Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7910 (Misses Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 2117 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/05 5:17 PM
Last Updated:4/13/05 6:47 AM


See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
keric said...
I see what you mean about it being fuller than in the picture. However...I think it looks fabulous on you, and you should wear it proudly! That particular top paired with the skirt is an incredible outfit! Great job!
2/26/05 5:23 PM
Georgene said...
Keep washing it, a lot! It should soften more over time. This will be fabulous in a much softer fabric, some sort of rayon print maybe? I like your top too.
2/26/05 5:28 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I agree with Georgene, wash that sucker again and again and I bet it will be wonderful. Now I'm tempted to make this one. I have a really cool microfibre suede in my stash that would probably look great in this pattern. -Ann
2/26/05 5:56 PM
CarolynGM said...
I can sort of see the pleats in the line drawings, but I would never have noticed this if you hadn't mentioned it in your review. I agree about washing it until it softens, but could you also sew the pleats shut and trim? That would take out some fullness for sure. Still, the outfit looks wonderful on you.
2/26/05 7:04 PM
jlg said...
I love the skirt on you. I made a skirt a while back that was quite flared, and I was worried that it was too much, but it became one of my favorites. Sometimes a different silhouette definitely takes some getting used to.
2/26/05 7:58 PM
Lisette said...
The outfit looks lovely on you. I agree with the others that sometimes it takes a while to get used to something different.
2/27/05 8:49 AM
Pattern Junkie said...
I think the skirt is gorgeous on you -- I say it's a winner! But only you know if you feel comfortable wearing it -- sometimes tons of fabric can be fun, other times it's a pain. Great job!
2/27/05 1:16 PM
KiwiWendy said...
I own the pattern & have made view B ... I only scanned the instructions for the other views and never noticed the inverted pleats. I'm tempted to try this, though taking out a smidge of the fullness. I found view B very full in the hips too (which I didn't expect from the drawing).
2/27/05 5:04 PM
Celeste said...
I have found that matte jersey usually works well on patterns that they don't even suggest a knit. The real bonus with matte jersey is it has weight to hang very well and this removes puffy type fullness. I believe this skirt would have the swinginess you want without the puffy look with matte jersey.
2/27/05 10:19 PM
AnneM said...
Nice outfit, even if it wasn't what you initially expected. Washing does help soften fabric, so it might evolve into your original expectation.
2/28/05 7:34 PM
Hilary said...
Ah-ha, you *did* make the skirt! Very pretty outfit!
4/13/05 8:47 AM
Patti B said...
Thanks for pointing out this pattern! I like both versions and hope you have been finding view A fun to wear.
4/13/05 8:51 AM
Elona said...
This is really cute, Mickey! The exaggerated flare in a firm fabric definitely has a "look," but I think the fuller skirt would be adorable in something like rayon or silk georgette. Think of the amazing fullness of Ginger Roger's skirts, which really showed only when she was in motion.
4/13/05 12:14 PM
elegantmusings said...
I really like both versions you've made up. Thank you for the informative review; I'm adding this pattern to my wish list. :) Love the shoes you're wearing in the newer picture, btw!! ;)
4/13/05 4:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Butterick 4142
photo
Review by sewnaomi on 7/5/13
Read Review

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2005-102 Coat
photo
Review by Lisette on 3/15/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0142 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0142 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6084 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us