Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 1925 (Barbara's Trench) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 245 times 4 more reviews
Reviewed by:toomany
photo
About toomany
ON CANADA
Member since: 7/15/09
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/13 2:46 PM
Last Updated:2/26/14 0:53 AM
Project Photo:photo4

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Denim  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
double breasted, lined trench with welt pockets
Pattern Sizing:
38" bust to 54"
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes the instructions were very good as there are webcasts to go with it. The only thing I didn't understand was the back pleat. I did it but I am not 100% satisfied with it. I think pleats are supposed to be simple but for some reason I always have trouble with them.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love my fabrics. The weight of the coat feels great. I love the sleeve belts but I am not a fan of waist belts. I will probably wear the coat without the belt. I love all the design elements of this coat
Fabric Used:
denim for the coat, a poly/cotton blend for the lining because I fell in love with the stripes.
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did not alter the pattern. I did shorten the sleeves, omitted the hanger loop and the hook and eye at the collar.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Theoretically I would sew it again but not any time soon.
Conclusion:
I love this coat even though the pictures are not the most flattering. I will add a link to pictures after I start my blog.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Thanks for the review of this pattern. Your coat looks really nice, and I like the striped lining, too! I have several trench patterns, including this one, and can't decide which to make. Your review helps.
4/8/13 5:11 PM
2 Airedales n Me said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. I bought it a couple of years ago as it looked to be quite an "authentic" trench. It really does make up well.
4/9/13 0:35 AM
becca a said...
Gorgeous trench!
4/9/13 12:19 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8656
photo
Review by maedchen on 6/5/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1778 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1778 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-1
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 7/21/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us