SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

38 more reviews
Viewed 370 times 
Reviewed by:Jupiter, FL
photo

 
 
About Jupiter, FL
VA USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/13 1:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
novicesewist said...
Great review. I'm sorry you are nearly hating the dress, it looks great! To what event did you wear it? (Just nosy)
3/27/13 3:50 PM
Jupiter, FL said...
It was a ball for our horseback riding club. I reconciled with the dress and enjooyed wearing it -- it was dark-ish and I hope the puckers weren't that visible.
3/27/13 6:10 PM
Jrhee said...
It is a pretty dress in a pretty color!
3/28/13 0:01 AM
SusiM said...
it's lovely! I made this one for my slender daughter. it's hard not to get sucked into those very unrealistic illustrations on the pattern jacket. That's why the pattern reviews are so wonderful: we get to see the real finished product. And it is striking on you I think.
3/28/13 1:37 PM
TJSEWS said...
I am glad you ended up enjoying the dress...it does look beautiful on you and what a gorgeous color!
3/28/13 8:37 PM
rmusic1 said...
cut yourself some slack! sewing with synthetics is hard work, and slippery fabric (natural or otherwise) even more so. Consider it a compliment to your skills you overcame the obstacles, and I think you should be proud of the result!
3/28/13 9:14 PM
Jupiter, FL said...
Thank you, all -- you are very kind.
3/29/13 9:06 AM
Rosalaya said...
Hey don't beat yourself up, I think it looks great, and that by turning the neckline into a sweetheart, that you've reduced the visual bust size. Well done
4/5/13 11:27 PM
heemee said...
The dress looks great! I love the way it drapes. Thanks for the review. I bought this pattern and will be trying it out sometime soon.
4/10/13 11:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Other 926 Rocking Horse Farms

photo
by: SewNikki

Review
Simplicity 2209

photo
by: thequirkyp...

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Buy Now