Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2339 (Misses' & Miss Petite Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Fitted Blouse 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 819 times 30 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/13 3:08 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SJ Kurtz said...
I love how you matched the print across the front! That is just stellar work!
3/31/13 3:25 AM
velosewer said...
Wow. That's such a well made and nicely fitted blouse. It's gorgeous.
3/31/13 3:34 AM
Quickie said...
Nice blouse
3/31/13 3:51 AM
Sarah Liz said...
A very lovely shirt, and thanks for sharing the pivot and slide technique. Idon't think anyone will notice the pattern mismatch, it really isnot obvious in the photo. Lovely fit.
3/31/13 6:07 AM
PeppermintPam said...
You nailed the fit on this one, it looks great! A definite TNT pattern.
3/31/13 8:29 AM
BJ1400 said...
You did a great job. It fits you perfectly!
3/31/13 8:54 AM
Texahoma said...
The fit looks perfect in the photo, I really appreciate your tips, I will try them as I too have fitting issues across the shoulder blades. Beautiful fabric and finished shirt.
3/31/13 12:15 PM
persevering said...
Wow! I am so impressed by your success - your blouse looks fabulously well fitting - CONGRATULATIONS - and may I add - everything about your shirt compliments you!
3/31/13 1:46 PM
persevering said...
Wow! I am so impressed by your success - your blouse looks fabulously well fitting - CONGRATULATIONS - and may I add - everything about your shirt compliments you!
3/31/13 2:55 PM
Sharonspils said...
Amazing blouse perfect fit!
3/31/13 4:32 PM
Maree P said...
This is a great shirt. Lovely sewing.
3/31/13 8:09 PM
Silknmore said...
Incredible shirt - fit and matching the pattern in front.
4/1/13 10:23 AM
WhatSew said...
Great fitting shirt and thanks for the tips.
4/1/13 12:03 PM
thecuriouskiwi said...
Love your birdie fabric with this blouse, the colours give it an almost Japanese twist and it looks very well fitted, nice work xx
4/1/13 3:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive shirt!
4/2/13 0:10 AM
KathleenS said...
Thanks everyone!
4/2/13 7:11 AM
JanElise said...
Great review! Great application of pattern and fitting! It looks terrific on you!
4/4/13 7:47 AM
Baja Susana said...
Lovely blouse, it looks good on you. Thanks for the collar tutorial, I have bookmarked it. Your collar looks professionally made.
4/7/13 11:52 AM
meleliza said...
Nearly perfect match? I can't find anything imperfect about it! I think you've done a wonderful job with this and your review is really helpful. You've got my vote!
4/7/13 8:36 PM
Adventurer said...
I voted for this. It looks perfectly matched to me. I like that it has a sharp yet feminine quality. I agree with kaituikiwi that the blue color and birds have a Japanese look.
4/9/13 7:18 PM
trumbelina said...
THat is exactly the same back adjustment I always have to do. So does theSlapdashsewist aka "nice girl" on PR, and Afashionablestitch.com. Nice girl has some nice visuals on her blog of adjustments she's made.
4/11/13 6:24 PM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous shirt and a great fit; an impressive effort. Welcome to shirt-making. May you feel inspired to make many more. I think lawn is sturdier than voile, which is lighter and a less dense weave. Liberty's famous lawn is certainly not a voile. However, US sources seem to use "lawn" when referring to what I think of a voile.
4/14/13 0:22 AM
Danmar said...
Wow--thanks for the collar turning info!! Great review and really nice shirt.
7/6/13 6:57 PM
sewingcanary said...
Thanks for the great review and all the wonderful pix and tips! The gal at the fabric store said they’ve had great response to Simplicity’s Amazing Fit series. The clean shoulder and sleeve, not tight neck-band, plus the pre-made bust adjustment were the pattern’s selling features for me. I too, will put a placket on the sleeves. Thanks also for your pivot tip re adding back room. A tip about finding pattern repeats - drape the fabric on the back of a sofa or chair - somewhere that you’ll see it as you pass through the day and different lighting. You need to distance yourself and sometimes need to approach from a different angle. Let it hang for a day or two until you see not only the pattern, its repeat, but also make decisions as to where you want designs to sit over your bust and tummy area.
8/4/13 10:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 1170
photo
Review by SueV on 5/18/10
Read Review

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2009-102 Jacket/blouse
photo
Review by Jali on 11/3/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1702 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1702 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 9014 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 9014 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us