Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2209 (Misses' Dresses ) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 237 times 52 more reviews
Reviewed by:Izybel18
photo
About Izybel18star
IN USA
Member since: 12/27/12
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/9/13 9:04 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jupiter, FL said...
Lovely spring dress! Looks very nice on you. Congratulations on the success with fixing the gaping neck! I understand zipper anxiety. I've never done a lapped zipper and I don't think I ever will - I always do invisible zippers, and I get good results with just my regular zipper foot. Enjoy wearing the dress!
4/9/13 9:19 AM
Bestyears said...
Dress looks so cute on you! The easiest method I know for lapped zippers is to do this: Baste the seam closed, just as if you were sewing the seam, but with a longer stitch because you will be removing these stitches. Finish raw edges, and press seam open. With wrong side of fabric up, place zipper right side down, centered on your sewn seam. The top raw edge of the zipper should be aligned with the top raw edge of the garment. Use crosswise bands of scotch tape to hold zipper in place, as many as you need to hold it securely. Place a crosswise pin on the rightside of the fabric just immediately below the metal stop at the bottom edge of zipper. Now flip fabric over to the right side. Place a piece of scotch tape vertically straight down the seam line, so that the seam line is centered under the tape. Using a zipper foot, stitch all the way down one side of the tape, across where your pin is at the bottom, and back up the other side. Remove the basting stitches holding the seam closed to expose the zipper. Voila! You're done!
4/9/13 10:29 AM
2takeKate said...
You are not alone! i have installed many zippers but ended up doing an invisible one this time - and it really slowed me down. Even then it wasn't exactly perfect. Reminds me to post my own review of my "wearable muslin" version since I also want to make it again. Yours looks really nice on you and your neck dart solution came out just fine!
4/9/13 3:55 PM
madbadger said...
My first zipper was also a disaster and dreaded them for a long time after, lol. Invisible zippers I think are the easiest, but I just did my first hand picked zipper and it was *hands down* the nicest one I've ever done. Good for you for sticking it out - I tend to get frustrated and just discard the entire project!
4/9/13 7:43 PM
Izybel18 said...
@Bestyears...thank you for explaining so well! I found a video online of what you describe and now it makes a lot more sense. I MIGHT have the courage to try again!
4/10/13 9:35 AM
bonnnie said...
Awesome green and white! A bold combo, and it rocks on you. 2209 is on my favorites list. But both times I've sewn this pattern, the back neck gaped like you describe in the blog. The first time, I, too, ended up sewing two darts through the finished fabric & facing. The second time I made the dress, I did the same, because I'd forgotten I'd needed to do it the first time. :) The third time, I'm gonna sew darts in both the facing and the outer fabric first, then assemble the dress, since it's clear the need for darts wasn't just a quirk of my sloppy sewing or something, heh heh. Seems to be a common problem in this pattern, although we're all shaped differently so maybe the unaltered pattern is fine for others.
6/8/13 4:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-122
photo
Review by Andrea670 on 7/12/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-135 Moto jacket
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 10/10/13
Read Review

Simplicity 3936 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 3936 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us