SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5207 (Women's evening dresses)

Viewed 2003 times 
Reviewed by:Jennie Pakula
photo

 
 
About Jennie Pakula
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/05 12:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Your bridesmaids dresses are great, and everyone looks very happy. I am interested in your 'seam stick' as I am right up to this point in the similarly styled strapless wedding gown I am currentlyworking on. What did you use? Mine has an organza underlining, so at least I wont have to have the same hemming nightmare. But pressing those long seams...ack! Please advise.
2/26/05 12:54 PM
Nickle said...
Your gowns look absolutely gorgeous- and your daughter looks so pretty in her dress. What a great job you did.
2/26/05 1:19 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
"Satin is a pig to hem" - LOL and how very true! Jenny, the dresses turned out beautifully. Wonderful job. And your daughter is adorable! -Ann
2/26/05 1:55 PM
AnneM said...
Congratulations. Those princess seams worked well for the FBellyA. And what a lovely day it looks like.
2/26/05 2:40 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Jennie! The style worked well for the B adjustment. I am intrugued by your seam stick? Is this something you purchased? Your *little one* sure is cute. thanks for your review.
2/26/05 4:08 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great dresses for the bridesmaids. THe dresses look so fantastic! Thanks for the review.
2/26/05 6:12 PM
Mandolin82 said...
What beautiful, graceful, flattering dresses. You must be thrilled! Helpful review too! Susan
2/26/05 11:47 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Jennie, you did good, they look very nice. That little lady is so elegant, did you make your DD's dress also?
2/26/05 11:55 PM
minieme said...
Jennie, well done! Thanks for the long awaited pictures and review. The dresses fit nicely. Your little girl looks v pretty, are you doing another review of her dress?
2/27/05 2:36 AM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful dresses Jennie, and a great fit on both bridesmaids, and belly. Your daughter looks lovely in her dress too.
2/27/05 5:53 AM
SewingSusan said...
A job well done. They all look fantastic. Love that brilliant color!
2/27/05 7:40 AM
cindyann said...
Congrats! You did a wonderful job on these gowns.
2/27/05 10:18 AM
Jennie Pakula said...
Thanks for the lovely comments! It was such a happy wedding involving a very long distance romance. Sarah met Al when he was in Australia on exchange from the UK for 6 months' study, so they spent their engagement on opposite sides of the world - you can understand why the bride looks so excited! Yes, I will be reviewing the pattern for my daughter's dress when I get a bit of computer time! For the seam stick, I actually used a tool that combines a tailor's clapper, point presser etc - you can find a picture of one on this link: http://svc007.bne009i.server-web.com/catalogue/punchjudy/public/home.ehtml - just copy & paste into your browser. I covered the top skinny bit with a double layer of cotton before putting the satin on it and just moved it down the seam as I pressed with the point of the iron. It worked a treat.
2/27/05 3:49 PM
Nancy Anne said...
WHAT lovely dresses! You got the fits perfectly, and I know the bride was thrilled with them, as well as the maids!
2/27/05 6:50 PM
KathleenS said...
You did a great job Jennie. The fit looks really good, even with the extra challenge of the pregnant bridesmaid, and I'm not surprised the girls were happy with them.
2/28/05 3:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 100492-1034

photo
by: petro

Review
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6097

photo
by: Pink Holly...

Review