Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cutting Line Designs: 22547 (Your Everyday Drifter) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2005 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Mini
photo
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/01 7:22 PM
Last Updated:6/11/02 12:19 PM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I am thinking of sewing this shirt in rather heavy material to copy a favorite denim coat/jacket of mine. The RTW jacket is also large rectangle and I would wear it all year except my 16 year old daughter refuses to be seen with me in it after January cos it has pine trees ambroidered on it. It would be strictly outerwear for spring/fall. Do you think it would work for that, Mini?
6/10/02 10:40 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, this pattern is designed for lightweight blouse fabrics, so I don't think it would be a good choice for denim. Also, this shirt is HUGE. I would look for a pattern that is similar in style to your jacket , has similar finished length and width measurements, and is designed for heavy fabrics. There are lots of patterns out that that would better than this one and are less expensive too. (This one cost nearly $20 for pattern and mailing.) Best of all would be to make a copy of your jacket directly. If it is made from rectangles, it would be easy to measure the different pieces, add seam allowances and stich it up. This would probably be faster than hunting for a pattern.
6/10/02 3:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, Mini. I took a class a couple of years ago on how to make a pattern from RTW. Wish I could remember more. Its the collar I'm worried about, but I just love my jacket so when I have the time I'll do that.
6/10/02 10:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, I wouldn't make a very loose-fitting jacket from a heavy fabric. It will stand away from the body and look huge. A good rule of thumb is to use stiffer fabrics for closer-to-the-body fit (like jeans), and use softer fabric for looser fitting garments, as they will drape. The stiffer stuff won't drape, and you just might look as though you're ready for a Girl Scout jamboree!
6/11/02 12:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Oversized... with very dropped shoulders ? we all wore styles like that in the eighties. Now that fashion is mostly fitted, I would not want to sew a garment that already looks dated (and wonder why the designer still offers it). Many thanks for your honest review, I don't think that pattern line is for me !
6/12/02 2:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Peggy--Thanks for pointing out the big/flowy v/s fitted/heavy concept. I can see how that concept is so correct, but not until you mentioned it. Yet another sewing land mine I have blithely skipped over thanks to my sewing sisters!
6/12/02 10:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I used this pattern last year to make a black silk blouse for my mother (Black silk. I must REALLY love her..). She had requested a Perfect Blouse, another one of Louise Cutting's patterns, but I used this one instead, and finished it at about a 28-29" length. Mom wanted it to wear with a particular pant/long jacket combination, and it worked very well for her. I believe I cut a size Small, even though Mom would fall in the Medium category. I bought the pattern after seeing Louise's version in a drapey, much-washed linen. Mom's shirt, made from some of Michael's drapey Donna Karan silk, worked very well. I think drapey and 1 size smaller might be the keys here.
6/13/02 0:58 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-112
photo
Review by sandramary on 9/5/09
Read Review

New Look 6223 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6223 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used crate cover crate cover
photo
Review by raymondmom on 2/15/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us