SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1755 (Strasburg Heirloom Collection)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1930 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 82 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/05 2:30 PM
Last Updated:3/4/05 9:22 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
calzone said...
I think this gown looks incredibly delicate and fine. I wish there was a very close-up photo of the smocking. I'd love to see it! My grandmother used to hand-smock our dresses growing up. I'm sorry to say I never appreciated the work that went into it.
4/1/05 12:02 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm sorry I didn't comment on this sooner. This is absolutely gorgeous. It is something that would cost an arm, a leg and a pint a blood anywhere else. What a beautiful job. You get my vote for this contest.
3/21/05 1:58 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Absolutely breathtaking work.
3/8/05 4:26 PM
PhyllisC said...
Eli - the Tosca Company (www.pleater.com) sells most brands. All pleaters pretty much look and operate the same way. They come in 16 row and 24 row sizes. The rows are the horizontal threads than run through the fabric and set the pleats. Rows are 1/2 inch apart - 24 rows is about one foot. I have a Martha Pullen 24 row pleater and it's the only one I've ever used, so I can't say which brand is better than others. Learning to pleat the fabric correctly is harder than doing the actual smocking! The needles are not straight - they're S-curved and they wrap around the pleater bars.
3/4/05 2:54 PM
Eli said...
Wow... very beautiful... Hoe do you choose a good pleater machine, what are the criteria? Are there good brands, etc.?
3/4/05 2:22 PM
Janie Viers said...
How much did you charge to make it? I am just wondering since I personally would have to charge about $ 150 to $200 just for labor!
3/4/05 1:25 PM
Sew it seams said...
That is absolutely *gorgeous* Phyllis. Beautiful, beautiful work.
3/4/05 11:27 AM
Georgene said...
That is soooo beautiful Phyllis. Lucky family to have this heirloom.
3/4/05 10:28 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Phyllis, that is just beautiful!!! -Ann
3/4/05 10:22 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Absolutely gorgeous, Phyllis. What a stellar start for your business!
3/4/05 9:26 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, it sounds so incredible! A great review. I too, can't wait to see the pictures.
3/3/05 6:36 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I've seen this in the construction phase, and it was impressive then. I can't wait to see the finished product! -Ann
3/3/05 3:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now