Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: M6690 (Chirldren's Top and Dresses) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 193 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:dsharp
photo
Friend of PR
About dsharp
VA USA
Member since: 4/10/10
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/3/13 5:04 PM
Last Updated:2/20/14 9:41 AM
Project Photo:McCall's: M6690 by dsharp

Pattern Photo:

More Info provided by dsharp

Pattern Rating:Pattern OK, but did NOT work for Me
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Chiffon  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Pullover, partially lined tops and dresses have side panels, no side seams, front and back openings for side seams.

Pattern Sizing: 7-8

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? No. I found a video on line, maybe on McCall's website, that saved my sanity.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The pattern is rated "easy". I am an advanced seamstress and I equate "easy" with fast and simple. This pattern is neither. It was very confusing to me to follow the instructions. It recommends using sheer fabric, with adds another layer of complexity to the seams.

Fabric Used: Sheer polyester from G-Street in Virginia

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I made the dress View D. The lining stops at the top of the wide ruffle. That is too short for a sheer fabric. It is not long enough to cover the underwear. It was difficult to extend the lining because of how the lining is sewn to the top. I ended up just sewing a wide strip of lining to the top lining and not securing it to the top as the pattern instructed.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I would not sew it again. My granddaughter loves it, but it is so unusual that she would not like another one. I would only recommend it to someone that is advanced and has a lot of patience.

<

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
grays08 said...
I get an error when clicking on the picture, but it looks cute in the thumbnail. I have this one and was wondering how it sewed up. Thanks for your review and info on this.
4/5/13 9:08 AM
reannah said...
Ummmm, i was going to make this for a school project...should i?
2/18/14 11:53 PM
dsharp said...
reannah, my granddaughter loves the dress and it is really cute. I recommend it, but look at the video and read over the instructions before you start sewing.
2/20/14 9:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2006-37 Frilly Blouse
photo
Review by Lori V on 4/2/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Ella Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ella Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Apple-Picking Dress Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5804
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 8/4/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern
SewBaby Snap Happy Diaper Covers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6245 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6245 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us