SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1755 (Strasburg Heirloom Collection)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1926 times 
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo

 
 
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/05 2:30 PM
Last Updated:3/4/05 9:22 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
I've seen this in the construction phase, and it was impressive then. I can't wait to see the finished product! -Ann
3/3/05 3:06 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, it sounds so incredible! A great review. I too, can't wait to see the pictures.
3/3/05 6:36 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Absolutely gorgeous, Phyllis. What a stellar start for your business!
3/4/05 9:26 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Phyllis, that is just beautiful!!! -Ann
3/4/05 10:22 AM
Georgene said...
That is soooo beautiful Phyllis. Lucky family to have this heirloom.
3/4/05 10:28 AM
Sew it seams said...
That is absolutely *gorgeous* Phyllis. Beautiful, beautiful work.
3/4/05 11:27 AM
Janie Viers said...
How much did you charge to make it? I am just wondering since I personally would have to charge about $ 150 to $200 just for labor!
3/4/05 1:25 PM
Eli said...
Wow... very beautiful... Hoe do you choose a good pleater machine, what are the criteria? Are there good brands, etc.?
3/4/05 2:22 PM
PhyllisC said...
Eli - the Tosca Company (www.pleater.com) sells most brands. All pleaters pretty much look and operate the same way. They come in 16 row and 24 row sizes. The rows are the horizontal threads than run through the fabric and set the pleats. Rows are 1/2 inch apart - 24 rows is about one foot. I have a Martha Pullen 24 row pleater and it's the only one I've ever used, so I can't say which brand is better than others. Learning to pleat the fabric correctly is harder than doing the actual smocking! The needles are not straight - they're S-curved and they wrap around the pleater bars.
3/4/05 2:54 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Absolutely breathtaking work.
3/8/05 4:26 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I'm sorry I didn't comment on this sooner. This is absolutely gorgeous. It is something that would cost an arm, a leg and a pint a blood anywhere else. What a beautiful job. You get my vote for this contest.
3/21/05 1:58 PM
calzone said...
I think this gown looks incredibly delicate and fine. I wish there was a very close-up photo of the smocking. I'd love to see it! My grandmother used to hand-smock our dresses growing up. I'm sorry to say I never appreciated the work that went into it.
4/1/05 12:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2603

photo
by: Josnazz

Review
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

You Sew Girl A-Line Skirt Pattern

Buy Now