SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3250 (Men Shirts)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1638 times 
Reviewed by:Hilary
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Hilarystar
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:20 AM
Last Updated:4/1/05 9:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Mens    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking shirt. I agree with topstitching also. I do that on quite a few shirts because I feel it gives it that finished look.
3/5/05 10:12 PM
Vivienne said...
Wow - your top stitching is perfect. Great job on these! How did you do the fake coverstitch?
3/5/05 11:55 PM
AnneM said...
Nice top. I have this pattern because it is like a top my DDad bought for my DH from Guetamala (sp). Perfect for summer in a breathable fabric.
3/6/05 8:32 AM
Mini said...
Good job! You are a super sister to make two of these for your brother. I have this too, and it is a really nice pattern for sports or ethnic fabrics. This pattern is a good find if you sew for for a big or tall guy, because it runs large. Of course, women could wear this too, and it might be a good subtitute for KS 3161 if you are sewing for a woman who needs a larger size.
3/6/05 9:38 AM
Hilary said...
Thanks for your nice comments! Vivienne, the fake cover stitch is a stitch which has two parallel straight stitches about 1/4" apart with a zigzag stitch from one straight stitch to the other in between-clear as mud? lol HTH! I used my edge stitching foot for the collar top stitching and I drew chaclk lines to follow on the other topstitching-that made it very easy and pretty accurate.
3/6/05 11:54 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Hilary, These look GREAT! I'm thinking my teenage sons would like these too -- in a 70's retro sort of way IYKWIM. Thanks for all of the extra close-up pic and detail info. Great review, and good luck with the contest. :) Don't forget to bring it back to the top when the voting starts.
3/6/05 5:52 PM
sosoatsewing said...
Great looking shirt! Great use of photos to show details. My son would like this pattern and since it has been notedthat it runs large (thanks Mini!) it may also work for DH who is hard to sew for since he "extra cuddly". Great job on the topstitching and thanks for sharing the fake "coverstitch". I have this stitch on my machine but have never used it. It will definitely be used now.
3/6/05 8:13 PM
Hilary said...
Y'all are so kind :o) Debbie, I thought about you and your 3 men, yes this would be perfect! I have 3 sons who are way too little now for this, but I already thought of trying to find a similar pattern in their size. And it is very similar to 3161. It runs much larger than the misses' version of course- the medium swallowed my upper self and was too tight for the generous hips I have :oP. That "coverstitch" is one of my favorites-glad you can use it!
3/7/05 8:29 AM
Celeste said...
I was thrilled to see this shirt as I keep up pretty well with Kwik Sew stuff and didn't know they had this pattern! I have an old old 1974-circa Simplicity pattern similar (with a larger disco style collar) that my husband used to love, and back in those days you only got one size with your pattern. I had bought one in medium and one in large (it was a rather puny sized large at that). He is alot larger than the pattern now though and I tried to enlarge it but not exactly pleased the way it turned out since I had to enalrge it so much and it was a tad bit out of proportion in some parts. AN IDEA for this shirt to give it a new slant: Use tropical prints, bright hawaiian type prints, also muted down rayon prints with palm frond type prints for dress--use these type prints with the collar and short sleeves, leave off the pocket. This type shirt will be a reall winner in the summer. I gotta get this!
3/7/05 9:27 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Hilary, nice linen shirt. Looks perfect for spring & summer. Good thing your DB likes the fab blue fleece too. Sounds like DH can forget about getting anything from the rest of that yardage!
4/1/05 11:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6513

photo
by: renelope

Review
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8835

photo
by: carrie1858...

Review