SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

40 more reviews
Viewed 379 times 
Reviewed by:Jupiter, FL
photo

 
 
About Jupiter, FL
VA USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/13 1:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
heemee said...
The dress looks great! I love the way it drapes. Thanks for the review. I bought this pattern and will be trying it out sometime soon.
4/10/13 11:30 PM
Rosalaya said...
Hey don't beat yourself up, I think it looks great, and that by turning the neckline into a sweetheart, that you've reduced the visual bust size. Well done
4/5/13 11:27 PM
Jupiter, FL said...
Thank you, all -- you are very kind.
3/29/13 9:06 AM
rmusic1 said...
cut yourself some slack! sewing with synthetics is hard work, and slippery fabric (natural or otherwise) even more so. Consider it a compliment to your skills you overcame the obstacles, and I think you should be proud of the result!
3/28/13 9:14 PM
TJSEWS said...
I am glad you ended up enjoying the dress...it does look beautiful on you and what a gorgeous color!
3/28/13 8:37 PM
SusiM said...
it's lovely! I made this one for my slender daughter. it's hard not to get sucked into those very unrealistic illustrations on the pattern jacket. That's why the pattern reviews are so wonderful: we get to see the real finished product. And it is striking on you I think.
3/28/13 1:37 PM
Jrhee said...
It is a pretty dress in a pretty color!
3/28/13 0:01 AM
Jupiter, FL said...
It was a ball for our horseback riding club. I reconciled with the dress and enjooyed wearing it -- it was dark-ish and I hope the puckers weren't that visible.
3/27/13 6:10 PM
novicesewist said...
Great review. I'm sorry you are nearly hating the dress, it looks great! To what event did you wear it? (Just nosy)
3/27/13 3:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Butterick 4985

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Other Postcard

photo
by: Renren

Review
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now