SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Purrfection> 1019 (Piece By Piece)

Viewed 1342 times 
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews: 127 (patterns: 113)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 95 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/05 3:19 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Mini said... (6/8/06 9:28 PM) Reply
I think the Purrfection patterns are drafted for a taller than average figure, although the pattern sizing charts don't tell you so. I have tried several of their patterns and they all were too low in the armhole, and quite oversized in general. I think a petite adjustment to raise the armhole and shorten the sleeve cap is the way to go with this pattern line. The pointed hem looks flattering though, and is a good design element for us shorter folks.
Mufffet said... (6/8/06 5:06 PM) Reply
Gosh yes, you DO look like Olivia DeHavilland. This is such a nicely designed top. I like the trim so much. Very nicely done.
Lyn B. said... (3/6/05 2:33 AM) Reply
This looks fabulous, Irene! I think the problems with purrfection patterns comes from them being drafted to use huge shoulder pads, almost as if they are made with set in sleeves for a quarterback. I looks as if they'll have a drop shoulder, but I've found this isn't the case. Regardless, it still looks great. BTW, you look like Olivia DeHavilland!
AnneM said... (2/28/05 6:30 PM) Reply
Very cute hemline. Great top. If you try the square shoulder alteration that Anne in Victoria mentions, let us know if it works for you.
anna mermaid said... (2/28/05 12:45 PM) Reply
Irene, your blouse looks great. I have the same problem re: pulling when raising your arms with Todays Fit patterns and have found doing a square shoulder adjustment takes care of it.
Linda E. said... (2/28/05 10:26 AM) Reply
Irene your blouses are great when you run out of ones for yourself I could use a few..LOL
Nancy Anne said... (2/28/05 7:08 AM) Reply
Love your alterations to the pattern, and the fact that you thought outside the box to make it as a shirt. You did a beautiful job on this shirt!
Patti B said... (2/27/05 4:17 PM) Reply
Irene, you are on a blouse sewing tear! Very nice.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 1939

photo
by: HRigg

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2010-122

photo
by: Elizabeth ...

Review
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Pattern Details
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Pattern Details