said...
Wow! Very cool dress. I think it looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
3/16/13 6:31 PM
FreyaStark said...
An impressive effort, and the result is a chic and distinctive dress. It works well in that fabric and looks good on you, especially with that dramatic draped hem. I hope you find an occasion to wear it.
3/16/13 5:53 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Sooo cool!! LOVE this look on you, Margaret... Contemporary and looks like a view of another time ;D
3/16/13 1:27 PM
jannw said...
Very nice!! This does have a modern look to it also...great info on the review as usual!!
3/16/13 12:10 PM
Andi said...
Thanks for all the details on your review. I was looking at this pattern company for a dress for DD.
3/16/13 9:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Marfy 2762

photo
by: Re Becca

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now