Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8679 (Misses' Jacket, Top, Dress, Skirt And Pants) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 462 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:MrsCharisma
photo
Friend of PR
About MrsCharismastarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 2/1/13
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 106
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/13 9:14 AM
Last Updated:11/4/13 9:39 AM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8679  by MrsCharisma

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8679
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:ITY Jersey  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Version 1 Front

Version 1 Back

Pattern Description:
(OOP) Close-fitting, pullover top B has front gathered into neck binding, stitched hemline and short sleeves.

Pattern Sizing:
14-20 - Cut slightly larger than a size 14 (just added a little extra during the cutting of the fabric)

This time, I decided to cut a 16 (I seem to be a bit fluffier than I was in March). I ended up taking the side seams back down to a 14. I figure it was probably the fabric choice last time that made it a little too close fitting.


Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Sure (due to the neck binding problem I didn't finish the sleeve/hem. I'm waiting to see if I can fix the neck first).

Yes! I understand neck bindings now so it was far less confusing than the first time around. I still need to work on gathering (especially on knits) and not stretching my collar while applying the binding.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

Didn't use them this time. But yes, they're easy to follow - HOWEVER - the instructions for the neck binding are sort of weird. This time, I just sewed the ends together, pressed in half and sewed to the neckline. Then I serged and top-stitched the serged edge in place.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

Simple, easy and straighforward.

Fabric Used:

Green t-shirt knit (?) from FM mystery bundle

print ITY knit from FM


Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

None

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes and yes.

Conclusion:

You have to love a quick and easy 1 yard top that also has sleeves. It is probably a 2 hour project - max - from the time you lay your fabric out. Once I get the courage(!) to apply bindings using the serger, this will go even faster!
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jupiter, FL said...
Very flattering color and cut!
3/28/13 9:28 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Nice fit and very pretty color!
3/28/13 12:20 PM
Clareew said...
I love it, it makes me feel all springlike.
3/29/13 1:07 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Thank you everyone!
4/6/13 8:38 AM
grays08 said...
So cute!
11/4/13 11:06 AM
beth5646 said...
You did a great job. Love it.
11/4/13 11:30 AM
canei said...
Nice....love the fabric!!!!
11/4/13 11:34 AM
marec said...
This is super cute on you (what isn't?) and I hope you make up a bunch of this top.
11/4/13 7:12 PM
threaddy said...
Looks great! I would never have known such a cute top is mixed in with this combo pattern. But it's oop...bah!
11/4/13 11:06 PM
Dellia45 said...
You have done an exceptional job.. I love it!!
11/5/13 7:11 AM
TJSEWS said...
Great top! Love the colors on the fabric too.
11/5/13 11:28 AM
TJSEWS said...
Great top! Love the colors on the fabric too.
11/5/13 11:28 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Awww, thanks everyone! I have been scouring wardrobe patterns lately looking for gems :)
11/15/13 2:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Coat
photo
Review by Lisa Laree on 1/28/05
Read Review

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (35-50)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5891 Misses Top
photo
Review by susandf on 9/9/13
Read Review

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Details
Price: $26.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Summer Tote
Summer Tote

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8791 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2824 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )
Simplicity 2824 Pattern( Size S-L-S-L )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us