SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4659 (Misses' Tunics)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1595 times 
Reviewed by:sewkal
photo

 
 
About sewkalstar
Member since: 8/11/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/2/05 7:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ELizabeth_Atl said...
I made a similar tunic using a McCalls pattern and left out the interfacing all together it turned out great. THanks for the info.
7/27/07 4:52 PM
Sew*Confused*Jo said...
You did just what I want to do, but I wasn't sure how. Thank you!
3/14/06 4:08 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Mini, thanks for pointing out that I already have this pattern with the K. Ali pattern. I didn't even notice they were so similar.
3/5/05 10:37 PM
CatherineN said...
A very attractive tunic and especially wonderful for your first try at garment making. You are on your way to a great wardrobe.
3/4/05 1:53 AM
sewkal said...
Irene- OMG- my shoulders are uneven! I never noticed it before, I guess its time to stop with the heavy tote bags. Kathy, the fabric was already embroidered- I'm not that bold yet! Thanks for all of your sleeve encouragement- I guess practice make perfect.
3/3/05 4:14 PM
Mini said...
Congrats on your first set-in sleeve project. Yes, it does get easier! I have made Simplicity 4968, which is a plus-sized version of this top. It's easy to make, and very versatile. The facing on the outside is a good idea which I will have to try.
3/3/05 2:20 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Wonderful top. I want one.
3/3/05 11:02 AM
Jamil said...
Thank you for this review. I plan on making this shirt very soon myself so I'm glad to see that a beginner like myself came out with such excellent results, I can't wait to get started on mine.
3/3/05 10:33 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Bravo, Courtney! The contrast neck facing and sleeve hems look really great! And I promise, setting in sleeves *does* get easier.
3/3/05 9:21 AM
Irene Q said...
It looks wonderful - really nice job on the facings! And you finished it so quickly, too. You know, I think one of your shoulders may be lower than the other, which is why it hangs a little askew. Bet your RTW shirts do the same thing and you never noticed. :-)
3/3/05 8:29 AM
AnneM said...
Yes, Georgene is fabulous, isn't she? ! I like the top. I'll echo the statement that setting sleeves does get easier, as do most techniques. Congrats on your top.
3/3/05 7:25 AM
Cornelia said...
You inspire me. I've followed the discussion on the board and love the result. I have some Wedgwood blue eyelet embroidered gauze, and I know what it's going to be. You should be very proud of your top and yourself.
3/3/05 6:36 AM
jlg said...
Great job on your tunic. I like the contrast at the neck and sleeves.
3/3/05 5:02 AM
Kathy Russell said...
Your top came out very nice. and long tunic is supposed to be in now. Did your contrast fabric have the embroidery on it or did you add yourself. Your end result is very nice.
3/3/05 0:54 AM
Lori V said...
very cute top, the contrasting fabric is great.
3/2/05 11:16 PM
Georgene said...
Wow, your top looks great! I have to say, that crinkle gauze was not the easiest fabric for setting in your first sleeves. It looks good though, and I foresee a few of these in your future, now that you know how to do it.
3/2/05 8:33 PM
Hilary said...
Your top turned out great! I like the contrasting neck facing and sleevebands. And *yes*-setting in sleeves does get much easier w/practice. Someone probably already told you this, but another way to ease the pain is to sew with the sleeve cap on the bottom (directly on top of the feed dogs) and the armhole itself sandwiched between the foot and the sleeve cap. That way the feed dogs do a lot of the work of easing for you-much easier! Thanks for the review, and congratulations on completing a very nice top!
3/2/05 7:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Butterick 3787

photo
by: karen n

Review
McCall's 5529

photo
by: mhoutz

Review
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

More Info
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

More Info