SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4919 (Retro '52 Misses Dress)

40 more reviews
Viewed 384 times 
Reviewed by:Jupiter, FL
photo

 
 
About Jupiter, FL
VA USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/27/13 1:16 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
heemee said... (4/10/13 11:30 PM) Reply
The dress looks great! I love the way it drapes. Thanks for the review. I bought this pattern and will be trying it out sometime soon.
Rosalaya said... (4/5/13 11:27 PM) Reply
Hey don't beat yourself up, I think it looks great, and that by turning the neckline into a sweetheart, that you've reduced the visual bust size. Well done
Jupiter, FL said... (3/29/13 9:06 AM) Reply
Thank you, all -- you are very kind.
rmusic1 said... (3/28/13 9:14 PM) Reply
cut yourself some slack! sewing with synthetics is hard work, and slippery fabric (natural or otherwise) even more so. Consider it a compliment to your skills you overcame the obstacles, and I think you should be proud of the result!
TJSEWS said... (3/28/13 8:37 PM) Reply
I am glad you ended up enjoying the dress...it does look beautiful on you and what a gorgeous color!
SusiM said... (3/28/13 1:37 PM) Reply
it's lovely! I made this one for my slender daughter. it's hard not to get sucked into those very unrealistic illustrations on the pattern jacket. That's why the pattern reviews are so wonderful: we get to see the real finished product. And it is striking on you I think.
Jrhee said... (3/28/13 0:01 AM) Reply
It is a pretty dress in a pretty color!
Jupiter, FL said... (3/27/13 6:10 PM) Reply
It was a ball for our horseback riding club. I reconciled with the dress and enjooyed wearing it -- it was dark-ish and I hope the puckers weren't that visible.
novicesewist said... (3/27/13 3:50 PM) Reply
Great review. I'm sorry you are nearly hating the dress, it looks great! To what event did you wear it? (Just nosy)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Other LouLouJames

photo
by: Doris W. i...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 281988-1007

photo
by: SavageCoco

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Pattern Details
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Pattern Details