Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1755 (Strasburg Heirloom Collection) - Type:Baby clothes    printable version
Viewed 1924 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/05 2:30 PM
Last Updated:3/4/05 9:22 AM


See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
I've seen this in the construction phase, and it was impressive then. I can't wait to see the finished product! -Ann
3/3/05 3:06 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, it sounds so incredible! A great review. I too, can't wait to see the pictures.
3/3/05 6:36 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Absolutely gorgeous, Phyllis. What a stellar start for your business!
3/4/05 9:26 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Phyllis, that is just beautiful!!! -Ann
3/4/05 10:22 AM
Georgene said...
That is soooo beautiful Phyllis. Lucky family to have this heirloom.
3/4/05 10:28 AM
Sew it seams said...
That is absolutely *gorgeous* Phyllis. Beautiful, beautiful work.
3/4/05 11:27 AM
Janie Viers said...
How much did you charge to make it? I am just wondering since I personally would have to charge about $ 150 to $200 just for labor!
3/4/05 1:25 PM
Eli said...
Wow... very beautiful... Hoe do you choose a good pleater machine, what are the criteria? Are there good brands, etc.?
3/4/05 2:22 PM
PhyllisC said...
Eli - the Tosca Company (www.pleater.com) sells most brands. All pleaters pretty much look and operate the same way. They come in 16 row and 24 row sizes. The rows are the horizontal threads than run through the fabric and set the pleats. Rows are 1/2 inch apart - 24 rows is about one foot. I have a Martha Pullen 24 row pleater and it's the only one I've ever used, so I can't say which brand is better than others. Learning to pleat the fabric correctly is harder than doing the actual smocking! The needles are not straight - they're S-curved and they wrap around the pleater bars.
3/4/05 2:54 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Absolutely breathtaking work.
3/8/05 4:26 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm sorry I didn't comment on this sooner. This is absolutely gorgeous. It is something that would cost an arm, a leg and a pint a blood anywhere else. What a beautiful job. You get my vote for this contest.
3/21/05 1:58 PM
calzone said...
I think this gown looks incredibly delicate and fine. I wish there was a very close-up photo of the smocking. I'd love to see it! My grandmother used to hand-smock our dresses growing up. I'm sorry to say I never appreciated the work that went into it.
4/1/05 12:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Self Drafted Pattern 9151-1013
photo
Review by Ody on 12/4/08
Read Review

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Blank Tank Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cutting Line Designs Fun with Fabrics
photo
Review by 2 Airedale... on 5/20/12
Read Review

Mini Miranda Bag
Mini Miranda Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4136 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 4136 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us