Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1266 thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2171 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/02 2:23 AM
Last Updated:8/25/02 8:48 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Nikki, one thing I have noticed when working with silk threads in garment construction is that the silk is always so much stronger that the actual material that it's more likely to 'cut' through your garment. I made a jumper about a year ago out of some beautiful wool tweed and used a silk thread with it and everyplace that had any wear at all the thread was pulling through the seams like crazy. By the time I realized why it was doing that it was much to late to save the dress. I try to keep the silks for embroidery only. I hope you have better luck with it than I did !!
8/4/02 4:22 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sounds like you learned a lot. Even easy coats are challenging because the fabric is heavy and the construction is laborous if you are adding features for inclement weather. One thing I discovered in Toronto, is there is a place that will make buttonholes for you -- they use a special machine, and they turned out beautifully. You need to bring them the buttons and thread with your garment. You should look in the yellow pages to see if there is one in Boston. In Toronto, it was a shop that sold Scottish stuff and made custom kilts and other Scottish regalia. The buttonholes were under $1 each (now this was about 15 years ago) and took them a week to complete. It was well worth it -- even though my sewing skills have improved considerably in the past 15 years, I am planning to make a wool coat this fall and I will certainly take the buttonholes in to be made.
8/4/02 12:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Coatmaking has that extra thrill I think as has making of evening gown, it isn't simple(depending of the model)but when you have finished it and it turns out great, what a great feeling of joy, congratulations and hope it warms you well in the winter.
8/4/02 6:42 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, this is a really helpful and comprehensive review. You have contributed something very valuable here and I love your format!
8/4/02 7:58 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nikki, what a helpful review! You should really change your skills to 'advanced' in your profile. There is no way you can call yourself a beginner after tackling this difficult project. By the way are you coming for the get together in Woburn?
8/4/02 8:23 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
nikki, what a beautiful elegant coat! the color you chose is wonderfully rich. it looks like something from the designer section of saks!
8/26/02 4:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Great Review!! A kindred spirit..my buttonholes always look like poorly tied navals. you gave me inspiration to try again
9/29/02 2:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2008-111
photo
Review by redroserac... on 3/31/10
Read Review

McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8964 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )
Vogue 8964 Pattern ( Size 34-36-38-40 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2588
photo
Review by piccalizzi... on 8/17/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)
Simple Things Mr. Dash Digital Pattern (002)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us