SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> PMB3: (Faux Crossover Top)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1755 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 194
Favored by: 392 people
patterns reviewed: 181
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/05 3:20 AM
Last Updated:3/2/05 3:21 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lornakismet said...
I'm new so just now saw this review. I like the style on you and especially the color. These colors look good on you. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/4/06 9:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Really like both tops. Purple with double trim looks really good and rhinestones add some more pizazz. Like the green one also. Your PMB3 drawings are very helpful and I am going to attempt this for me also. Great review as always.
3/3/05 6:29 PM
sewsue said...
Another fun review, and thanks for the brilliant idea about using stickers to mark pattern notches etc.
3/3/05 2:55 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Debbie what a fab job lining up the horizontal bands, and aligning them in a flattering way. You look great in your signature colors!
3/3/05 9:16 AM
MaryBeth said...
Looks great Debbie! Please, please don't stop doing your wrap tops (playing devil's advocate here)...you could do lots of different neckline treatments (like a slight ruffle or a collar a la Belinda's instructions) and inspire us further!!! The heck with the kids :)
3/3/05 8:23 AM
Kathy Russell said...
Debbie, I always get so much from your reviews. Not only do you do an excellent job of sharing your tips and step by steps of your projects but you always make me smile. Is the wild ginger a hard program to learn. Is it meant for a more intermediate sewer or would an advanced beginner be able to use it? I loved every top you made and will miss the crossover phase you've gone thru but look forward to whats next.
3/3/05 0:38 AM
MsConnie said...
Love, love both your tops! I have the print fabric too - it's good to see how the placement falls with those hands! Thanks for all your details and showing us your pattern making process.
3/2/05 11:31 PM
lmg said...
All I can say is WOW! Great review, great fabric and great top. Thanks
3/2/05 9:47 PM
Peggy L said...
Debbie - great review, great tops & I am really impressed with all your pictures! I just got a camera and can't figure the dang thing out. First thing I did was leave it on and the batteries died - guess I need to read the instructions!
3/2/05 2:26 PM
MariaDenmark said...
Debbie - another great review! I love all the details on the purple top - I'm going to have to try some of that. Oh and colouring FOE - never thought you could do that!
3/2/05 1:41 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I woke up this morning dreaming of a great cross-over top to go with my new skirts (not yet reviewed). Thanks for the pattern drawings. They really help me a lot.
3/2/05 12:25 PM
SueV said...
great top! Great review!
3/2/05 10:57 AM
marya said...
Debbie, Thank you so much for sharing so many details, humor, and design process. So clear, Are you a teacher in your non-sewing life? I'm going to use those stickers to make markings for issy miyake twist top, and some sewing workshop patterns.
3/2/05 10:51 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Super fit, Debbie, and I love love love the print! Great call with the additional dark band on the bottom hem. Thanks for showing and describing all of the details. And a sarcasm dripping thanks for showing the narrow CS you did on the FOE. I cried last week when I discovered my CS is too wide to do that.
3/2/05 10:25 AM
keric said...
Debbie, love both tops! Love the review! I'm thinking I'll have to try a crossover top one of these days. I realllllyyyy love that purple jersey! Do you remember by any chance, where you got it?
3/2/05 10:23 AM
Jan B. said...
Great top, great review. Thank you for the reminder on marking notches with stickers. It slays me what good pictures you take of yourself.
3/2/05 10:15 AM
PVA said...
Oh wow, such a great review! First, congratulations on the 3rd star -- I am so pleased for you! I love both tops, & you really have perfected that pattern. I especially like the vented band on the final version -- that is a really great finish. I've tried to find some FOE but I swear, no one in So. Oregon has ever heard of such a thing. Your results are awsome & *MEGA* thanks for all the photos!
3/2/05 9:56 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a fantastic job. These two tops look wonderful. You do so much embellishing and it make everything look wonderful. Thanks again for all the pics and pieces of info to help the rest of us.
3/2/05 9:42 AM
Vivienne said...
Debbie, another perfect t-shirt! Congratulations on the pattern placement with this fabric. I would love to buy some but am too intimidated by where those hands might end up.
3/2/05 9:15 AM
Gigi Louis said...
A wonderful review, as usual! I love all your photos. You have achieved a wonderfully flattering fit with these tops.
3/2/05 8:23 AM
PegL said...
Nice top with lovely details! I like the purple one too. As always, a great review with lots of detail! I appreciate that!
3/2/05 7:16 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Whoa, Debbie, these tops are great! I *really* like the purple w/the 2 rows of trim and sparklies! You've done some great work here!
3/2/05 7:11 AM
Susan Dryer said...
You've achieved very flattering fit. Love your fabric choices. It seems to me one can never have " too" many flattering tops!
3/2/05 7:05 AM
jlg said...
Great top Debbie. I always like your photos of all the details. I want to try the FOE treatment.
3/2/05 5:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 100492-1034

photo
by: petro

Review
PerfectFuse Sheer White

PerfectFuse Sheer White

More Info
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-110

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review