Online Sewing Class: Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7063 

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Fitted Blouse 2013 Contest
Viewed 288 times 
Reviewed by:BetsyV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BetsyVstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/4/05
Reviews: 9 (patterns: 5)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/13 4:19 PM
Last Updated:3/30/13 4:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said... (4/2/13 7:57 AM) Reply
fabulous shirt, Betsy. You did a great job matching stripes, and I love the chevron collar. Beautiful fabric.
Sarah Liz said... (4/1/13 5:50 AM) Reply
That is a very smart blouse - beautifully made with great attention to detail. I like the front placket, it looks very streamlined.
Kbenco said... (3/31/13 10:41 PM) Reply
A very smart looking blouse. I like your attention to detail with the stripe matching at the collar chevrons, beautifully sewn.
BJ1400 said... (3/31/13 8:49 AM) Reply
Excellent job. Such a nice looking blouse.
BetsyV said... (3/31/13 8:03 AM) Reply
KathleenS: I refer to David Coffin's Shirtmaking book when I make any shirt. He has placket patterns in the book, full size, that are traceable. He has a reference line on the pattern to match stripes, but I realized that the slash line lines up with the peak of the tower, so I used that. I cut the plackets when I get ready to put them on the sleeves and do the cuff pleating, not when I cut the rest of the shirt pieces. You can cut them on the bias, too, which eliminates needing to match the stripe.
KathleenS said... (3/31/13 4:19 AM) Reply
Smart, very useful-looking shirt. I like the little details you added to the cuff and the collar. I've been wondering (and it certainly looks like you know the answer!) how to match a placket to the sleeve. Do you just match the outer pointed section and then the inside may or may not match, depending on the stripe spacing? Or do you adapt the placket pattern to make the inside part match too?
Quickie said... (3/31/13 3:49 AM) Reply
Lovely
velosewer said... (3/31/13 3:32 AM) Reply
Such a classically tailored blouse. I agree - perfectly sewn.
PattyE said... (3/30/13 6:16 PM) Reply
Great blouse...perfectly sewn!
Sharonspils said... (3/30/13 5:36 PM) Reply
Very smart blouse.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Ralph Pink Basic Swimsuit Block

photo
by: Mantidfly

Review
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Pattern Details
Simplicity 8088-jiffy

photo
by: tiffandrea

Review