SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5207 (Women's evening dresses)

Viewed 2003 times 
Reviewed by:Jennie Pakula
photo

 
 
About Jennie Pakula
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/05 12:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
You did a great job Jennie. The fit looks really good, even with the extra challenge of the pregnant bridesmaid, and I'm not surprised the girls were happy with them.
2/28/05 3:26 AM
Nancy Anne said...
WHAT lovely dresses! You got the fits perfectly, and I know the bride was thrilled with them, as well as the maids!
2/27/05 6:50 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Thanks for the lovely comments! It was such a happy wedding involving a very long distance romance. Sarah met Al when he was in Australia on exchange from the UK for 6 months' study, so they spent their engagement on opposite sides of the world - you can understand why the bride looks so excited! Yes, I will be reviewing the pattern for my daughter's dress when I get a bit of computer time! For the seam stick, I actually used a tool that combines a tailor's clapper, point presser etc - you can find a picture of one on this link: http://svc007.bne009i.server-web.com/catalogue/punchjudy/public/home.ehtml - just copy & paste into your browser. I covered the top skinny bit with a double layer of cotton before putting the satin on it and just moved it down the seam as I pressed with the point of the iron. It worked a treat.
2/27/05 3:49 PM
cindyann said...
Congrats! You did a wonderful job on these gowns.
2/27/05 10:18 AM
SewingSusan said...
A job well done. They all look fantastic. Love that brilliant color!
2/27/05 7:40 AM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful dresses Jennie, and a great fit on both bridesmaids, and belly. Your daughter looks lovely in her dress too.
2/27/05 5:53 AM
minieme said...
Jennie, well done! Thanks for the long awaited pictures and review. The dresses fit nicely. Your little girl looks v pretty, are you doing another review of her dress?
2/27/05 2:36 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Jennie, you did good, they look very nice. That little lady is so elegant, did you make your DD's dress also?
2/26/05 11:55 PM
Mandolin82 said...
What beautiful, graceful, flattering dresses. You must be thrilled! Helpful review too! Susan
2/26/05 11:47 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great dresses for the bridesmaids. THe dresses look so fantastic! Thanks for the review.
2/26/05 6:12 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Jennie! The style worked well for the B adjustment. I am intrugued by your seam stick? Is this something you purchased? Your *little one* sure is cute. thanks for your review.
2/26/05 4:08 PM
AnneM said...
Congratulations. Those princess seams worked well for the FBellyA. And what a lovely day it looks like.
2/26/05 2:40 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
"Satin is a pig to hem" - LOL and how very true! Jenny, the dresses turned out beautifully. Wonderful job. And your daughter is adorable! -Ann
2/26/05 1:55 PM
Nickle said...
Your gowns look absolutely gorgeous- and your daughter looks so pretty in her dress. What a great job you did.
2/26/05 1:19 PM
Georgene said...
Your bridesmaids dresses are great, and everyone looks very happy. I am interested in your 'seam stick' as I am right up to this point in the similarly styled strapless wedding gown I am currentlyworking on. What did you use? Mine has an organza underlining, so at least I wont have to have the same hemming nightmare. But pressing those long seams...ack! Please advise.
2/26/05 12:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

StyleArc Marie Jacket

photo
by: Sue Anfang

Review
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now