Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 235056-1005 (Reflections) - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Fitted Blouse 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 207 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Quickie
photo
About Quickiestar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 10/8/10
Reviews written: 55
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/13 11:15 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
You did a great job getting a perfect fit. Thanks for your observations about darts and the curved back seam and how that means you don't have to curve as much at the side seams. Also thanks for mentioning how you use topstitching because of the delicacy of the cotton voile. I suppose the topstitching helps to strengthen these potential stress points. This is a lovely, lovely top. If I had the ability to draft and sew such a top, there would be several in my closet. Job well done!
3/23/13 11:33 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice blouse and fit! Good review.
3/23/13 2:40 PM
katlew03 said...
Nice blouse, great fit.
3/23/13 10:17 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Lovely blouse and I agree about the fabric being reminiscent of reflections in water. Lots of good tips in your review too. Good luck in the contest.
3/24/13 2:25 AM
Mufffet said...
Such nice fitting, and the shirt is really a nice basic pattern you can use a lot! Thanks for the review!
3/24/13 10:23 AM
wendyrb said...
Really well done classic in a lovely print. Thanks so much for your thoughtful review. Your success in fitting is the jolt I need to push on with a fitted-blouse impasse.
3/24/13 4:50 PM
Quickie said...
Thank you all very much. When I suspect my fabric for not being very strong I begin my sewing with a scrap piece to find out Which kind of sewing will be the best. I really try to tear it apart, and I'm content only when I've found a method that prevents from making holes , or even tearing things apart
3/24/13 5:46 PM
Sarah Liz said...
A good job indeed - never easy to get a good fit, but once you have you will go back to it time and again. The fabric looks nice on you.
3/28/13 5:19 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such a cool looking top, Quickie!
3/29/13 10:42 PM
KathleenS said...
It's a pretty fabric and I think you did it justice with your design. You certainly seem to know how to get the right fit for your figure. Well done.
3/31/13 4:40 AM
WhatSew said...
Lovely blouse. I agree with others - your fabric choice and fitting/alteration made are great.
4/1/13 1:09 PM
KathySews said...
Great blouse. I love the fabric as well as your fit. I bet you wear this one a lot. You are inspiring me to attempt a fitted blouse (I am afraid of that dreaded buttonhole gapping at the bustline)
4/6/13 9:09 AM
Quickie said...
I make a blouse with buttonholes roomser than the bodice of a dress, but the place of the buttonholes is also important . I place one exactly on the bustier and than devide the otters around that
4/15/13 3:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other No number Copy from rtw
photo
Review by Lou. on 1/10/07
Read Review

Pattern Runway Draped Knit Skirt Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Draped Knit Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2246 Misses'
photo
Review by JenniferMM on 8/27/11
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3897 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3897 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us