SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

39 more reviews
Viewed 371 times 
Reviewed by:Jupiter, FL
photo

 
 
About Jupiter, FL
VA USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/13 1:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
novicesewist said...
Great review. I'm sorry you are nearly hating the dress, it looks great! To what event did you wear it? (Just nosy)
3/27/13 3:50 PM
Jupiter, FL said...
It was a ball for our horseback riding club. I reconciled with the dress and enjooyed wearing it -- it was dark-ish and I hope the puckers weren't that visible.
3/27/13 6:10 PM
Jrhee said...
It is a pretty dress in a pretty color!
3/28/13 0:01 AM
SusiM said...
it's lovely! I made this one for my slender daughter. it's hard not to get sucked into those very unrealistic illustrations on the pattern jacket. That's why the pattern reviews are so wonderful: we get to see the real finished product. And it is striking on you I think.
3/28/13 1:37 PM
TJSEWS said...
I am glad you ended up enjoying the dress...it does look beautiful on you and what a gorgeous color!
3/28/13 8:37 PM
rmusic1 said...
cut yourself some slack! sewing with synthetics is hard work, and slippery fabric (natural or otherwise) even more so. Consider it a compliment to your skills you overcame the obstacles, and I think you should be proud of the result!
3/28/13 9:14 PM
Jupiter, FL said...
Thank you, all -- you are very kind.
3/29/13 9:06 AM
Rosalaya said...
Hey don't beat yourself up, I think it looks great, and that by turning the neckline into a sweetheart, that you've reduced the visual bust size. Well done
4/5/13 11:27 PM
heemee said...
The dress looks great! I love the way it drapes. Thanks for the review. I bought this pattern and will be trying it out sometime soon.
4/10/13 11:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2758

photo
by: VirginiasD...

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Buy Now
Children's Corner 271: Lakelin

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review