SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

37 more reviews
Viewed 359 times 
Reviewed by:Jupiter, FL
photo

 
 
About Jupiter, FL
VA USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/13 1:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
novicesewist said...
Great review. I'm sorry you are nearly hating the dress, it looks great! To what event did you wear it? (Just nosy)
3/27/13 3:50 PM
Jupiter, FL said...
It was a ball for our horseback riding club. I reconciled with the dress and enjooyed wearing it -- it was dark-ish and I hope the puckers weren't that visible.
3/27/13 6:10 PM
Jrhee said...
It is a pretty dress in a pretty color!
3/28/13 0:01 AM
SusiM said...
it's lovely! I made this one for my slender daughter. it's hard not to get sucked into those very unrealistic illustrations on the pattern jacket. That's why the pattern reviews are so wonderful: we get to see the real finished product. And it is striking on you I think.
3/28/13 1:37 PM
TJSEWS said...
I am glad you ended up enjoying the dress...it does look beautiful on you and what a gorgeous color!
3/28/13 8:37 PM
rmusic1 said...
cut yourself some slack! sewing with synthetics is hard work, and slippery fabric (natural or otherwise) even more so. Consider it a compliment to your skills you overcame the obstacles, and I think you should be proud of the result!
3/28/13 9:14 PM
Jupiter, FL said...
Thank you, all -- you are very kind.
3/29/13 9:06 AM
Rosalaya said...
Hey don't beat yourself up, I think it looks great, and that by turning the neckline into a sweetheart, that you've reduced the visual bust size. Well done
4/5/13 11:27 PM
heemee said...
The dress looks great! I love the way it drapes. Thanks for the review. I bought this pattern and will be trying it out sometime soon.
4/10/13 11:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Butterick 3523 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8827

photo
by: stitchywit...

Review