SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> 22547 (Your Everyday Drifter)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2006 times 
Reviewed by:Mini
photo

 
 
About Ministarstarstarstar
WI USA
Member since: 3/21/02
Reviews written: 115
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/4/01 7:22 PM
Last Updated:6/11/02 12:19 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
I am thinking of sewing this shirt in rather heavy material to copy a favorite denim coat/jacket of mine. The RTW jacket is also large rectangle and I would wear it all year except my 16 year old daughter refuses to be seen with me in it after January cos it has pine trees ambroidered on it. It would be strictly outerwear for spring/fall. Do you think it would work for that, Mini?
6/10/02 10:40 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, this pattern is designed for lightweight blouse fabrics, so I don't think it would be a good choice for denim. Also, this shirt is HUGE. I would look for a pattern that is similar in style to your jacket , has similar finished length and width measurements, and is designed for heavy fabrics. There are lots of patterns out that that would better than this one and are less expensive too. (This one cost nearly $20 for pattern and mailing.) Best of all would be to make a copy of your jacket directly. If it is made from rectangles, it would be easy to measure the different pieces, add seam allowances and stich it up. This would probably be faster than hunting for a pattern.
6/10/02 3:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, Mini. I took a class a couple of years ago on how to make a pattern from RTW. Wish I could remember more. Its the collar I'm worried about, but I just love my jacket so when I have the time I'll do that.
6/10/02 10:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Teri, I wouldn't make a very loose-fitting jacket from a heavy fabric. It will stand away from the body and look huge. A good rule of thumb is to use stiffer fabrics for closer-to-the-body fit (like jeans), and use softer fabric for looser fitting garments, as they will drape. The stiffer stuff won't drape, and you just might look as though you're ready for a Girl Scout jamboree!
6/11/02 12:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Oversized... with very dropped shoulders ? we all wore styles like that in the eighties. Now that fashion is mostly fitted, I would not want to sew a garment that already looks dated (and wonder why the designer still offers it). Many thanks for your honest review, I don't think that pattern line is for me !
6/12/02 2:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Peggy--Thanks for pointing out the big/flowy v/s fitted/heavy concept. I can see how that concept is so correct, but not until you mentioned it. Yet another sewing land mine I have blithely skipped over thanks to my sewing sisters!
6/12/02 10:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I used this pattern last year to make a black silk blouse for my mother (Black silk. I must REALLY love her..). She had requested a Perfect Blouse, another one of Louise Cutting's patterns, but I used this one instead, and finished it at about a 28-29" length. Mom wanted it to wear with a particular pant/long jacket combination, and it worked very well for her. I believe I cut a size Small, even though Mom would fall in the Medium category. I bought the pattern after seeing Louise's version in a drapey, much-washed linen. Mom's shirt, made from some of Michael's drapey Donna Karan silk, worked very well. I think drapey and 1 size smaller might be the keys here.
6/13/02 0:58 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Colette Patterns Meringue

photo
by: kidmd

Review
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
Amy Butler AB021WT

photo
by: rutaliet

Review