Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5207 (Women's evening dresses) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 2000 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Jennie Pakula
photo
About Jennie Pakula
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/05 12:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Your bridesmaids dresses are great, and everyone looks very happy. I am interested in your 'seam stick' as I am right up to this point in the similarly styled strapless wedding gown I am currentlyworking on. What did you use? Mine has an organza underlining, so at least I wont have to have the same hemming nightmare. But pressing those long seams...ack! Please advise.
2/26/05 12:54 PM
Nickle said...
Your gowns look absolutely gorgeous- and your daughter looks so pretty in her dress. What a great job you did.
2/26/05 1:19 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
"Satin is a pig to hem" - LOL and how very true! Jenny, the dresses turned out beautifully. Wonderful job. And your daughter is adorable! -Ann
2/26/05 1:55 PM
AnneM said...
Congratulations. Those princess seams worked well for the FBellyA. And what a lovely day it looks like.
2/26/05 2:40 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Jennie! The style worked well for the B adjustment. I am intrugued by your seam stick? Is this something you purchased? Your *little one* sure is cute. thanks for your review.
2/26/05 4:08 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great dresses for the bridesmaids. THe dresses look so fantastic! Thanks for the review.
2/26/05 6:12 PM
Mandolin82 said...
What beautiful, graceful, flattering dresses. You must be thrilled! Helpful review too! Susan
2/26/05 11:47 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Jennie, you did good, they look very nice. That little lady is so elegant, did you make your DD's dress also?
2/26/05 11:55 PM
minieme said...
Jennie, well done! Thanks for the long awaited pictures and review. The dresses fit nicely. Your little girl looks v pretty, are you doing another review of her dress?
2/27/05 2:36 AM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful dresses Jennie, and a great fit on both bridesmaids, and belly. Your daughter looks lovely in her dress too.
2/27/05 5:53 AM
SewingSusan said...
A job well done. They all look fantastic. Love that brilliant color!
2/27/05 7:40 AM
cindyann said...
Congrats! You did a wonderful job on these gowns.
2/27/05 10:18 AM
Jennie Pakula said...
Thanks for the lovely comments! It was such a happy wedding involving a very long distance romance. Sarah met Al when he was in Australia on exchange from the UK for 6 months' study, so they spent their engagement on opposite sides of the world - you can understand why the bride looks so excited! Yes, I will be reviewing the pattern for my daughter's dress when I get a bit of computer time! For the seam stick, I actually used a tool that combines a tailor's clapper, point presser etc - you can find a picture of one on this link: http://svc007.bne009i.server-web.com/catalogue/punchjudy/public/home.ehtml - just copy & paste into your browser. I covered the top skinny bit with a double layer of cotton before putting the satin on it and just moved it down the seam as I pressed with the point of the iron. It worked a treat.
2/27/05 3:49 PM
Nancy Anne said...
WHAT lovely dresses! You got the fits perfectly, and I know the bride was thrilled with them, as well as the maids!
2/27/05 6:50 PM
KathleenS said...
You did a great job Jennie. The fit looks really good, even with the extra challenge of the pregnant bridesmaid, and I'm not surprised the girls were happy with them.
2/28/05 3:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 4412 Jacket
photo
Review by snowflake ... on 5/16/07
Read Review

Sis Boom Molly Peasant Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Molly Peasant Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2497 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by CissieW on 5/24/12
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6499 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6499 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us