SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1266 

6 more reviews
Viewed 2178 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 93 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/02 2:23 AM
Last Updated:8/25/02 8:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Nikki, one thing I have noticed when working with silk threads in garment construction is that the silk is always so much stronger that the actual material that it's more likely to 'cut' through your garment. I made a jumper about a year ago out of some beautiful wool tweed and used a silk thread with it and everyplace that had any wear at all the thread was pulling through the seams like crazy. By the time I realized why it was doing that it was much to late to save the dress. I try to keep the silks for embroidery only. I hope you have better luck with it than I did !!
8/4/02 4:22 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sounds like you learned a lot. Even easy coats are challenging because the fabric is heavy and the construction is laborous if you are adding features for inclement weather. One thing I discovered in Toronto, is there is a place that will make buttonholes for you -- they use a special machine, and they turned out beautifully. You need to bring them the buttons and thread with your garment. You should look in the yellow pages to see if there is one in Boston. In Toronto, it was a shop that sold Scottish stuff and made custom kilts and other Scottish regalia. The buttonholes were under $1 each (now this was about 15 years ago) and took them a week to complete. It was well worth it -- even though my sewing skills have improved considerably in the past 15 years, I am planning to make a wool coat this fall and I will certainly take the buttonholes in to be made.
8/4/02 12:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Coatmaking has that extra thrill I think as has making of evening gown, it isn't simple(depending of the model)but when you have finished it and it turns out great, what a great feeling of joy, congratulations and hope it warms you well in the winter.
8/4/02 6:42 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, this is a really helpful and comprehensive review. You have contributed something very valuable here and I love your format!
8/4/02 7:58 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, what a helpful review! You should really change your skills to 'advanced' in your profile. There is no way you can call yourself a beginner after tackling this difficult project. By the way are you coming for the get together in Woburn?
8/4/02 8:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
nikki, what a beautiful elegant coat! the color you chose is wonderfully rich. it looks like something from the designer section of saks!
8/26/02 4:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great Review!! A kindred spirit..my buttonholes always look like poorly tied navals. you gave me inspiration to try again
9/29/02 2:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2011-132B

photo
by: tiadia

Review
McCall's 6193

photo
by: ChrisS

Review
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now