Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2005-128 (50ís Flair Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1034 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Eli
photo
About Elistarstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/7/04
Reviews written: 92
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 91 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/25/05 11:14 PM
Last Updated:2/25/05 11:19 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marita Kinnula said...
Eli, I like it very much, although I wouldn't make it either for my own use, but your project is very inspirational, did you attach the trim on the upper(darker) part first and then attach the lover part (light) to the rest of the, skirt or how? Thank you for this review.
2/25/05 11:29 PM
Eli said...
Marita, I first basted the trim to the middle section and then treated it as one when atatching the top and bottom parts.
2/25/05 11:32 PM
kellyt said...
I saw this pattern and was interested in making it. You did a grat job with the details. I am inspired to add some details when I make this skirt. Thanks for the review.
2/26/05 2:47 AM
jlg said...
What a fun skirt. I like all of your details, particularly the unfinished hem.
2/26/05 5:14 AM
ClaireC said...
Very cute skirt! I like the belt. I doesn't appear homemade to me. I looks like the look in the stores. I love the fact that you recycle fabric and make it look good the 2nd time around.
2/26/05 8:28 AM
sewkal said...
Eli, another job well done. Your creativity is enviable. I think you should be on the next season of Project Runway- I'd buy your stuff!
2/26/05 9:21 AM
cindyann said...
I would never have considered making this skirt, but your version is so fabulous that I'm going to give it a second look. I love the combination of fabrics you used and created with the bleach. So very creative! I think the belt is what makes the skirt. You must wear it.
2/26/05 10:35 AM
Levone said...
Very cute and fun looking skirt. You did a great job with this...especially with creativity.
2/27/05 2:41 AM
mag said...
I love your skirt. It is so cute. It looks like a really fun project for a Sunday. Thanks so much for your review.
2/27/05 7:11 AM
FitttingTips said...
Darling skirt! I wonder if the belt were washed and got a bit of ravels if it my look less home made? The photos make it look great! Loretta
2/27/05 7:43 AM
Sue Anfang said...
How cute is this skirt!!! I love the outfits you make, you are so fashion forward with your sewing. Way to go!
2/27/05 6:22 PM
SueV said...
Wow, what a beautiful, fun skirt! Great job and great review!
2/28/05 10:40 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Eli, you have a beautiful skirt. It's easily at the same level or higher as those offered by the top, priciest designers. Wear it proudly!
2/28/05 3:32 PM
candyo said...
I love it!!
3/1/05 12:16 PM
SewingSkater said...
Eli - Thanks for the review... great skirt! I am currently making the skirt in a light pink and fushia stretch twill. I am going to make just as the pattern, but how did you go about putting the trim in the horizontal section between the main piece and the bottom piece?? It looks so cute and I think it would add a nice touch to my skirt.
3/2/05 9:18 AM
SandraB said...
What a cute skirt. I don't know how I missed this review before. Just saw it on the side bar. What creativity. You have inspired me to try this pattern.
6/14/05 3:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Burda 7140 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by WinterQuee... on 11/14/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Jackie Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6231
photo
Review by Dellia45 on 1/19/14
Read Review

Vogue 8840 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8840 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8796 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8796 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us