SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Past Patterns> 4990 (Ladies'/Misses' Slip-On Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 192 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/13 9:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
You look so demure, sweetly chic and professorial--all at once. Love, love, love this dress on you. Nice shoes, too!
3/24/13 1:35 PM
nanaki said...
Just last week, I bought this pattern and am about to embark on sewing it. It looks great on you, so I am quite relieved. I, too, will have to alter it to make it a tad smaller, so your sizing comments are very welcome. I think I have more of a "tube-like" figure than you (my "bust" is mostly shoulders), so I hope it looks as nice!
3/21/13 9:39 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks everyone! I do think the 20s shape is coming into fashion, judging from the recent shows and the recent Burda magazines. mmcp, I did try it with a couple of RTW belts, but they were too stiff and contrasting (all the ones I have, anyway) and just made me look shorter and wider. This may not be a problem for most people, because I do see a lot of straight but belted dresses being worn and looking fine on other people. It's possible I have enough self fabric left for a wide, soft sash that may look better. If that works out, I'll add it to the album.
3/17/13 3:42 AM
mmcp said...
I agree with Rhonda and jannw, the hem treatment makes it look modern. Did you try it with a belt?
3/16/13 7:49 PM
beth5646 said...
Wow! Very cool dress. I think it looks great on you. Thanks for the review.
3/16/13 6:31 PM
FreyaStark said...
An impressive effort, and the result is a chic and distinctive dress. It works well in that fabric and looks good on you, especially with that dramatic draped hem. I hope you find an occasion to wear it.
3/16/13 5:53 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Sooo cool!! LOVE this look on you, Margaret... Contemporary and looks like a view of another time ;D
3/16/13 1:27 PM
jannw said...
Very nice!! This does have a modern look to it also...great info on the review as usual!!
3/16/13 12:10 PM
Andi said...
Thanks for all the details on your review. I was looking at this pattern company for a dress for DD.
3/16/13 9:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

More Info