SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2209 (Misses' Dresses )

55 more reviews
Viewed 248 times 
Reviewed by:Izybel18
photo

 
 
About Izybel18star
IN USA
Member since: 12/27/12
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/9/13 9:04 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bonnnie said...
Awesome green and white! A bold combo, and it rocks on you. 2209 is on my favorites list. But both times I've sewn this pattern, the back neck gaped like you describe in the blog. The first time, I, too, ended up sewing two darts through the finished fabric & facing. The second time I made the dress, I did the same, because I'd forgotten I'd needed to do it the first time. :) The third time, I'm gonna sew darts in both the facing and the outer fabric first, then assemble the dress, since it's clear the need for darts wasn't just a quirk of my sloppy sewing or something, heh heh. Seems to be a common problem in this pattern, although we're all shaped differently so maybe the unaltered pattern is fine for others.
6/8/13 4:35 PM
Izybel18 said...
@Bestyears...thank you for explaining so well! I found a video online of what you describe and now it makes a lot more sense. I MIGHT have the courage to try again!
4/10/13 9:35 AM
madbadger said...
My first zipper was also a disaster and dreaded them for a long time after, lol. Invisible zippers I think are the easiest, but I just did my first hand picked zipper and it was *hands down* the nicest one I've ever done. Good for you for sticking it out - I tend to get frustrated and just discard the entire project!
4/9/13 7:43 PM
2takeKate said...
You are not alone! i have installed many zippers but ended up doing an invisible one this time - and it really slowed me down. Even then it wasn't exactly perfect. Reminds me to post my own review of my "wearable muslin" version since I also want to make it again. Yours looks really nice on you and your neck dart solution came out just fine!
4/9/13 3:55 PM
Bestyears said...
Dress looks so cute on you! The easiest method I know for lapped zippers is to do this: Baste the seam closed, just as if you were sewing the seam, but with a longer stitch because you will be removing these stitches. Finish raw edges, and press seam open. With wrong side of fabric up, place zipper right side down, centered on your sewn seam. The top raw edge of the zipper should be aligned with the top raw edge of the garment. Use crosswise bands of scotch tape to hold zipper in place, as many as you need to hold it securely. Place a crosswise pin on the rightside of the fabric just immediately below the metal stop at the bottom edge of zipper. Now flip fabric over to the right side. Place a piece of scotch tape vertically straight down the seam line, so that the seam line is centered under the tape. Using a zipper foot, stitch all the way down one side of the tape, across where your pin is at the bottom, and back up the other side. Remove the basting stitches holding the seam closed to expose the zipper. Voila! You're done!
4/9/13 10:29 AM
Jupiter, FL said...
Lovely spring dress! Looks very nice on you. Congratulations on the success with fixing the gaping neck! I understand zipper anxiety. I've never done a lapped zipper and I don't think I ever will - I always do invisible zippers, and I get good results with just my regular zipper foot. Enjoy wearing the dress!
4/9/13 9:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2952

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

More Info
J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

More Info
Burda 7447

photo
by: Fashionabl...

Review